Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Learning Experience
This product offers a comprehensive way to teach Spanish by using pictures to associate the spanish words and phrases. I like the teaching style, but I think it could be more intuitive and user friendly, especially for those who are less skilled on the computer and working with various software applications. It doesn't come with the headphones, and I couldn't find a way...
Published on May 15, 2012 by Kathryn L. Rihn

versus
115 of 123 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Software!
I had high hopes for this software; I really wanted to love it. However, it has been a technical nightmare from the start. The download is over 2GB, so even on my 40 Mbps high-speed connection it took 20 minutes to download. Not really a big deal, but then it took another hour to install and set up.

Once running, the microphone config utility did not work...
Published on January 2, 2012 by Margaret I. Eldridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

115 of 123 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Software!, January 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set [Download] (Software Download)
I had high hopes for this software; I really wanted to love it. However, it has been a technical nightmare from the start. The download is over 2GB, so even on my 40 Mbps high-speed connection it took 20 minutes to download. Not really a big deal, but then it took another hour to install and set up.

Once running, the microphone config utility did not work properly. At first, it didn't find any installed microphones, even though I have an internal mic and a good external snowball mic that both work fine with other programs like Camtasia and Captivate. After restarting several times, it finally found the mics, but then froze when trying to configure them with the software. Once I finally got RS to recognize both the mic and my voice, I tried to take a simple lesson where you repeat the numbers one through six in Spanish. However, the program would not recognize the way I was saying them. I've had 2 years of high school Spanish and one year of college Spanish, so I think I know how to pronounce "uno, dos, tres," and so on. I even adjusted the speech recognition setting to the most forgiving "easy" level, but it still didn't like my pronunciation. I finally got it to accept all numbers except for "seis" by putting on an exaggerated accent to mimic the male speaker, but by that time I was ready to throw a brick at the computer.

The program has an auto-advance feature, which is nice when it works, but I found when I reached the end of a unit it just sat there. I was not prompted to continue, nor was there a clear way to advance. So I ended up hitting the Home icon, which takes you out to the main menu where it then spends the next three minutes synchronizing your course progress (with what, I don't know). However, after it finished, I found it didn't give me check marks next to all the lessons I had completed. I thought maybe this was because I answered incorrectly or mispronounced something in a lesson, so I went back and tried to redo those lessons where I had a red X. However that didn't seem to fix the credit issue either. I am so frustrated with this. I don't want to have to continually repeat basic lessons because I mis-clicked one answer.

Also, I haven't even made it half-way through the first level yet, and it has frozen my computer three times. I couldn't even close out of the program or use CTRL+ALT+DEL to end it via Task Manager. I had to hold the power button down to force my computer to shut down. I have a newer HP laptop running Windows 7, so I doubt the freezing is the fault of my laptop. It never did that until I installed Rosetta Stone.

I really dislike this software and I am very unhappy that I paid so much for it. It wouldn't be a big deal if the software was $29.99 or even $99. But when you pay $400 for a program, you expect it to just work.

BTW, if I could get past the technical issues, I might like this okay. It does help you remember vocabulary through repetition, but the content hasn't been very practical yet. I doubt I will have much reason to say, "the women are swimming," or "six blue eggs" in Spanish any time soon. I'd rather know how to order and pay for a coffee before learning how to tell someone the boys are riding horses.

Do yourself a favor and either test-drive someone else's copy first, or buy it directly from Rosetta Stone so you are ensured the 6-month money-back guarantee if you dislike it. I didn't realize that buying it from Amazon negates this guarantee--I certainly wouldn't have risked buying it otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Product but Service is the WORST!, March 22, 2012
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set [Download] (Software Download)
Great product but their service and customer support is the worst of the worst! Only B of A is worst than this company.

We needed to re-install our software due to a PC crash and need assistance. We had the activation "ID" but did have our activation "code". After several calls... the conclusion was "sorry" so sad for you.

You would think there would be an internal system at Rosetta to help customers that needed help reinstalling there purchased software. ...NOPE! You are on your own and have NO support!

Buyer beware. Enjoy the program but don't event think it will be pleasant with "Support" issues thereafter.

