Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Rowena and the Dark Lord (Land's End Book 2)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
37
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 4, 2013
Welcome to the world of witches, wizards, Vikings and Lords and one half-witch who falls head first, skirts flying, right into the middle of it. Readers of Rowena Through the Wall have been waiting with bated breath for the next book in the series. Now they can breathe once more because here it is. In the first book we met Veterinarian and college professor Rowena, who discovered a world beyond her classroom wall, a world set in medieval times where no other women exist.
Long ago the people of Land's End decided to get rid of the witch's among them, never underestimate the wrath of a witch burned. The last witch places a curse on the land so no female babies will be born in the next generation, thus ensuring the families would die out. Luck would have it Rowena's mother managed to escape through a portal to modern day America, where she married and gave birth to a girl. When two hunky Viking type men literally walk through the wall of Rowena's classroom, she is pulled into Land's End and has the ride of her life.

Obviously, a woman in Land's End is a rare find and all the powerful men are out to make her theirs, whether she is agreeable or not. Rowena gets herself into and out of a number of situations, finds her long lost Grandfather, falls in love and manages to bring her young student, Kendra, along for support. She and Kendra, along with Thane - a King in Land's End and Rowena's love, and Rowena's cousin, Richard, escape back through the portal to modern day America where we now find them.

Life is not going as well as hoped, Thane is upset with leaving his brother Rhys to fight a war. He doesn't like Rowena supporting him and needs a good fight. When a medieval festival comes to town, everyone thinks it will be a fun diversion. Think again, folks. After wandering into a fortuneteller's tent, Rowena sees none other than Gareth (her husband in Land's End) come toward her, he grabs her and once again she is through the wall. This time Rowena is determined to right the wrongs she committed in the past. She meets more relatives and even manages to accidently bring a Roman Legion into Land's End. Nothing is ever easy for Rowena, but rest assured, it's always entertaining.

Ms. Campbell brings us the second installment in the Land's End Series with her usual flair and humor. Rowena is still Rowena, prone to taking tumbles and tearing her clothes, but she handles everything thrown at her, giving us more than a few moments of hilarity. More characters are introduced, while I won't give away the secret, I will say never underestimate the powers of witches and wizards. We get to see much more of dark wizard Cedric in this story and learn that he is not what he seems. The rest of the characters from the previous book are here as well, even the one animal Rowena can't sweet talk - Damned Horse.

I liked the first book, I loved this one, it gave us a more in depth look into some of the other inhabitants of Land's End, answered some questions, and showed us a more mature Rowena who is learning how to use her magic and is becoming a stronger witch then she thought she could ever be. This book seemed a little less hectic than the previous, but that did not take away from the sheer fun of it. I ran the gambit of emotions, laughed out loud a lot and even shed a tear or two. Anyone who enjoys a rollicking good time with hunky men, testy animals, and one plucky woman will love this book, I did.

Member of the Paranormal Romance Guild Review Team
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
This is the next installment to the first book, Rowena Through The Wall. This book continues the great adventure of Rowena and her love affairs with all of her suitors. The excitement of her situations that she's trapped in and torn between lovers. Rowena try so hard to to save everyone, to make things right only resulting further compilations.
Ms. Melodie Campbell brought the characters alive through their own personality. This is one of the reason that I couldn't put the book down until I have to find out what happens next! If you read the first book, this second book will not disappoint your craving to have more of Rowena and her adventures. Warning: There is a twist to the story that is completely unexpected. I will not spoil the fun read your going to enjoy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2013
Rowena and the Dark Lord (Land's End - book #2)

Rowena is back and up to her usual tricks and then some. But she waits until chapter 3 to destroy her gown. With Rowena, you need a seamstress on staff. She's forever destroying her clothing. Rowena was raised in Arizona. She has the ability to communicate with animals, which explains why she became a veterinary professor.

In book 1, "Through the Wall", Rowena travels to a parallel universe which is earth in medieval times and where magic exists. There, Land's End, she learns she has family. Her mother had lived in Land's End until circumstances persuaded her to leave. Land's End was cursed and the women were murdered. Rowena learns about this in book 1. It's not hard to understand how popular Rowena becomes when there are no other women to speak of.

In book 2, "Rowena and the Dark Lord", Rowena is unexpectedly yanked back into Land's End. She learns more about magic with an interesting learning experience when things don't quite go as planned. Apparently mispronouncing a word in a spell can lead to unexpected consequences. Rowena meets more of her family and makes new friends. Some of her new friends consist of a wolf pack. One wolf in particular becomes a steady companion. One, Val, is an interesting wizard with an talent for fashion. Val becomes her friend and tries to help her right wrongs.

