Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 23, 2002
I thought it would be helpful to let people know
what order to watch the series.
-----------------
"Roughnecks Starship Troopers Chronicles: The Pluto Campaign". Released: 03/13/01
First story arc, episodes 1~5.
-----------------
"Roughnecks Starship Troopers Chronicles: Hydora". Released: 02/15/02
Second story arc, episodes 6~10.
-----------------
"Roughnecks Starship Troopers Chronicles: Tophet". Released: 02/15/02
Third story arc, episodes 11~15.
-----------------
"Roughnecks Starship Troopers Chronicles: Tesca Nemerosa". Released: 09/18/01
Fourth story arc, episodes 16~20.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2002
The Roughnecks discover that there are more enemies than bugs in the universe. During their ongoing war against the Arachnids, the Roughnecks spearhead a mission on Tophet, a world populated by seven-foot tall, methane-breathing "Skinnies", a sophisticated alien race. Our heroes are welcomed at first only to discover that the Skinnies are allied with the bugs and laying a trap for SICON. What follows are battles on this firey, volcanic world against the bugs and their allies. In the course of their adventures, the squad must rescue Razak, their leader and Higgins from deep in enemy territory; break in a new squadmate, a huge heavily-armed robot; and escape from a Skinnie prison. Eventually the Roughnecks discover that the Skinnies are being controlled by tiny bugs attached to their necks and are unwitting pawns in the war.
This series of episodes continues to display the first-rate CG animation and story-telling that distinguish the series. These episodes were animated by two different companies (Foundation Imaging and Flat Earth) and while both do a fine job, there is a slight difference in visual style between the two houses that you can notice from episode to episode.
Once again the series adheres more closely to the Heinlein original than the movie giving us the Skinnies first as enemies of Earth and finally as allies; it was great to see Heinlein's creation brought vividly to life. As we learn in the Tesca campaign, one of these aliens will become a valued members of the squad.
Sony has once again stocked this DVD full of extras that you won't find on most other animation releases, including commentary by the episode directors, computer animators, filmographies, and concept art. This DVD is a must for any lover of science fiction or CG animation.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2002
This disc contains episodes 11 thru 15 of Roughnecks: Starship Troopers Chronicles (40 episodes altogether). We are introduced to a new alien species called the Skinnies (a concept taken directly from Heinlein's novel) and the very survival of the Roughnecks squad may hinge on whether the Skinnies prove to be friend or foe.
The CGI quality varies from episode to episode as there were two different animation studios involved in the production (Foundation Imaging and Flat Earth Productions). To understand how the two studios were able to collaborate and create one of the best CGI series of all time, this disc has an extensive Technical Commentary track which allows animators from both effects houses to weigh in. There is also a Filmmakers' Commentary to offer perspective from the Columbia/Tristar writers, directors, and the voice actor for my favorite character, T'Phai (voiced by Steve Staley).
So in case you hadn't noticed, I am extremely satisfied with this DVD. The "CHAS" episode (ep. 13 where a cybernetic robot is assigned to the Roughnecks squad) is also a fan favorite which is essential Roughnecks viewing. So what are you waiting for? Go buy this DVD!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
I didn't realize when I ordered the ROUGHNECKS DVDs that they are in animation format whereas the STARSHIP TROOPER DVDs are "live action" utilizing live actors. I gave the DVDs to my son who doesn't mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2014
I did not like this movie at all.... How do the bugs fly through space to get from one planet to another - they are not capable of building a space ship?. Also why would they be fighting me and visa versa when The Universe is so large
they can all own planets without fighting over them. The whole premise for this movie is a bunch of hooey....
Also the graphics are bad and the dialogue doesnt make any sense at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2002
The Tophet campaign takes the Roughnecks to an alien desert planet. There they encounter more bugs, a race nicknamed the Skinnies and we get more insight into the characters and their relationships.
Although the plot and characterization *could* always be deeper, compared to most tv and almost all animation on USA TV, the quality is extremely high.
The animation, while a little rough in places, really starts to explore and expand the CGI medium. Some of the shots in this set are absolutely stunning!
Rounding out the DVD are two sets of commentaries, one by the filmmakers and one by the technical people. Talk about replay value! I think this is outstanding and raises the bar for DVD production of an animated series.
I also like how the series is arranged in 5 part story arcs (and all 5 parts per disc). Makes it great to watch! Highly recommended! The only problem with this is that Sony is releasing this series, like they did the TV series, are being released out of order. :b
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2002
The second science fiction novel I ever read was "Starship Troopers". That was more than thirty long years ago and it still ranks in my personal Top Five. While neither the movie OR the CGI version of this book do justice to the original story, the CGI version on this series of DVD's does a better job than the movie. The image and sound quality of this DVD are excellent, delivering a viewing experience far better than the original broadcasts of these shows. The technical commentaries by the directors, writers and CGI artists provide insight into the tremendous effort it took to bring this show to the viewing public. The DVD versions put the shows in correct chronological order (unlike the original broadcast schedule) and bring needed coherence. If you're a fan of Roughnecks: The Starship Troopers Chronicles (or just appreciate great CGI) you'll love this DVD!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2002
WOW!
This is an excellent series of episodes! My favorite thus far!
Beware, the animation is not up to par with the other DVDs. Supposedly, these episodes were done early so there are artifacts like slow motion and, most noticably, strobing (which makes the movement of the characters stilted and unnatural). But such deficiencies are easy to look over since the stories and action sequences are so involving.
The Tophet campaign is a little different from the others in terms of action. Usually, all they do is shoot the bugs like there's no tomorrow (whether with guns or marauders or skimmers or airships). Tophet has them flipping, sliding, and wielding poles instead of guns. Much more melee combat in this one which is a good change of pace.
We are also introduced to the skinnies, who look great! They did an excellent job of character design.
But the best part of this campaign is CHAS. He is a cybernetic robot soldier in the likeness of HAL and Terminator (there's even a sequence of CHAS walking out of flames like the T-1000). CHAS really comes to life in his experiences with the Roughnecks. This episode packs the emotional impact of "The Iron Giant" and the charming humor of "T2" in about a quarter of the time. I wouldn't be surprised if this turns out to be the best episode of the whole series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 21, 2002
Columbia Tristar has released two more episodes of the fantastic CGI animated "Roughnecks: Starship Troopers" series. "THE TOPHET CAMPAIGN" and "THE HYDORA CAMPAIGN" continue the incredible extra galactic war in proper chronological order (unlike the original TV broadcasts). Robert Heinlein's visceral and highly ironic sci-fi action (and perhaps fascist satires) are truer to the source material than the theatrical version. The animation is incredible and consistent in tone. Great characters interact in wonderfully detailed landscapes and interior spaces. A richly nuanced color palate greatly enhances the feel of these neatly arched episodic set pieces. In "Tophet" the action takes place on a desert planet where the oddly humanoid "Skinnies" make them feel way too comfortable. But alas, the bug war is not over. "Hydora" is a water planet where the advance team hopes to locate and extinguish the bugs' home base. Here they encounter the terrifying Mother insect who controls the bug universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2002
I was awed by the original movie and became an instant fan. This movie is another great in the series. I am not a fanatic of Sci-fi movies but this is "Entertainment". I made popcorn from my popcorn machine (...) and sat down to a suprisingly very good movie. I was worried that with a smaller budget that they would not be able to make a movie worthy of having the "Starship Troopers" name to it. This movie is less on the action side then it is on the story development side, but it balances out in one fantastic flick. If you liked the original movie then you absolutely mustcheck out this DVD. Then sit back and eat your popcorn.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse