Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brothel can be a battlefield as much as anywhere else, December 12, 2009
This review is from: Ruined (Paperback)
A brothel can be a battlefield as much as anywhere else. Lynn Nottage's "Ruined" is a script for a play that has won several best plays of 2009 awards. Set in a Congo brothel during a civil war, "Ruined" tells of the plight of the women, when the men seem to care only about power and little else. "Ruined" proves why it's acclaimed, offering much food for thought in its text form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, January 4, 2010
By 
Mervyn de Goeas (Trinidad & Tobago) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruined (Paperback)
Simply put ... this is one of the best plays I've ever read! Beautiful, brutal, hopeful, angry - this is a masterpiece. I've been a theatre director for over twenty-five years and there are only a handful of plays that I couldn't put down once I'd started reading - William M. Hoffman's "As Is", Tony Kushner's "Angels In America - Millennium Approaches" and John Patrick Shanley's "Doubt, come to mind. Nattage's "Ruined" is far and away one of the best I've come across in a long time. What a way to start 2010!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best, September 1, 2009
This review is from: Ruined (Paperback)
One of the best plays written.I saw it performed and I read it and its get betterand better each time i read it. Anyone wanting to touch the heartbeat of what is going on in the world should pick this up. Changing the world everyday. Amazing work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painfully Brilliant, January 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruined (Paperback)
To understand the emotional devastation and the tremendous heart of the women who live in the Congo - you must see this play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruined (Kindle Edition)
I had to read this book for a college theater class and fell in love with it. I had a hard time putting it down because it really does raise awareness of civil war in other countries, especially the Congo. This play reads incredibly easily, almost like a novel. It's hard putting each character to a face at first but as you continue reading the personalities blossom and it's easy to establish who is who. The worst part is though, that it's hard to see which side of the revolution is right because the egregious things BOTH of them do. This play captivates the audience on the poor women caught in the middle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would love to see this live!, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruined (Kindle Edition)
Such a strong story and so beautifully written. The final scenes still resonate with me. Why do wars always begin and end with the women? as if those who possess the women are those who possess the power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good play, December 16, 2012
By 
Ray Shane (Baton Rouge, La.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruined - Acting Edition (Paperback)
I read the play. Now I wish I could see it live. Several plays I've read are just chatter. Not this one. The playwright had something to say, and she said it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RAW! EYE-OPENING!!!!, July 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruined - Acting Edition (Paperback)
Very RAW. Must read. Was a must read for an English 101 class in CA, great teacher,i am also selling the other book he made us read, its off the hook really. This one just takes u for a RIDE. Make no guesses. Expect nothing. Watch this is a play if you can, its how its meant to be seen! Or find people to play it out!
.. Takes what you wanna see in a 'book' and throws it around quite a bit. This is Africa, chaos and greed are the game. If you have money, u can stay alive. 15$? 3 days alive. | 250$ 44 days alive definitely.*

*Depending on whether it is dry season, or if it's rainy season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A notable, modern play, November 14, 2013
This review is from: Ruined (Kindle Edition)
Painful, touching, ultimately hopeful. A realistic story of humanity amidst the unthinkable darkness of violence toward women that surrounds (but does not explicitly take place in) the play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Needed for School, March 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruined - Acting Edition (Paperback)
The book is in great condition and it's everything I needed. I'm making a director's book for an Advanced Directing class and I chose this play to work with. I'm not regretting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ruined - Acting Edition
Ruined - Acting Edition by Lynn Nottage (Paperback - August 24, 2010)
$9.00 $8.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.