Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the best guide to Germany, but ...
The sixth edition of the Rough Guide to Germany was hands-down the best English-language guide to the country available, but being published in 2004, it was quite out of date. So here comes the seventh edition. Actually, though Amazon says it's the seventh edition, the book itself indicates it's the first edition. What gives?

Turns out, this newest edition...
Published on July 26, 2009 by N. Zhu

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Index Poor
Detailed info on many cities, but exceptionally poor index. The index lists cities, however, if you want to look up a type of place you are out of luck. My wife is a botanist so Botanical Gardens, Parks, and Natural History Museums are on her list of places to visit. Unfortunately, these are not indexed, nor is any other point of interest. For trip planning, this...
Published on August 8, 2010 by CLW


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the best guide to Germany, but ..., July 26, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Germany (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
The sixth edition of the Rough Guide to Germany was hands-down the best English-language guide to the country available, but being published in 2004, it was quite out of date. So here comes the seventh edition. Actually, though Amazon says it's the seventh edition, the book itself indicates it's the first edition. What gives?

Turns out, this newest edition appears to be a complete rewrite of the RG to Germany, so much so that RG decided to "reset" the edition number. Frankly, the guide did NOT need a rewrite, just an update. The quality of the writing in the sixth edition was superb, far superior to its competitors. This newest edition is still the best of the bunch, but it disappoints in some ways.

The "Things Not to Miss" list is a clue. Of course, these "best of" lists are necessarily subjective, but it gives an indication of the writers' depth of knowledge and, well, their tastes. Top of the 2004 edition's list: Bamberg; top of the 2009 edition's list: Romantische Strasse towns. Now, nothing against Rothenburg ob der Tauber and similar towns on the Romantic Road, but they're incredibly touristy, especially during the daytime in the tourist peak season. Are they worth your time? Perhaps. But you didn't necessarily need a guidebook to highlight what was already one of Germany's best-known destinations. Bamberg, on the other hand, is a revelation. Perhaps Germany's most magnificent small city, it has extraordinary architecture (from almost every period, too), a perfect setting on hills and the Regnitz river, a rich history, great beer at an astounding number of local breweries (trust me, I know), all enlivened by a large student body. Maybe 1 or 2% of English-speaking tourists who go to Germany ever make it to Bamberg, all the more reason for highlighting it in a "Best of" list.

Perhaps I'm making too much of the "best of" list. But there's another "change" for the worse: the page count has shrunken from almost 1100 in the 2004 edition to under 900 in the 2009 edition. (The page size and font seem to be the same or similar.) Inevitably, cuts have been made. Though I didn't make detailed side-by-side comparisons, reviews on the Amazon UK site indicate that some of the smaller (but nevertheless very worthwhile) sights got cut out. That's too bad, as one of the best things about the 2004 edition was its inclusion of some places that the other guides did not have.

Most of this review has probably sounded quite negative, but perhaps that's a little unfair. This edition suffers only in comparison to its predecessor; it is still a better bet than its English-language competitors. I just wish Rough Guide had simply updated the sixth edition, rather than reinventing what was a very fine wheel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Index Poor, August 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Germany (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Detailed info on many cities, but exceptionally poor index. The index lists cities, however, if you want to look up a type of place you are out of luck. My wife is a botanist so Botanical Gardens, Parks, and Natural History Museums are on her list of places to visit. Unfortunately, these are not indexed, nor is any other point of interest. For trip planning, this makes the book very difficult to use. In the day of computer composition and automated indexing this is disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I used this a lot for off-the-beaten-path cities, September 18, 2011
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Germany (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I'll give you some examples of cities either ignored or barely mentioned in other guides that Rough Guide helped me in my planning. In the Bavaria Region everyone covers Munich and Wurzburg. But Landshut, Coburg, and sometimes Bamberg are barely mentioned. These are real gems. I liked the guide for restaurants, castles, palaces, and museums but did not use it for hotels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy Lonely Planet instead!, December 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Germany (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this because it was a more recent edition than Lonely Planet and then I remembered why I don't like Rough Guides. They just are not as well organized, have fewer hotel and hostel references as Lonely Planet. Depending on the country I would recommend either Lonely Planet or Rick Steves( I believe he only does Europe)- they are complete and excellent and point out places off the beaten path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good guide, July 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Germany (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
A very good travel guide, very accurate and reliable. I like it very much. Unfortunately, it is not translated in other languages as often as it should, so I've been compelled to buy it in English, because the most recent italian version was last updated in 2006! But even if my english is far from perfect, at least I can read it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not happy, January 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Germany (Rough Guide Travel Guides) (Paperback)
Book came with Wisconsin library stickers all over it, I hope it was bought from them legitimately. I don't think it was stolen, but they could have at-least taken the stickers off; I would assume that whatever makes the alarms go off when you try and steal one from the library has been taken out or disabled; I guess I'll figure out when I go through airport security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Rough Guide to Germany (Rough Guide Travel Guides)
The Rough Guide to Germany (Rough Guide Travel Guides) by James Stewart (Paperback - July 20, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.