Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touching Story
Rudi's Pond is a wonderful story about how a little girl deals with the illness and death of her friend. The illustrations are magnificent. This book is a wonderful tool for teachers who might have a terminally ill student or a sudden death in their classroom. It also will help to enlightened children on the mature subject of dying. I recommend this book for children...
Published on September 12, 2001 by slranson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad story
This book is about a girl who had a friend growing up. She knew he was sick but they just played calmly at home and outside. Then one day the kids dies so at school they decide to create a memorial for the child. It is sad because the characters are young in the story and as a reader you just feel bad for them. It's a sweet book about sadness and friendship.
Published 16 months ago by alyssa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touching Story, September 12, 2001
This review is from: Rudi's Pond (Hardcover)
Rudi's Pond is a wonderful story about how a little girl deals with the illness and death of her friend. The illustrations are magnificent. This book is a wonderful tool for teachers who might have a terminally ill student or a sudden death in their classroom. It also will help to enlightened children on the mature subject of dying. I recommend this book for children ages 5-8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Today at "Rudi's" pond, March 27, 2009
By 
This review is from: Rudi's Pond (Paperback)
Today, I had the honor of hearing the true story right by the site of where the pond used to be the little boy loved so much. After that a group of K students went to sit at "Rudi's" pond and listened to this book. What a great book, and what a magical place that was created to remember this little boy. The students put up Hummingbird feeders today to keep the birds coming. Until today I thought it was just a pond as a part of Life Lab in my kids school. I know I will look differently at it from now on, and already ordered a copy of the book for our family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet story, November 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rudi's Pond (Paperback)
Good short story. Teaches children to feel for others, and to be thankful for their own good health. My 6 yr old daughter liked it. She was saddened but still ok with the ending. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heartwarming, March 23, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rudi's Pond (Hardcover)
This touching tale of childhood friends will warm your heart and bring a tear to your eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to cope with the death of a friend and classmate, November 12, 2013
This review is from: Rudi's Pond (Hardcover)
The main subject of this book written for children is a topic that few of us like to think about, the long-term illness and death of a child. The story is told in the first person by a young girl that is best friends with Rudi, a neighbor boy. They do many things together but not as much as they want to because Rudi is often sick and unable to leave his bed. Finally, the illness gets so bad that Rudi must be hospitalized and he dies there.
Devastated, his young friend and her classmates search for a way to maintain the memory of Rudi and they settle on the building of a small concrete pond in the schoolyard. Rudi's friend remembers their making a hummingbird feeder together so she makes one. After hanging it out she sees one bird that not only feeds there, it also hovers outside the window and appears to look in. When it came it always looked into the window before going to eat. This convinced Rudi's friend that everything was alright.
The loss of a young life is always devastating and the young survivors have a difficult time coping with what death really means. Many people cope by simply ignoring the situation, a response that generally does little good. Reality is something that must always be faced and death is the ultimate reality of life. This book will help young readers better understand the death of young people and adults will receive some tips on how to explain the best way to cope. Not by forgetting about the person but by doing things that remind you of their life and joys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review: Rudi's Pond by Eve Bunting, August 28, 2013
By 
This review is from: Rudi's Pond (Paperback)
Book Review: Rudi's Pond by Eve Bunting
by dmauldin53

Rudi's Pond by Eve Bunting
Illustrated by Ronald Himler

In "Rudi's Pond", author Eve Bunting writes a touching story of life, death, and grief. The young narrator is a girl that grew up with Rudi as her friend. They lived on the same street, were friends at home, and friends at school.
They played together, painted together, and went on nature hikes together with the narrator's family. The narrator knew Rudi was sick and sometimes he didn't feel like playing outside, so the two friends played quietly at Rudi's house; coloring or playing video games.
When Rudi was feeling well, the two would sit by the pond, dangling their feet in the water. One day they made a hummingbird feeder from a bottle and a drinking straw.
The narrator's Mom told her, one day, Rudi's mom had called and said Rudi was in the hospital. Her mom told her Rudi was very, very ill; something was wrong with his heart and it was getting worse.
Author, Eve Bunting, did a great job including the stages of grief in the story. The narrator cried when her Mom told her how sick Rudi was. Rudi's class made and sent `Get Well' Cards and a Banner. The narrator asked if she could visit Rudi in the hospital, but only his mom and dad could visit him. She became angry and shouted, "He's my best friend. It's not fair!"
When Rudi died, the narrator wanted it to be a horrible dream. The class wrote a book of poems about Rudi. The school decided they should make a memorial to honor Rudi. The narrator tells her teacher and principal that Rudi liked ponds. A pond was built beside a big oak tree in the schoolyard. Rudi's classmates brought plants, rocks, and shells to decorate the pond. The narrator brought the hummingbird feeder, she and Rudi had made together, and hung it on the big oak tree. She saw a hummingbird feeding from the feeder the very first day she hung it on the tree. The hummingbird came every day.
"Rudi's Pond" is a beautiful, touching story about friendship, loss, and sadness.
[...]

Book Review for 'Award Winning Books Reading Challenge'
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sad story, April 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rudi's Pond (Paperback)
This book is about a girl who had a friend growing up. She knew he was sick but they just played calmly at home and outside. Then one day the kids dies so at school they decide to create a memorial for the child. It is sad because the characters are young in the story and as a reader you just feel bad for them. It's a sweet book about sadness and friendship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review from Books That Heal Kids, November 23, 2010
This review is from: Rudi's Pond (Paperback)
When we lost a student to an illness, I read this book to the class. Yep, we all cried. What we learned from Rudi's Pond was how we can continue to celebrate the memory of our beloved friend and student. Let me tell you, the loving and caring spirits of children are a magical thing. I've witnessed a lot of healing in children just from creating special memory boxes, cards, or even the planting of a tree in honor and gratitude.

In this story, Rudi's classmates help to build a pond by a tree in his honor. Rudi's best friend also hangs a hummingbird feeder that reminds her of their friendship. She starts to see a hummingbird each day and it feels like a very special sign to her. Even though he is gone, the sign reminds her of his presence in her heart. Oh wow - now that is healing for kids to hear!

This is a touching and beautiful story. Sometimes it's hard to talk about the, "Where do we go from here?" question. This has been more than helpful since the kids are looking to me for answers and hope. Peace. That's what we feel after reading Rudi's Pond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rudi's Pond
Rudi's Pond by Eve Bunting (Paperback - October 18, 2004)
$6.99 $6.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.