Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mr. Rothko I knew, October 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko (DVD)
I was a student of Mark Rothko at Brooklyn College and it was "Mr. Rothko" who showed me the wonder of creating art.
To me he was kind, generous, and eager for students to understand his very abstract perceptions of painting. Few students did and he had to continuously overcome human hurdles in teaching and in the art world in general.

The film is very well done and I enjoyed seeing the many people speaking about Rothko the artist, parent, and the troubled man, but while it is excellent and I recommend it for all to see, it did not convey how his profound inner life had to reconcile with those around him, those who did not fully understand what he was trying to achieve. and what he must have suffered inwardly as a lone artistic pioneer. But that is the fate of creative souls. Only after his passing did people realize what a treasure they knew and could have appreciated more while he was alive.

To me Mr. Rothko was always fatherly. He listened to me and took an interest in my work, even though I was a naive girl from Brooklyn. He listened because I appreciated what he had to say. How many in the art world - gallery owners, and fellow painters -- were really interested then in his esoteric ideas of color, shape, and space and how these artistic elements convey the profound forces of nature in our physical world.

Thank you,
Roberta Carasso, Ph.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...from ArtsyFartsy News, June/July 2011, November 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko (DVD)
In the late 1940s, Mark Rothko explained, "The people who weep before my pictures are having the same religious experience as I had when I painted them."

Of course, he's well known for creating wall-scale abstract paintings that filled the viewer's field of vision and became a form of environment.

With penetrating interviews from his daughter Kate and his son Christopher, this documentary is the best and most clear explanation on the famous Seagram's murals, and his now dedicated room at London's Tate Modern.

Rothko was with the period of Abstract Expressionists who wanted to be unique. Existentialism was a popular influence on the painters' intellectual search.

Imagine sitting in the center of a private room at The Tate, literally surrounded by huge Rothkos and listening to Mozart's Don Giovanni or Brahm's 3rd Symphony. You'll see and hear it all on this well produced DVD.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing documentary on Rothko., March 31, 2009
This review is from: Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko (DVD)
When I finally had the opportunity to see this film on television. I was quite amazed by it. But saddened that it was only an hour long. The interviews are tremendous, as you get to see Kate Rothko sitting in front of a great dark painting of her Father's, as she speaks of him.

I really don't wanna say too much about it. I will let it speak for itself.

One thing I do wanna find out before purchasing this is, are there ANY extras to the DVD version of this. Or is it just a DVD version of what I saw on television?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rothko's Rooms full of great furniture of insight!, August 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko (DVD)
It indeed is a fine documentary tracing his steps from the early years into abstract expressionist. Interesting to note his personal view of both himself and how his art should be viewed.

The photography gives us some real eye-candy to enjoy for the hour as well as stimulating discussion from his daughter and others in the know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rothko's rooms, November 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko (DVD)
Interesting film, but there is not much there that's really new to those who are already familiar with that very impressive painter. Most of the comments are simply laudatory. It's worth seeing in any case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Rothko, June 10, 2014
By 
Denise Havlan (plainfield illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoy watching this film biography over and over. Until owning this dvd on Rothko I did not have a full appreciation of the masterful talent of Rothko.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko (DVD)
I am already a huge Rothko fan, but this sealed the deal. It was a great addition to my growing Arthaus collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generally Insightful, September 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko (DVD)
A well-done film...unfortunately, the information offered in this tale was greatly similar to that of Simon Shama's Power of Art and other written expositions of Rothko's work and life.
The hope, in reading the description, was for more on the museum's acquisition, inherent politics and inside information related to the Tate (again, the title implies the experience of curating and management will be expounded upon). Disappointing only in that no new Rothko info offered, and no inside museum info rendered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful look at a great American Artist., October 6, 2008
By 
Lesser Knowns (San Mateo, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko (DVD)
Length:: 1:25 Mins

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko
Rothko's Rooms / Mark Rothko by David Thompson (DVD - 2008)
$19.99 $12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.