Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One can learn a lot from these episodes, mainly about how most jobs are so difficult
Every episode starts out the same way. The CEO is going to spend time with the rank and file. This will help the CEO to manage the whole organization and will serve to extend the CEO's influence.

However, the CEO soon finds out that the rank and file work much harder than anticipated or believed. Also, they are comparatively guileless. Usually, there's one...
Published 21 months ago by Citizen John

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ENJOY But Amazon could have a better streaming.
I picked up an old season of Undercover Boss because I recently started working for one of the companies, and it is nice to see how things went and even a few familiar faces are still around. I enjoyed this series a lot a few years ago, but can I say that Amazon's streaming service needs a little work? Netflix is usually smooth for me, and this was choppy and I would have...
Published on November 19, 2012 by K. S. Walter


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One can learn a lot from these episodes, mainly about how most jobs are so difficult, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Every episode starts out the same way. The CEO is going to spend time with the rank and file. This will help the CEO to manage the whole organization and will serve to extend the CEO's influence.

However, the CEO soon finds out that the rank and file work much harder than anticipated or believed. Also, they are comparatively guileless. Usually, there's one worker that requires a reprimand while all the others are somewhere between lucky to have a job in this recession and flat out exploited.

What grabs me is how humble the workers are - in each episode.

The sad part for me is the ending in each episode. The CEO at the end announces what he's done and how he'll now focus on the right things, while the workers applaud. It's staged like Caesar returning to Rome after campaigns in Gaul. Only it seemed things would not get better because the macro trends are not within control of the CEO.

Warning: Sometimes the CEO going undercover isn't that plausible. For example, the White Castle CEO-owner going to work at a White Castle was not believable. He just didn't look at all like any of the employees at the store level and I doubt anybody there thought he was really interested in that sort of job. Actually, most of the time it wasn't plausible that the CEO of these companies would consider the jobs they "trained" for - and that's why the ruse of doing a documentary was doubly necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ENJOY But Amazon could have a better streaming., November 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I picked up an old season of Undercover Boss because I recently started working for one of the companies, and it is nice to see how things went and even a few familiar faces are still around. I enjoyed this series a lot a few years ago, but can I say that Amazon's streaming service needs a little work? Netflix is usually smooth for me, and this was choppy and I would have to get up every 10 minutes or so and refresh the webpage for it to continue loading...At least they kept some memory of where I was in video and didn't have to restart from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needful: Undercover Boss, June 22, 2014
A great Show, Whoever thought this one up is A Genius. Have really enjoyed the ones Iv'e seen. Enlightening & Helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth seeing, July 1, 2014
By 
Eldone Truex (Orlando, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Many CEO's are very compassionate and caring at heart. This should be a well publicized TV program that shops the positive side of capitalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, June 27, 2014
Love it! It always makese tear up when they find out that the boss was undercover. I like that most bosses are empathetic to their personal lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, June 21, 2014
This is just a great show. You really see what works and what doesn't in the businesses that are shown. Only question. How do you keep going and stay believable?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Educational Reality TV, June 5, 2014
This is a great way to learn the good and bad of being in executive management. I enjoy watching and learning from others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Undercover Boss is great!!, June 5, 2014
Love watching Undercover Boss--it is a real eye opener for the owners of big corporations. Can't wait to watch next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Do take the time to watch the pilot! And maybe one or two episodes after that..., June 1, 2014
Very heartwarming, but also repetitive. Good to see Presidents doing good and learning and finding what needs to be fixed. Very well edited and pleasant to watch. The pilot was totally worth the time. Then I watched the next two shows. While I enjoyed them, they were just like the pilot, so I stopped watching after that. Just as nice, but nothing new. I wanted to (but did not) just watch the opener and then the ending, to see what nice things the boss did for the good people - and how he corrected the one bad apple that was no doubt found. Good to see what companies they select, and probably good to watch the last 10 minutes of each episode, and also hooray for the concept. But no, I don't expect to watch any more episodes in their entirely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out of touch CEO's -Shock!, May 29, 2014
Entertaining, however it gets tiring to see a series of privileged Boardroom Dwellers find that regular people are having a tough time making it on minimum wage. I would love to see a Walmart or McD's executive see how much their callous auctions cost society as well as their workers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Roto-Rooter
Roto-Rooter by New Video Group
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.