If you enjoyed reading "Through the Wall", I'm sure that you'll love "Rowena and the Dark Lord." I did and I look forward to another in the series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
Melodie Campbell's "Rowena and the Dark Lord", the second book in the Land's End series, is an entertaining follow-up to the book that introduced us to Rowena Revel, "Rowena Through the Wall."

The book begins where the last book left off, with Rowena and her former student, now sidekick Kendra back in the "real" world, each with their chosen man from the magical, medieval world of Land's End. The men are having a hard time adjusting to life in 21st century Arizona, so Rowena and Kendra take them to a renaissance faire, where all hell breaks loose.

Rowena finds herself back in Land's End, where she's desired by a dark sorcerer and not one but two Viking warlords. She also meets a long-lost relative; the only wizard left in Land's End; and Damned Horse, the only animal she's ever encountered (remember, Rowena's a veternarian, and has a special gift with animals) who doesn't like her.

AS the story moves along, Rowena begins to take control of her own destiny, and starts to use the magical powers she inherited from her mother - with chaotic results.

As in the first book, there's plenty of action, both on the field of battle and in the bedroom. There's also plenty of humor, and some great new characters that we're sure to see again, as there's another book in this series on the way.

Like the first book, "Rowena and the Dark Lord" is very well written, and again it's narrated in Rowena's voice (with one short and fun interlude from Kendra's perspective). All in all, I highly recommend it, and I'm looking forward to the promised book #3 in the series, "Rowena and the Viking Warlord".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
This review will be for ASIN: B00CIZZS70

Disclaimer: I was gifted this Kindle book for an honest review by the author. Thank you!!

I love the Rowena books! This is the second one. The first was Rowena Through the Wall. And the magic is that the wall at the back of the classroom that Rowena teaches in, leads to another land far less advanced in culture than 2013 Arizona. It is a land where magic can still be used. And women are nonexistent due to a curse. So when Rowena appears the men fall over themselves to own her.

But this review is for book two. Rowena is now pregnant with one of the men's baby. She is able to use magic in this faraway land but finds she must visit Arizona once in a while. Due to things that happened in the previous book, Rowena is blessed and cursed to have even more modern people involved in this wall travel. Whew!

I love how Melodie Campbell is able to make both worlds seem very real. I love the characters and animals that are part of Rowena's life on either side of the wall. And the plot is spot on. So exciting!

Book two doesn't leave you with a cliffhanger, but there is a chapter for book three at the end of book two. Darn! Now I can't wait to read that one! Great job, Ms. Campbell!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
I LOVED the first book...this fell a little short. Rowena was not as entertaining the second go round. Her indecision got bothersome...but WOW, Campbell really packed some creative twists and turns in the story line! I will continue to read the series and look forward to the 3rd book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2013
So enthralled with Melodie Campbell's first book, Rowena Through the Wall, I immediately picked up this next book in her Land's End series. Just as laugh-out-loud funny, fast-paced, and page turning as her first book, Rowena and the Dark Lord kept me up late and night and coming back for more. Such a unique story that involves magic, wizards, witches, and love. Rowena's relationships with all she comes into contact with make this a novel worth reading again and again.

I'm looking forward - EAGERLY - for the next book in her Land's End series. I said this in my review of her first book but it bears repeating: Melodie Campbell's books are priced far too low for the outstanding content received. What a deal with a squeal for readers!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
I am an avid reader(at least 3-4 hours a night), so I go thru lots of books. The thing is, I only get the free ones so for me to purchase this book you know it was fantastic. If you read the first book about Rowena you will love the second book.
Ms. Campbell can weave a story like no other. I know the first book had some reviews about how Rowena wasn't with just one man but come on, the book wouldn't have worked any other way. I guess Ms. Campbell must really listen to her readers cause this 2nd book doesn't have all the many lovers like before. I was suprised in this day and age so many people had a problem with it. I say to the author that this book was still great even though the love scenes weren't all there(but please put them back in the book 3)
99 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
Wow, send me back to the past. Hunky men at every turn and your the only fertile women in the realm. A girl could get use to that except, men are now dying to own you. How do you find your hearts desire while being pasted around to every lord and royal in the land.How many men can you marry and sleep with? Rowena may answer that questions as she works to keep herself and her student safe in this alternate world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2014
a different take on time travel, alternate realities, and love. Throw in a little magic, irresistible attraction, a great sense of humor and you have a wonderfully entertaining book. I am looking forward to reading the third book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.