Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rudiments of Music
This book will teach the practicing musician everything you they could possibly need to know about music theory and notation. As a beginner of music studies, I found it all a bit mind bending at first. My advice is to just hang in there and before you know it, the long words and scary looking notation sections will all make sense. I borrowed this book and am now trying...
Published on May 31, 2000 by maxilla

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Textbook of last resort
After teaching a course at the community college level using this book (which I inherited, on short notice), I can honestly say that there must be better options for learning music fundamentals. I am examining other textbooks for next year, and can guarantee that Ottman's will NOT be among them.
Ottman seperates elements that would be best be consolidated (i.e...
Published on December 2, 2002 by Heather KinKennon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rudiments of Music, May 31, 2000
By 
This review is from: Rudiments of Music (Paperback)
This book will teach the practicing musician everything you they could possibly need to know about music theory and notation. As a beginner of music studies, I found it all a bit mind bending at first. My advice is to just hang in there and before you know it, the long words and scary looking notation sections will all make sense. I borrowed this book and am now trying to find a copy to purchase (that doesn't cost over $100 aus) as I know I shall be using it as a reference tool for many years to come. For the serious musician, it's a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Textbook of last resort, December 2, 2002
By 
Heather KinKennon (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rudiments of Music (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
After teaching a course at the community college level using this book (which I inherited, on short notice), I can honestly say that there must be better options for learning music fundamentals. I am examining other textbooks for next year, and can guarantee that Ottman's will NOT be among them.
Ottman seperates elements that would be best be consolidated (i.e. rhythmic elements). While he suggests an organizational scheme to reorder the book and keep elements together, the way the text is written would obliterate any benefit from doing so. Ottman's writing style is dry, and tends to be overloaded with advanced detail that is best left to a 1st-semester theory class. At times, Ottman can also come across as condescending towards the reader, which irritated my students (and this instructor) greatly.
Ottman also makes the mistake of assuming that everyone who is learning music fundamentals is familiar with, or interested in, classical music. The musical examples included in the book tend to be as dry as his writing style. Some folk songs are simply labeled with the country of origin; without the lyrics, they are just boring. Many other textbooks successfully integrate examples from popular music with the classical examples; this book would benefit from such an integration.
Not all is lost, as Ottman does a decent job with the Appendix, which looks towards serious study of music theory. He also does well with repetition within exercises. The book also includes a detachable keyboard card, which visually links each key with its representation on the grand staff. But generally, these features alone do not merit a recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For my music class, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I learned a few things from this book, but it lacks content. Really weird organization of chapters. The words sound robotic and not interesting. Better books out there for learning music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great beginner book, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
University of North Texas is a great school and this is an easy book to learn and begin with. Its pretty direct and has a decent amount of info to keep you busy for awhile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rental GO!, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Saved money and rented a book that I didn't need to keep forever or wouldn't get my money back from when sold back.

Rental went good. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, September 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This copy of the book is missing a lot of pages. Whole chapters, even. Definitely rent a different copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Extremely helpful with multiple exercises
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, February 11, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great Condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars c, July 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
c
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good service, October 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book was here on time, actually maybe a day before they said it would be. Perfect condition, i see no flaws on or in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rudiments of Music (3rd Edition)
Rudiments of Music (3rd Edition) by Robert W. Ottman (Paperback - February 23, 1995)
Used & New from: $0.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.