Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentine's Day with a Message
Gilbert has a real dilemma. He's writing poems on his Valentine cards, for his classmates, but doesn't want to write something nice to Lewis and Margaret. Lewis tweaked his nose and made it red and Margaret said mean things about him in front of the class. So he decides to write each an unkind poem and instead of signing his own name, since he's afraid they'll be...
Published on January 30, 2001 by Roz Levine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not what I was expecting
I bought this book for my grandson and thought we were going to have lots of hours of reading silly Valentine poems but it didn't read as easy as I had expected. I have already put it away until next year with the Valentine stuff and hope I will like it in a year!
Published 15 months ago by C. E. Incannella


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentine's Day with a Message, January 30, 2001
This review is from: Roses Are Pink, Your Feet Really Stink (Paperback)
Gilbert has a real dilemma. He's writing poems on his Valentine cards, for his classmates, but doesn't want to write something nice to Lewis and Margaret. Lewis tweaked his nose and made it red and Margaret said mean things about him in front of the class. So he decides to write each an unkind poem and instead of signing his own name, since he's afraid they'll be angry, he signs Lewis's name to Margaret's card and Margaret's name to Lewis's Valentine. It doesn't take long before Margaret and Lewis figure out who really gave them these mean cards and they, along with the rest of the class won't have anything to do with Gilbert. First he has to eat lunch all alone, no one will sit with him and at then at recess, no one will play with him. As soon as he gets back to class, Gilbert gets to work making new cards for Lewis and Margaret and apologizing for his unkindness. As the class party begins all is forgiven and Lewis, Margaret and Gilbert are friends again..... Diane De Groat has written a simple, charming story with a powerful message about the importance of second chances, that youngsters 4-8 will easily understand. Her gentle text and wonderful watercolor illustrations really capture the small hurts and slights kids experience and her positive, uplifting ending and sensible solution should open good discussions at home and at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentines are hearts...., February 2, 1998
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Make yours good from the start. Kids will love the funny (and sometimes not so nice) rhymes. The watercolors are charming and the message is good. Gilbert discovers that what appears to be meanness is often just a misunderstanding. He also learns that two wrongs don't make a right. The author conveys these "feel good" messages without being too heavy handed. This is a great book to read with your children before they embark on writing their own valentines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good story to teach about other's feelings, July 22, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Roses Are Pink, Your Feet Really Stink (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It shows how sometimes getting even may not be the best solution. Sometimes children don't realize how what they do can affect others. In this story, Gilbert learns this lesson the hard way. He sends two not-so-nice valentines to two of his classmates who had done something ugly to him. Instead of making him feel better, he ends up feeling awful. His classmates didn't want to be friends with someone who would say mean things about others. He swallows his pride and makes new valentines to apologize for the way he acted. This book is a good way to integrate character education in elementary school. It has a serious message but does not come across too strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Violets are blue i like this book and you should too!, March 16, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Roses Are Pink, Your Feet Really Stink (Paperback)
The moral of the story is really good because it teaches kids to always be nice to peole no matter what. Even if people are are mean to you it is important to always be nice and polite and this book does a great job of teaching that. It helps kids see what can happen when people dont treat other people like they would want to be treated.

The illustration in this book were very cute. They were very creative and they kept kids interested.

This really is a great book and kids would really like to listen to this story. They would enjoy the illustations and they would remember the characters long after reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So cute! Great lesson, February 22, 2008
By 
This review is from: Roses Are Pink, Your Feet Really Stink (Paperback)
I have bought many, many books for my girls (now aged 8 1/2 and 6) over the years. They both loooove this one and so do I. Adorable illustrations (and I'm a graphic designer who hires illustrators) and great story about a little boy that does something 'bad' but recovers well. Great lesson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roses Are Pink, Your Feet Really Stink, March 6, 2012
*reviewed by Sophie for Mundie Kids:

Oh, the pain of writing out Valentine's Day cards. I just went through this with my youngest two kids. This story illustrates how tricky it can be to personalize the sentiment inside cards. Should you be mean to those who were not nice to you? Should you sign someone else's name to them? Well, Gilbert does both and the pain of watching your classmates get mad at each other wears on him. Also, the fact that people eventually figure out who wrote the "bad" cards is a valuable lesson.

As I tell my children, lies have short legs. Gilbert discovers just this as the kids who were mean to him (and he wrote the bad poems to) are sorry and he realizes that treating people the way you want to be treated is the best way to keep peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter Loves this book, October 1, 2006
Our 4 yr old daughter loves this book. She has requested this book every night for the past two weeks. The illustrations keep her attention while the story teaches lessons at her level of understanding. We look forward to more books from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give this book a chance, March 2, 2008
I know you want to protect your little one form hurtful sayings, but when they are ready to learn the lessons of respect and kindness; when they are learning about empathy, read them this book. Each of us can be callous at times, but we can turn it around and become a better person if we ask for forgiveness when we have been hurtful. Good conversation starter about bullying, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another favorite, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roses Are Pink, Your Feet Really Stink (Paperback)
granddaughter loved it!
so glad there are still authors writing books for children about life issues they can understand
love is grand at any age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Personal feelings, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Had a very nice approach on how to take into account other peoples feelings when your actions are directly responsible for their predicament.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Roses Are Pink, Your Feet Really Stink
Roses Are Pink, Your Feet Really Stink by Diane De Groat (Paperback - January 20, 1997)
$6.99 $6.03
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.