Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 30, 2010
The Stabat Mater is one of the most profound of all Catholic liturgical
compositions. One might at first be surprised that Rossini, one of the
greatest of all opera composers would address such a subject. But in my
opinion, his Stabat Mater far surpasses all others ever written. Up to
the time of Rossini, the most dramatic, and musically richest version
of the Stabat Mater was the remarkable composition by Pergolesi.

But Rossini goes far beyond tradition, and introduces his mastery of the
emotional possibilities of operatic singing. In this composition, the
point at which Mary sings her grief, standing at the foot of Christ's
crucifix, one hears REAL grief. I find it almost impossible to hear that
passage without coming to the verge (or sometimes beyond the verge) of
tears. This is NOT music for the casual listener, or the faint of heart;
it is overpowering, and leaves one transfixed. Had Rossini written no
other composition, this one alone would have made him immortal.

The orchestra, soloists, and chorus are utterly superb. I cannot help but
think that had Rossini heard this performance, he himself would have felt
overpowered. In short, this is Rossini at his deepest, and very best. In
every respect it is magnificent.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2008
This wonderfully moving account of Rossini's magnificent Stabat Mater features the lovely Katia Ricciarelli, Ruggero Raimondi, Delmacio Gonzalez with Carlo Giulini conducting. The cast is all that one could wish for and is nothing short of perfection. Everyone, including the chorus, sings with glowing conviction. Katia's voice sounds much more powerful here (due to close miking?) but is also sweet and gentle when called for. I simply cannot say enough about how happy I am that this has been re-issued once again. I had the original cd and have always enjoyed it. Rossini lovers, you are in for a real treat; don't miss this version. It is simply the best available. Brava Katia.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2011
I have previously heard two newer and probably even more stellar cast of this work's recordings - the Chung/Bartoli/Gimenez/Orgonosova, and the more recent Pappano/Netrebko/Didonato/Brownlee.
Giulini's is by far the deepest of the three in terms of spirituality. His tempi are the choicest among the three.
As for the singing, I greatly admire Orgonosava (for her range and purity of tone), and Gimenez (for his lyricism). But when I heard Giulini's, I could not but admit that Ricciarelli, even if she does not have all the high notes, sounds even more affecting and moving than Orgonosova in her middle range, and Valentini Terrani simply blew Cecilia Bartoli out with her full, round and spherical mezzo-soprano.
As for the tenor, Dalmacio Gonzalez is hardly a big name, but his voice has the right squillo for this work that even Gimenez lacks, even though he has slight problem with the slower Cuius Animam.
As for Pappano's version, I find that surprisingly, Netrebko lacks the range in the same sense as Ricciarelli, but she does not have Ricciarelli (nor Orgonosova)'s depth of emotions. Didonato is again no match for Valentini Terrani, alas. Brownlee is a good match for Gimenez's sweetness and lyricism, though, but he mainly excels in ensembles, alas.
So Giulini's Stabat Mater by Rossini is an old vintage, with a balanced group of soloists and his deeper spiritual interpretation.
It is a shame that for the tenor parts, he was not able to use Francisco Araiza, who really is peerless in this work's tenor numbers.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2011
After purchasing this CD and hearing it for the first time, I immediately enjoyed this work. I think Carlo Guilini does a top-rate job of interpreting Rossini's music, bringing its passion, seriousness, and depth to light. This piece does not stand above Mozart's Requiem, Verdi's Requiem, or Haydn's Creation, but it is beautiful nonetheless, and any classical music afficionado, with a bent for sacred church music or oratorios, should possess.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
I like Rossini's Stabat Mater, a great piece of music that portrays the suffering of Mary as she endured the experience watching Jesus' at the foot of the cross. The music also brings out the job and hope of Christian life at the same time. I like this edition over the one with Netrebko. It is different, less powerful but more thoughtful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2006
Rossini is famous as a composer of operas, but he was still in his 30s when he composed his last opera, William Tell. After his retirement as an opera composer Rossini's output of music slowed down considerably but, fortunately, it did not stop entirely. Most of Rossini's post-opera compositions, though often delightful, are light in nature. But Stabat Mater, probably his last major composition, is a masterpiece. This recording by Carlo Maria Giulini, one of the greatest conductors of the 20th century, is particularly outstanding. If you like the music of Rossini but are not familiar with his Stabat Mater please acquire this outstanding CD.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
Comparing this CD with Muti's Maggio Musicale Fiorentino rendition, I find the former less operatic and more choral. Guilini and his soloists take a more measured and reverent approach.Choir and orchestra are superbly integrated. My personal preference is for the voices of Malfitano and Baltsa (Muti recording). Also the Florentine venue had a better acoustic than this recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2011
Everything is perfect, except at the 02. Aria. Allegreeto maestoso, the tenor was not able to keep his pace and intensity, and even a little off from the rythem. Perhaps he is a little nervous at the begining? or still very young. Anyway, this would be the only hole I can find out.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
Disappointed - muddy sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2014
I loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.12

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.