Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$49.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 26, 2012
Pros:
-Actual configuration examples and step-by-step setups
-extremely well-written and understandable
-Diagrams!
-Pictures!
-Doesn't feel like a rewording of the Mikrotik online manual

Cons:
-Didn't quite go into the detail I wanted about a certain topic, but that's just me.
-Wish certain things were more fine-grained with examples of WHY we are to do it this way

Get this first!
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
Stephen has taken a much different approach than another US Author Dennis.
I think both books compliment each other very well - however this book has very clearly defined examples that most anyone can use to learn the basics of the RouterOS system.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
This book is really helps to understand basics of RouterOS. So, it's good for beginners, but there aren't a lot of details. For example, if you want to know how to configure basic routing, nat, firewall and basic OSPF-routing, you will like this book. But, if you want to understand how do packets come through the kernel and what is architecture of this OS - this book is not for you.
If you didn't work with RouterOS before - this book is the easiest way to understand basics and some features of RouterOS.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
If you want to know what's going on in your internet pipe, this book with the Mikrotik router is fabulous. A newbie can acually get started with a Mikrotik following the examples. The Mikrotik router is probably the greatest troubling shooting device available with it's torch feature showing all the ip streams and bandwidth readings in real time. If you want to learn networking this is a great place to start.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2013
I purchased this book prior to doing my MTCNA. Great book, totally recommend it to anyone working with RouterOS. As with any material like this you'll be sure to learn something even if you're already familiar with it. It's an easy read and totally suited to beginners.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2015
For my first time working with Router OS this was indeed a great help. The only drawback is that Router OS is updated more often than the material covering it. That said this volume was more current that Others I looked at. The versatility of Router OS means more choices and they are explained clearly in this book. I am thinking of taking one of his classes after using this, there is so much to learn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
I'm just into RouterOS and would like to self peace it. This book give me a good start and i'm still reading it to get more familiar with RouterOS. For more advance configuration, Google & Wiki is still the answer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
It has a very different approach from the official manual. The examples are very well documented.
This was a great help for me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2015
A good place to begin with RouterOS. I like the examples. I was hoping to see a little more detail on some topics, but all in all was worth the time to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
I liked the not obvious tricks for DNS and port scanning attack defense. Good for the Admin that has one but stumbles through it occasionally.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse