Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Rosetta Stone Homeschool Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set including Audio Companion
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 11, 2012
We purchased this for our five year old. He has been getting private Spanish tutoring since he was 2 and it was time for a more intense program. He was never made to speak with his tutors since they all spoke English. The Rosetta Stone program requires you to speak and actually pronounce the words correctly. He enjoys the program so far but his attention span for it is about 20-30 minutes. It is note super entertaining for someone his age but he is getting the material he needs. So far (disc 1)the program goes through grammar, pronunciation, vocabulary, and spelling. This program costs us much less than his three years of private lessons and it covers writing, speaking, and reading. I would recommend this program for other parents as a tool to use at home. The only issue we have had so far is that it was not compatible with all of the settings with our antivirus program. We had to make some adjustments and then it worked fine.
33 comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2015
I purchased this after reading MANY positive reviews. I am sure the program teaches conversational Spanish in a way that would be helpful if you were visiting a Spanish speaking country. However, it is not appropriate for a high school course. The worksheets in the Homeschool version do not work well with the program. They are frustrating and confusing. Many times we simply gave up and went to Google Translate! The support for the program is ridiculous. We purchased this in July and began using it in August. By October we were fighting it on our system. Several times it crashed and would not open. Usually we could get it to open after several reboots, but finally it stopped altogether. So, I called them. Guess what? It was November and I was over my "3 month telephone support" free subscription. So, I could pay for help or I could use the email support. Since I had already spent $300 on the program, I opted for the email support. So began the litany of emails. Every day I would get an email asking for my information. Everyday I would send back my information. By the end of the week, I had enough. I responded that they had my information and I needed a fix to my program. The next email informed me my case was closed. At this point I purchased a new computer and had to install Rosetta Stone on it. We began using the program again in January (however all my son's data had been deleted...so I have no records). In February it began crashing again! This time I had used up my "2 computer installations" and couldn't reinstall to fix it. When I called support, I was given a case number (which turned out to be bogus) and told they would email me an upgrade (which they didn't). I called again and was told I was outside my "window for support". This time I lost my cool. So, the manager gave this poor guy permission to help me today. And guess how he fixed it? Yep, he deleted the data file AGAIN. So, now my son is without records, AGAIN! Do not subject yourself to this frustration!
33 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2013
HI

We recently bought two versions of Rosetta stone both on sale for a little under $300 for our daughters. For one, we got the regular version, the other version was the homeschool version. The regular version on sale is version 5, a much updated version with extra features and a WORKING mike. For the homeschool version they give you the outdated ancient version 3! I would not mind too much except the mike does not work with a Mac. OOPS! Get the real version!
11 comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2012
I saw all the commercials for Rosetta Stone on TV but I hesitated because I took four years of French in school and still couldn't converse with a Parisian. But I gave it a try and they are right - it is fun, easy and I can already speak and understand Spanish after the first level. Can't wait to finish the whole course.
22 comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2012
We are a homeschooling family. I really want my children to learn Spanish, so I ordered this. I am very happy with it. I took 4 years of high school and 1 year of college level Spanish but that was 25 years ago! So, I'm doing Rosetta Stone along with my boys as a review. The program goes at a nice pace. Sometimes the repetition can drive me nuts, but then I realize how quick my recall is with the vocabulary and how quickly my pronunciation is improving and I see the benefit of the circular review. My children are in elementary and middle school. They enjoy Spanish with Rosetta Stone. They work at their own pace but the more they do, the more they want to do. One of my children is on the autism spectrum and at first he was very frustrated when the computer wouldn't give him credit for his pronunciation, but now he realizes that he can learn the correct emphasis and pronunciation and is really flying along with it. He even wants me to order the German language program! One of my other sons has a fairly significant articulation issue and I was worried that he would not be able to utilize the speech recognition parts of the program. I was wrong. He works very hard to enunciate the words and is rewarded by high scores. Rosetta Stone won't be their last Spanish class, but it is a great beginning.
11 comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2012
I purchased this in hopes of using it to homeschool my children. I have had nothing but trouble with the installation process and can not seem to get anyone from Rosetta Stone either through e-mail or phone. The program was downloaded and working one night and just like that, that next day it would not load the application. For such an expensive product I am very frustrated and unhappy. I hope that others who are considering purchasing this product do not experience the same problems.
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
This product has hardly worked since we got. We have been in contact with Rosetta since the beginning with little to show for it. Finally they upgraded us to version 4 which is not available in a homeschool edition in hopes that will solve our problems.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
I purchased this in 2007 and have had to install it on multiple laptops since then. It has been a good product for teaching Spanish but you need to know: support is lacking. I have had technical problems with each re-install. You will spend hours on the phone or chat if you need tech support.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
Designed for the most novice beginner to build the most basic vocabulary. You spend your time matching pictures to sentences. Example: Which picture is a dog. Which picture is a white dog. Which picture is a running dog. Which picture is a sleeping dog. Which picture is a cat. Which picture is a cat and a dog. Which picture shows a cat chasing a dog. After spending a couple of hours like that, I skipped to the very last lesson on the hardest lesson. The teaching style did not change, they just added newer words and pictures.

They advertise that you get live online chats with native speakers? Two 30 minute group sessions a month. If you want more than that, they charge you $40 a half hour.

The voice recognition is terrible. When I tried to properly pronounce dog, I tried all of the following: perro, perraye, perruh, perreye, perree. The program accepted all of them as good.

So, I don't think matching pictures to sentences is really immersion, I think the voice recognition is terrible, and the online support is a sham. I finally settled on TellMeMore Spanish. It is everything that I thought RS was and more.
11 comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2015
DOES NOT WORK with new laptops that have Windows 10 on them. I spent HOURS with Rosetta Tech support only to find out this is an old version that they really do not even want to support anymore. We went through all the prescribed steps. Including restarting 3 times in a row like that was going to be some kind of magic.

I am tech savy, including doing our tech support and hardware upgrades. This version may work fine with older versions of Windows. However, if you are buying a new computer with Windows 10 as the first OS install avoid this version of Rosetta Stone.

Very disappointed and frustrated with the time suck it created.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.