Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure action
The last time I watched a WWE movie starring John Cena... let's just say, I love my action hot and heavy and ended up VERY satisfied, haha.

So it's absolutely NO surprise to me that 12 Rounds is a classic.

So many things to admire about a movie like this... of course you can't take the good without the bad. The first 15 minutes were some of the most...
Published on January 30, 2010 by B. E Jackson

versus
29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HAVEN'T WE BEEN HERE BEFORE?
If nothing else one has to give credit to the WWE for attempting to spread out further than the squared circle. While their attempt at a new football franchise failed, their diving into the world of film has done well for them. Some movies hit highs and some drop to lows but they're almost always entertaining. They also provide a jumping board for the careers of their...
Published on July 12, 2009 by Mark Turner


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars HAVEN'T WE BEEN HERE BEFORE?, July 12, 2009
This review is from: 12 Rounds (Extreme Cut) (DVD)
If nothing else one has to give credit to the WWE for attempting to spread out further than the squared circle. While their attempt at a new football franchise failed, their diving into the world of film has done well for them. Some movies hit highs and some drop to lows but they're almost always entertaining. They also provide a jumping board for the careers of their wrestlers. Such is the case with John Cena.

Cena has starred in one film already, the well received THE MARINE. An action film seemed a natural leap for him and he did a fine job handling acting and action chores both with ease. The next step was finding a follow up vehicle and that came about with the new release 12 ROUNDS.

Cena stars as New Orleans policeman Danny Fisher who winds up by circumstance in the middle of an FBI hunt to track down a terrorist named Miles Jackson (Aidan Gillen). A chase follows and after he stops the terrorist, Jackson tells his girlfriend to run before he takes the time to notice an oncoming truck in her path. Blaming Fisher for her death, he swears they'll meet again.

Fast forward one year later and Danny is now a detective. He heads to work only to get a phone call. It's Jackson and he informs Danny that he's taken Danny's girlfriend Molly (Ashley Scott) hostage. Just to let him know he's serious, Jackson blows up Danny and Molly's house while Danny watches. He then tells him they're going to play a game with the life of Molly hanging in the balance. All Danny has to do is win the majority of the 12 rounds Jackson has planned for him.

Danny contacts his partner on the force for assistance and then heads out to take on the first round. Each one sets him up for a life or death situation for either himself or some innocent person who finds themselves involved in helping him. While he rejoices at the wins, he begins to feel guilty over the losses as they involve the death or injury of someone else.

Along the way the FBI become involved since they've been watching all along. Of course Danny's not to keen to work with them since they failed to notify him earlier of the prison break involving Jackson. Unlikely allies begin to work together to try and take down this mad man while saving Molly at the same time.

Steve Harris stars as Special Agent George Aiken, the main agent in charge of catching Jackson from the start. His concerns focus more on the recapture than on saving Molly. Of course this results in head to head conflict with Danny and his goal of saving the woman he loves. Agent Aiken has a personal reason for wanting Jackson caught as well but eventually realizes he may have put his personal interests above the life of this woman.

The clock is ticking and with only so many hours allotted for Danny to complete all of his tasks, he struggles to find a way to beat Jackson at his own game. Beaten down, battered along the way, the final showdown approaches. Only then will we discover who wins and who loses the game of 12 rounds.

Cena does a fine job here with only one problem. He's never given much chance to act. Perhaps that's the intention, giving him just enough moments to convince people of his sincerity but for the most part just jumping, running and fighting to reach the films conclusion. Cena can do a decent job of acting but unless he's given the opportunity, his chances of a long term career in film dwindles.

While the film does offer the requisite amount of action with minimal amount of plot, the twists and turns Jackson puts Danny through are original for the most part. But as I was watching this film I kept thinking I'd seen it before. It was only after I was reminded by a friend that I put it all together and realized that Bruce Willis was pretty much put through the paces of games that kept him running in DIE HARD 3. While this film is not an exact copy, the overall feeling creeps in at times.

That being said, it remains a fine piece of entertainment. The production values are well done and all the money spent to make the picture shows on the screen. Rarely has New Orleans looked this good and with the bad press of Katrina, it's nice to see the locale used once again.

All in all you won't do wrong by renting this film to watch. And for Cena fans, you'll want to add it to your collection. But let's hope that he gets the chance to stretch himself a little further in his next film. Only then can he hope to achieve greater stardom rather than find himself in the straight to DVD category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure action, January 30, 2010
By 
The last time I watched a WWE movie starring John Cena... let's just say, I love my action hot and heavy and ended up VERY satisfied, haha.

So it's absolutely NO surprise to me that 12 Rounds is a classic.

So many things to admire about a movie like this... of course you can't take the good without the bad. The first 15 minutes were some of the most predictable and generic cheesiness I have ever seen in my life.

I was almost ready to turn the movie off after those horrible 15 minutes, but then... John Cena began the chase, and when the storyline finally kicked in, this movie completely blew me away.

Everything from car crashes to explosions to shootings... 12 Rounds does it all.

I can't imagine how difficult it was to film something like this. I can't imagine how much money it cost to waste all those vehicles! Actually the same thought comes to mind with ANY action movie. It must cost a fortune.

John Cena proves why he was chosen for this role- his acting skills are almost as good as his performance in the ring. He truly has a career as a movie star when his wrestling career is over.

The storyline is about John Cena's character accidentally killing a woman. To make a long story short, he goes to arrest a bad man, the wife/girlfriend of this man happens to be hit by a car right in front of them, so the guy takes it personally and, one year later when he mysteriously gets out of jail, he decides to take his revenge against Cena.

His revenge happens to be a carefully orchestrated and elaborate set of rounds that Cena MUST follow, or else his wife dies.