Bad news!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!, April 21, 2013
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set [Download] (Software Download)
For what it's worth I used this program for 2-3 hours a day 5 days a week for about a month and this is what I think of it:

Fortunately I didn't buy this program, the school district I was at had it. At first it seems like a good program.
It's a good concept. Pictures + Audio + Speaking, should = great learning. However, the program offers no help if you're actually wanting to learn the language. I can now say "The boy is under the airplane" and "The woman is walking," and many similar type sentences. By the end of level 3 I hadn't learned a single useful thing. I checked out level 4 and 5 and it was more of the same. It exposes you to less than 100 new words throughout the whole program and none of them are particularly useful in everyday conversation. I've also used the French version and it is the same exact thing.

For the money you spend on this you would be much better off buying a combination of about 20 books/audio/other computer programs to help you out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOTE! This version requires C drive only install, July 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set [Download] (Software Download)
I purchased the "Download" version because I thought it was equivalent to the "CD" version but it is NOT. Software seemed to work fine after download & install but had one important issue. If you have > 5 GB of spare C drive space this may not be a problem for you, but if you do not or are not sure, please read on.

The "Download" version does NOT give you the option of installing it on a drive other than your C drive that the "CD" version supposedly does. If you, like me, have any issues with space on your C drive (I have a PC with a small solid state C drive for Windows only) you may run into deep problems in trying to install. The Amazon download install software went to my D drive fine but the Rosetta Stone install program gave no choice - it just installed to C. Could have crashed my PC due to lack of space.

Had to spend a ton of time w/ Rosetta Tech Support to finally be told there was no option with the "Download" version even though their own documentation does not say so. I was told it was not an issue with the "CD" version as you could direct the location. Had go back and beg Amazon for reorder to the CD version even though it was not Amazon's fault. They took pity on me and did so.

Rosetta support was OK but it took way too long for me to pry this out of them.

I like Rosetta language training. Have used it in the past with success so the lessons are not an issue. I recommend the package if you can live with the software limitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Learning Experience, May 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set [Download] (Software Download)
This product offers a comprehensive way to teach Spanish by using pictures to associate the spanish words and phrases. I like the teaching style, but I think it could be more intuitive and user friendly, especially for those who are less skilled on the computer and working with various software applications. It doesn't come with the headphones, and I couldn't find a way for it to recognize my answers without them. I ordered them separately, and then it worked like a charm. I would recommend this for someone who is serious about learning spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The program gets stuck A LOT!!!, February 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set [Download] (Software Download)
It gets stuck nearly everytime I use it. When it doesn't get stuck it doesn't remember where I was and makes me repeat lessons I have already complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Working well for me, but..., July 22, 2014
By 
H. J. Elston (Springfield, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set [Download] (Software Download)
While some folks have experienced problems with the Rosetta Stone download, I did not. I waited for an Amazon Lightning Sale which made the download much more attractive. Download was smooth and it worked right the first time I started it. I am able to easily use the online tool set ("Totale", I think they call it) without a problem using a Hughesnet satellite connection. Though there is noticeable latency in the connection, the latency does not seem to affect the ability to use the online system. Lessons are bite-sized and there is a lot of "circular review" in the program making it a good learning tool. It's completely immersive in the sense that it's picture-word/phrase association - no English. I have found that I'm using Google Translate on some lessons to check grammar, especially in plurals and pronouns.

EDIT 7-23-14: Well I "almost" had my first online "Studio" session with a coach today. I say almost because even after all the technical checks were passed the system failed. My side looked good, I could see my headset and microphone were working OK. Rosetta Stone Technical support was less than helpful. I did all the normal stuff, including system reboot and changing browsers/cleaning cookies, and still failed. By the time we thought we had it fixed, the Studio session expired and I was not able to sign up for a new one until the next day. Later, I went exploring around my account tab and found that it was permanently linked to the Rosetta Stone "Japan Store" and all prices were in Yen. Another chat with a CSR was singularly unhelpful and they even wanted to take over my computer to poke around to see if they could understand the problem. (I did not oblige). Rating down to 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not happy, August 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set [Download] (Software Download)
Not Compatable with windows 8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works Great, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set [Download] (Software Download)
This works great. And makes it easy to learn a new language I am happy with hope much this works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tool for new learners, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosetta Stone Spanish (Latin America) Level 1-5 Set [Download] (Software Download)
Great tool for new learners. Easy to follow without the reading of instructions. Just start and go. Vocabulary section seems a bit slow, but overall it is a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.