Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Rubber Johnny
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 21, 2005
Originally conceived as a promo for Aphex Twin's DrukQs album almost 4 years ago, this piece by up and coming director Chris Cunningham has been a labor of love for him, and has been filmed and edited piece by piece when time permits to be fully unleashed on the public when ready. The story of course is about Johnny, a dangerous shapeshifting mutant kept in the cellar by his parents, where his mind alone keeps him and his dog entertained, along with the occasional ingestion of powdered cleaning products. The ingenuity with which Cunningham (who stars as Johnny by the way) uses nightvision to give this short film an unequalled creepiness is unsettling to say the least. All I can say is he is an acquired taste. Having been initially exposed to his visceral vision with 1997's 'Come to Daddy' video, I can say he is among my favorite directors working today, and I cannot wait for his eventual feature length film to hit theaters. It will be like a punch in the stomache to the public. Take heed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2005
Although it's a short (very short) film, it's probably the most innovative and engaging 6 minutes of film I've seen in a while. While most people will be turned off by the accompanying booklet, the film is uncomfortably irresistible. It's only downside is that it's too short.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2005
This is a pretty brilliant video, albeit terribly messed up. Conceptually it is rather dark as well as literally being dark (as it was all shot on a infra-red camera). If you like Chris Cunningham, you'll probably like this video, though it is one of his stranger ones.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2014
Rubber Johnny is a crazy short film. I loved the music and it's very trippy. Creepy and disturbing at times! Very well shot and edited too. Rubber Johnny reminds me of Big Brain from The Hills Have Eyes remake. Pretty sure they got the idea from Rubber Johnny, they look very similar. The art booklet that comes with it is pretty cool too. Worth it I'd say, but don't pay too much. No extras on the dvd, just the short film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
I bought this because I heard it was super creepy. Well it is! The first time I tried watching this was at night and I was alone. I wan't able to finish it. I eventually watched it through during the day. Still creepy as hell. I'd recommend this for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2005
I understand that this video cannot be up there in the pantheon of "genius creations of all time" for most people, simply because it isn't as accessible as some of Cunningham's other work.

Aside from this, it is just short of perfection. The visuals are completely well suited and perfectly matched to the music. If you aren't an Aphex fan, you will have a problem with this, because the imagery is inextricably linked to the music. Nevertheless, with this caveat, you cannot help but be mesmerized by the grotesqueries of the Johnny character, and of course the eerie likeness to John Merrick, evidenced by the oversized cranium.

I thought it was hilarious that the Italian printing company hired to make the sleeve for the DVD refused to finish the job because the workers on the printing floor didn't even want to look at the DVD artwork. If you think this is all a bit cheeky, you're right; pushing the envelope of culture by using uncomfortable images sounds like what an artist does. Or you can look at it as sensationalism- it's up to you. I choose the former, because Cunningham isn't afraid of being darkly humorous...even if it is a little sick.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
Then this is a must have. If you just want to watch the video, well, you can do that online for free. I didn't buy this for the DVD, I bought it to include it as part of my collection. It's weird, but if you are looking at this you probably already know that. Comes with a booklet built into the case. Would buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2005
A nightmarish trip. You will be dragged into watching this video till the end.

The intense visuals mirror the intensly frenetic pace of the music. In the end this experience will leave you quite exhausted and breathless.

This short film is definetly not for the faint of heart. If you have the constitution to take it I would highly recommend Rubber Johnny.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2005
i tend to be a fan of cunningham's work - however, this is just sub par. four years wait - and for what is essentially another aphex music video. it's not a short film at all - not even an experimental short film. it's a music video. be forewarned - the cover image isn't exactly representational of the footage either - which is for the most part, really uninteresting (lots of quick edits in time to aphex twin) with the exception of the absolute begining, and end (the bits in color). i suppose they couldn't package a single music video and sell it for 10 bucks - no, they have to call it a short film. i guess what's really upsetting, is that the intial start of the video sets you up to expect some kind of actual short film - and a really good one at that. i had heard people speaking of lynch's shorts - and that's really not even close to what follows. even at his most abstract, lynch never decends into what is more or less an excercise in editing to sound. and now i've heard that cunninham has ditched neuromancer? c'mon - he also gave up on a scanner darkly. four years for a little under 6 minutes of film. that's apprx 1.3 minutes of film a year. you want to see brilliance in under 60 seconds? watch lynch's short on the lumiere compilation - done in one shot. hoisted by yr own pitard, cunningham...!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2005
I blinked and it was over. No really, it barely lasts five minutes. It's a segue. It leads you on with its elaborate packaging (lots of pictures that make you question your choice to watch it while eating) and has a disturbing opening which leads you on to the fact that there might be a story here... nope. It's not worth the $10 I paid.

Those five minutes were good. Wait for it to show up on some sort of compilation- then buy it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.