This movie is highly recommended for those who love movies such as Speed. GREAT edge of your seat action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deja Vu, but well done, August 21, 2009
By 
Pramod (Colombo, Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In his earlier movie, John Cena was The Marine, which was not very well received. In 12 Rounds, he stars as Detective Danny Fischer of New Orleans Police Department. This movie is definitely a step up from The Marine as Cena has developed his acting and action skills further. The story is interesting and the action sequences are spectacular but one gets the feeling of having seen it all somewhere before. The bus bomb sequence is ripped from Speed - the bus number here is 5050, in Speed it is 2525. The blowing up of Cena's partner is another scene that takes me back to Speed [Blu-ray]. The streetcar sequence is somewhat similar to the train sequence in Spider-Man 2, but the action is more `human' than superhuman, so to speak. Others remind me of the various Die Hard movies.
Nevertheless, the director and the writers deserve credit for integrating all these sequences into a seamless whole so that it does not feel contrived or even impossible (we know it is). Aiden Gillen is superb as the villain of the piece, terrorist Miles Jackson. For once, the hero in this movie does not try to do everything on his own - he reluctantly agrees to FBI cooperation.
It is also great to see New Orleans being used as a locale for an action film. We are quite used to seeing L.A., New York and Chicago as a backdrop for action movies, but this was a revelation. The city looks stunning on blu-ray and even the many night scenes are well done. The film makers have gone to great lengths to use authentic settings, though I do not know the extent to which they used FX and CGI. The ending of the film was never in doubt, but it was a fitting finale. I have not yet seen the alternative endings, though. One word about the Digital Copy - it suffers from too many artifacts in some fast moving scenes, but the overall presentation is good.
Cena's acting career is just starting to take off and this is a much better outing than The Marine. The future can only be brighter. This film can heartily be recommended for all action lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Movie, February 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 12 Rounds (Extreme Cut) (DVD)
Great Action movie. Especially for all the John Cena fans. I found that this movie is better than The Marine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow,what fun!, July 9, 2009
By 
Nicholas A. Ziinojr (ridge, new york United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12 Rounds (Extreme Cut) (DVD)
John Cena's follow-up to "The Marine" is another great action vehicle for him.This time,he's a New Orleans detective trying to rescue his kidnapped girlfriend from the clutches of a vengeful escaped convict out to avenge his lover's death,which happened when the detcetive arrested him a year earlier.The story may be nonsense,but thanks to writer Daniel Kunka and director Renny Harlin,it works.Kunka loads the script with sharp dialogue,solid charcaters,and humor,while Harlin keeps the whole thing moving at a fast pace and whips up a lot of suspense.They are well-backed by strong work from a top crew,and good performances from a great cast.
Ashley Scott is appealing as the girlfriend,while Aidan Quillen nearly steals the film as its bad guy.But this is John Cena's film all the way
He is simply terrific as the hero,exuding charisma and surprising acting talent.And the camera loves him.Hollywood at last has the new action star
it's been craving.Calling all men,action fans,and thriller lovers-sit back and enjoy!The Marine (WWE)The Marine (Unrated Edition)The Marine [Blu-ray]The Marine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply an awesome, exciting movie, August 10, 2009
By 
This review is from: 12 Rounds (Extreme Cut) (DVD)
John Cena is wonderful in this movie. I love action and horror movies and this is one that I strongly suggest watching. I first rented it and loved it so much that I had to buy it. I don't want to give anything away so please watch and enjoy this very action filled movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Galore, June 30, 2009
By 
S. Peek (Rocky Mountains, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 12 Rounds (Extreme Cut) (DVD)
This is an intense action flick from start to finish.

It features Detective Danny Fisher (John Cena) as a New Orleans cop. He is involved in an altercation with vicious arms dealer/killer Miles Jackson (Aidan Gillen). During the course of this, Fisher accidentally kills Jackson's girlfriend. Later on Jackson breaks out of prison and comes after his enemy.

He starts by blowing up Fisher's house and then kidnaps his girlfriend. He contacts the detective and initiates a game. Fisher must perform 12 tasks in order to save her life. They require both brains and brawn. Many are in the form of puzzles that Fisher must solve before performing them.

Much of the plot is beyond farfetched, but the action is great. This is not for viewers who are looking for a thinking person's film, but for anyone who wants lots of chases, violence, etc., this would be hard to top. It is lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a ride!, May 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was an exciting, gripping movie. The action and FX were gripping. Which, to me, is what it's all abount!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awesome Action Film!!!, March 31, 2009
This movie is filled to the brim with action, suspense, and violence! It's like they took Speed, Die Hard, Saw, 24, Max Payne, and mixed them all together to make this movie! Danny Fisher is thrust into a deadly game a year after he arrested an arms dealer named Miles Jackson. Miles kidnaps his girlfriend, and gives Danny 12 things to do. He must solve terrible puzzles, race against time, make sacrifices to save Molly. I love when he drove around in the fire truck, because my dad used to be a Fireman, until he retired. Will Danny stop the bad guy, and save his girl? I highly recommend 12 ROUNDS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 Rounds, January 2, 2010
This review is from: 12 Rounds (Extreme Cut) (DVD)
When New Orleans Police Detective Danny Fisher stops a brilliant thief, Miles, from getting away with a multi-million-dollar heist, the thief's girlfriend is accidentally killed. After escaping from prison, the criminal mastermind enacts his revenge, taunting Danny with a series of near-impossible puzzles and tasks... 12 rounds... that Danny must somehow complete to save the life of his fiancee. The movie contains a great load of action. Cena is 12 Rounds of pure action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

12 Rounds (Extreme Cut)
12 Rounds (Extreme Cut) by Renny Harlin (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.