Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highlands & Islands..., December 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Scottish Highlands & Islands (Rough Guide to the Scottish Highlands & the Islands) (Paperback)
Even by Scottish standards, the legendary Highlands are off the beaten path, requiring a little extra effort to reach, but rewarding the persistent traveler with magnificent natural scenery (weather permitting) and more than a few locations of historical interest. This 2011 edition is the latest version of the Rough Guide to the Scottish Highlands & Islands.

The Highlands and Islands are located north of Glasgow and Edinburgh, and west of Aberdeen, which with Inverness are the principal entry points into the region. It is a surprisingly large area with few major population centers and a thin transportation and hospitality infrastructure. The elbow room and the opportunity to wander are a magnet for many visitors, but planning ahead is recommended, especially to reach some of the remoter islands.

This guide is divided by geographic area: the southeast coast of Argyll, the Central Highlands including the Cairngorms, the Great Glen including Loch Ness, sparsely populated Northern Scotland, Skye, the Western Isles, Orkney, and the Shetlands. Each section discusses items of interest such as castles, lochs, mountain walking, whisky distilleries, museums, and highland games. The sections include maps and graphics of the few towns, along with information on how to get there and where to eat and to stay. This edition also includes lots of websites and a healthy if limited selection of color photographs. There are practical hints on when to go to avoid school holidays and to minimize the impact of the highly variable weather.

This reviewer's favorite area is the vast Cairngorms National Park, set in the rugged Grampian Mountains but easily explored by day trips from any of several pleasant small towns such as Braemar. Braemar, by the way, hosts the annual Highland Gathering, a celebrated highland games often attended by members of the British royal family from nearby Balmoral Castle.

With averagely good weather, the Scottish Highlands and Islands provide superb opportunities to explore, whether on foot or bike, or by automobile or train (or even ferry). The region and this guide are highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planning a trip, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Scottish Highlands & Islands (Rough Guide to the Scottish Highlands & the Islands) (Paperback)
I wanted specific information about some of the islands and this book has met my needs very well. It's laid out nicely and is easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gets better the more you use it, October 21, 2012
By 
LN (Long Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Scottish Highlands & Islands (Rough Guide to the Scottish Highlands & the Islands) (Paperback)
An extremely useful and easy to use guide. The more I used it, the more rewarding it was. Useful in trip planning, on the road and afterwards in many ways. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for an extended stay in the Highlands, June 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Scottish Highlands & Islands (Rough Guide to the Scottish Highlands & the Islands) (Paperback)
This book contained a wealth of information about the Highlands. I had only planned to be there for a week, but this book (along with actually being there in Scotland) made me want to stay there so much longer.

Highly recommended for an extended stay up in the Highlands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go-to guide for Scotland, July 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Scottish Highlands & Islands (Rough Guide to the Scottish Highlands & the Islands) (Paperback)
Great book. My brother and I used it as we traveled throughout western Scotland. It was invaluable for finding places to stay, dining and historic landmarks. Nice inserts explaining events in Scottish history. Like all good travel guides it came home water logged, dirty and read almost cover-to-cover. It never let us down and I'll carry it again when I go back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scottish travel planing, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Scottish Highlands & Islands (Rough Guide to the Scottish Highlands & the Islands) (Paperback)
I purchased this as a present for a friend who is going to Scotland. She seemed to like it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... unusual book and information about Scotland silly trivia and good information., September 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Rough Guide to Scottish Highlands & Islands (Rough Guide to the Scottish Highlands & the Islands) (Paperback)
Exactlty what I wanted an unusual book and information about Scotland silly trivia and good information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On our way to the Outer Hebrides, September 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved an earlier addition of this book so I decided to purchase the most current e-book addition to bring along on our trip this Fall. Everything is there it just takes a little getting used when searching for something in particular. I'm getting it though and I'm very happy to have only one physicalbook, my Kindle, to bring along on the trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Rough Guide to Scottish Highlands & Islands (Rough Guide to the Scottish Highlands & the Islands)
Used & New from: $2.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.