Rotten Apples, The Smashing Pumpkins Greatest Hits

November 20, 2001 | Format: MP3

Song Title Artist
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: November 20, 2001
  • Release Date: November 20, 2001
  • Label: Virgin Records
  • Copyright: This Compilation (C) 2001 Virgin Records America, Inc.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:13:59
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B000TERBV8
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (291 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,121 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

A must buy for the Hardcore Pumpkins Fan or someone who just wants to get into the Pumpkins.
This greatest hits collection is what introduced me to the Smashing Pumpkins, which is now one of my favorite bands.
Ryan Mitchell
Very good compilation album!...the Judas o B-side set is very good good flow from track to track.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

76 of 83 people found the following review helpful By E. A Solinas HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on December 3, 2004
Format: Audio CD
The Smashing Pumpkins were one of the greatest bands of the 90s, a mixture of dreamy pop and stark grungey metal, set against Billy Corgan's poem-like songwriting. And "The Smashing Pumpkins - Greatest Hits" almost lives up to its name -- there are one or two songs that don't quite fit here, but most of them are indeed the "Greatest" that the band produced.

The songs are pretty much arranged in chronological order, starting off with the hard-rocker "Siva" and heading off into the mixture of hard rock/metal, and eerie dreampop, climaxing with the rich offerings from "Mellon Collie And the Infinite Sadness." With the songs of "Adore," there's an obvious shift in tone, becoming a bit more gothic and less rockish, only to swing back in the slow-burning songs from "Machina," their swan song.

There is also a bonus disc here: "Judas O," the follow-up to B-sides collection "Pisces Iscariot." Like its predecessor, "Judas O" is a collection so solid that it outshines many proper albums, containing B-sides to "Machina/The Machines of God," "Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness," and the rare "Machina II," as well as some truly outstanding new songs. They range from gentle acoustics to explosive guitars, and reaffirm that even the discards from the Pumpkins are of excellent quality.

Long after disbanding, the Smashing Pumpkins are still a towering presence in rock -- they debuted in the era of Nirvana, but with a very different kind of music. Their creative use of basic instruments and Billy Corgan's rich songwriting made them much more complex and deeper than almost all rock bands of the time. And "Greatest Hits" follows them through the band's entire lifetime -- from their surprisingly polished debut to the panoramic "Mellon Collie" to their gothic art-rock.
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful By "midnightdancer" on July 5, 2002
Format: Audio CD
I was more than happy when the Smashing Pumpkins came out with a greatest hits record. The CD "Rotten Apples" comes complete with all of the classic Pumpkins songs from over the years.
From their first CD "Gish", you have the songs Siva and Rhinoceros.
From "Siamese Dream", you've got Cherub Rock, Today, and Disarm.
From the disc of B-Sides, "Pisces Iscariot", there is the cover of the Fleetwood Mac song, Landslide.
From "Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness", there is Bullet with Butterfly Wings, Tonight Tonight, 1979, and Zero.
From "Adore", you have Ava Adore and Perfect.
From "Machina/The Machines of God", there is The Everlasting Gaze and Stand Inside your Love
And two songs not released on Pumpkins CD's in the past but put on other soundtrack albums are Drown and Eye.
Some other bright spots are the two previously unreleased tracks that close the album, Real Love and Untitled. Real Love sounds much like the version put on the Machina II album, and internet release that many fans never got to hear. Untitled is a very strong track and a good closing track that has the radio-friendly sound the band masters at.
If you were lucky to get the Bonus CD of rarities and b-sides also known as Judas-O with your Rotten Apples disc, you will most definately enjoy the over 15 previously unreleased songs, that is just as good as the greatest hits disc and is sure to be a hit itself.
The Smashing Pumpkins have come a long way since their first album, and you can listen to the growth and change in sound over the years throughout this disc. It is well worth the money and even if you're not a Pumpkins fan yet or are thinking of giving them a listen, go with this CD, it is sure to be a favorite in your collection for years to come.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful By Jason N. Mical on December 9, 2001
Format: Audio CD
When making a Smashing Pumpkins Greatest Hits collection, the question isn't what to include, it is what you are forced to leave off. The Pumpkins have one of the most diverse portfolios in the history of music, especially considering that the band was only around for about nine years. On one end, you have the grunge-and-punk influenced sounds of Gish, to the acid-rock of Siamese Dream and Mellon Collie, and the electronica of the Chamberlain-free Adore. Add to that several singles from movie soundtracks and the real gems in the Pumpkins' crown - their incredible b-sides - and compiling a Greatest Hits collection becomes a Herculean task.
Thankfully for die-hards and casual fans like, this collection manages to get it just about right. A two-disc set that's rumored to have a limited run, Greatest Hits features all the major singles on its first disc, Rotten Apples, and a healthy dose of b-sides and unreleased stuff on the second, Judas-O. The so-called "radio singles" make up most of Rotten Apples, and these are the songs that most people will instantly recognize - the songs that, rightly, made the Pumpkins famous. There aren't any major, glaring omissions here, although I can hear the fanboys from here yelling, "Why didn't they include x?"
Perhaps the fanboys should take note of the second disc, which collects some of the best b-sides stuff the Pumpkins put out. I've been telling people ever since I first heard the band right before Siamese Dream that the Pumpkins really are a b-side band; some of their very best stuff is also some of their hardest-to-locate stuff. I have my own complaints about omissions - as far as I'm concerned, the entire Zero single could have been included here - but, all in all, it's a satisfying helping.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category