Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous!, May 16, 2001
This review is from: Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes (Hardcover)
Fabulous. This book reminds me of San Francisco. The colors in the art are breathtaking--this is a great book to introduce Asian culture, while also teaching shapes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for older kids too, February 3, 2003
This review is from: Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes (Hardcover)
This is *not* a toddler only shape book at all! I read this to a mixed age 6-9 year old class & they got alot out of it. It was for Autumn Moon Festival but you cd/ do it for any China intro. I also passed around things from the book: a Chinese teacup with no handle, an abacus, a chop, the chop ink's square box was 'the box my cats sleep in' although mine were plastic tiger, panther & lion! Even if you had nothing I don't think it wd/ be difficult to buy a few cheaply at your local Asian food store or borrow things from friends & parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, September 9, 2005
By 
sharon (SOUTHBURY, CT, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes (Hardcover)
My daughter is from China, so combining the Chinese cultural lessons with learning about shapes was "double the fun"! She loves the illustrations and the story and enjoys looking for more shapes in the pictures by herself. This has become one of her favorites, along w/all the other books that have been written and/or illustrated by Grace Lin. It's a fun teaching tool for learning about shapes... I was a little surprised, however, that they did circles, squares and rectangles, but no triangles... Overall though, it's a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet shape book, March 11, 2003
By 
Casey "Casey" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes (Hardcover)
this is a nice book just as a shape book but also for the chinese and american objects - nice combinations of pizza and dim sum in the square section. all kids will recognize shapes and be introduced to new objects. we're using it for a family literacy night highlighting diversity - it's short enough and interactive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Children find Round is a Mooncake so enjoyable!, August 25, 2005
This review is from: Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes (Hardcover)
A book both boys and girls will find enjoyable, as stated by parents I have surveyed. Round as a Mooncake presents shaped items children come across when living in or near an Asian community, or if they have Asian friends. This book does an excellent job introducing words and terms to children from a time-rich culture (i.e., mooncake, name chop, lucky money). The illustrations capture one's attention. The colors of the images presented are rich and vibrant. There are enough well known objects children recognize to be comfortable with if not familiar with some of the new terms (i.e., pizza, window, cell phones. The glossary is an added bonus, introducing resources for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appeals to more ages than the usual shapes books!, September 16, 2005
By 
3 of our children age between 2 and 7 loved this book! The colours and illustrations are great, the rhyming works well.The 2 year old loves the pictures, the 3 year old loves finding the shapes, and the unusual items named such as 'Chops, radish cakes, inking stones' which follow its Chinese theme are fascinating for our 7 year old, and we have had some great discussions. There is a childrens glossary at the back which explains the more unusual items, he loves this also. All the characters portrayed are Chinese.

Much better than the usual shapes finding books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures The Joy of Childhood, February 12, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes (Hardcover)
Round Is A Mooncake captures the joy of childhood. Roseanne Thong's delightful story combined with Grace Lin's bold and beautiful use of design make for a wonderful gift for young children. Lin expertly creates visual interset on every page and therefore, children will want to read this story again and again. Thong's glossary at the end of the story provides another great opportunity for discussion between parent and child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures and words, May 18, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes (Hardcover)
I have a 6 month old daughter and she loves this book! The colors are bright but not too busy and the words flow easily. I love the fact that the narrator is Chinese-American and is able to blend traditional Chinese culture with contemporary American culture. I can't wait until my daughter understands what it is saying and can begin to pick out shapes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, December 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes (Hardcover)
My granddaughter is one half Chinese and I was delighted to find a book to help her celebrate that side of her as well as teach her the early concepts of shape. The drawings are simple and colorful, and the examples are items that she will recognize from her daily life--rice bowls, mooncakes, Po-Po (maternal grandmother) and dim sum. The book would be a lovely addition to any home or school library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich Cultural Contents, October 27, 2009
This review is from: Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes (Hardcover)
Chinese people celebrate Mid-Autumn Festival in mid-August by getting together, eating mooncakes and creating poems to praise the full moon in old days. This book captures the essence of this tradition and will be a great companion for children to learn about Chinese culture while eating mooncakes. Through pleasantly-rhymed verses, the talented girl charms the readers with her many discoveries of hidden shapes in her Asian home and neighborhood. The book further engages young readers to make their own discoveries inside and outside the book. ROUND IS A MOONCAKE will capture your child's imaginations about shapes through a Chinese girl's eyes -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes
Round is a Mooncake: A Book of Shapes by Roseanne Thong (Hardcover - July 2000)
$16.99 $12.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.