Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring fun for young free-thinkers
"A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide To Anarchy" is a breezy, fun read for parents and kids to share, that rare children's book that can inspire all kinds of interesting conversations with your child and whole afternoons of creative, free-thinking fun. It's beautifully illustrated and funny, and encourages a healthy dialogue about just what a "rule" really is and what it...
Published on May 24, 2012 by Fritz Robenalt

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A different and awful edition
I was ridiculously excited about getting this book.. I checked Amazons preview and read an internet pdf version (Some time ago, the authors released it on the web for free) so I bought it.. only to discover that they changed the book, edited beautiful parts of it, and still sell it as the same thing. In the paperback edition by Auntie Uncle Books you got the pages with...
Published 6 months ago by Eri D.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring fun for young free-thinkers, May 24, 2012
"A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide To Anarchy" is a breezy, fun read for parents and kids to share, that rare children's book that can inspire all kinds of interesting conversations with your child and whole afternoons of creative, free-thinking fun. It's beautifully illustrated and funny, and encourages a healthy dialogue about just what a "rule" really is and what it means to think just little bit outside of some of life's more arbitrary rigidities. And despite what some of the more negative comments on this site and elsewhere around the web might lead you to believe, there are no molotov cocktail recipes to be found in these pages. I think it's disappointing that anyone who clearly has never cracked the pages of this sweet, smart little book would take the time to smear it with the sad stain of their own jaundiced political agendas and misplaced fears. Lighten up! Let's have some fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Kid's Book For Free-Thinkers!, August 8, 2011
The art alone marks this as a great children's book, but the spirited message makes it both timely and timeless.

Kids spend most of their young lives being told what to do and how to behave, and so A RULE IS TO BREAK is an essential corrective. Success in life -- especially a life less ordinary -- pretty much requires scribbling outside the lines on occasion, and this book is a fun way to instill that lesson at any age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unleash Your Inner Anarchic Child!, June 13, 2012
You don't need to have children in order to appreciate this "anti-instruction manual" from the fabulously talented John & Jana! Any and all who find themselves occasionally chafing under the rules of the workplace, home, or society in general will find inspiration in these pages. Ignore the panic-stricken fear-mongers, approach A Rule Is To Break with an open mind, and trust yourself enough to sprinkle a little anarchy throughout your daily life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, August 10, 2011
By 
M. Petit "m.petit" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A Rule is to Break is a fantastic book for kids of all ages. It is beautifully illustrated, wonderfully written, and really encourages kids to think creatively, independently, and be their own person. Plus, it practices what it teaches by encouraging kids to destroy the book and make their own! (How awesome is that?) I love it and plan to give it to every child I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, August 10, 2011
This beautifully illustrated book encourages independent thinking and creative exploration in toddlers and young children. I plan to buy more copies to give to the many book-loving youngsters in my life. I am certain they will enjoy it as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, December 12, 2012
By 
ajax (Mount Pleasant Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide to Anarchy (Hardcover)
A book every parent should give their child. It helps promote freedome of expression and creativity, something severely lacking in today's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching kids to be creative and think for themselves, December 17, 2012
This review is from: A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide to Anarchy (Hardcover)
Though this book is pitched as a guide to anarchy, it could as easily have been described as a guide to self-directedness or autonomy. It instructs kids to do such 'anarchist' activities as hugging the ugliest monster and making up their own festivals (like monster appreciation day). Several of the instructions have a social justice dimension, like listening to the smallest voice and speaking up for what you believe in. But the overall thrust of the book is the sort of thing that most parents should be able to accept. (Indeed, I was hoping it would be a bit more rabble-rousing than it is!) But it is not ideological, nor an incitement to violence or the destruction of private property, if you were worried about such things. So, really, those 1-star raters out there really ought to relax (especially given that they likely have not even read the book!).

I find it to be a wonderful book and I can't wait to share it with my sons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a cool auntie, this book is essential gift-giving, May 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide to Anarchy (Hardcover)
I don't have children of my own, but I dote on my nieces and nephews (even the ones to whom I am only a "fake" auntie as opposed to a blood relation) and have already given away three copies of this book. The illustrations are gorgeous and the content raises some good ideas for discussion with kids of all ages. Help raise the next generation of free-thinking, community-minded, responsible but not boring adults: give this book to every child you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide to Anarchy, January 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide to Anarchy (Hardcover)
An enjoyable, but very simple read. This book encourages critical thinking, not blind destruction as the naysayers are suggesting. What it does champion is very fundamental- being yourself, thinking for yourself, as well as listening to what others have to say and embracing all others, regardless of who they are. However, while the illustrations were great and I enjoyed the message, I was hoping the story to have a little more substance or be a bit more detailed (particularly at 44 pages, this is a very quick read). I would recommend it for younger children(5&younger), but I honestly enjoyed Happy Punks 1-2-3! by John & Jana much more- I think they nailed it with that book. In any case, I'll keep looking for more books that encourage children to have skeptical minds and being engaged, especially for the younger crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A different and awful edition, July 18, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide to Anarchy (Hardcover)
I was ridiculously excited about getting this book.. I checked Amazons preview and read an internet pdf version (Some time ago, the authors released it on the web for free) so I bought it.. only to discover that they changed the book, edited beautiful parts of it, and still sell it as the same thing. In the paperback edition by Auntie Uncle Books you got the pages with ¨Paint pictures on your tv¨, ¨There are no rules do what you want¨, ¨Tear up this book make your own¨ or ¨Ignore school and read books¨ instead, in Manic D Press edition you find the same page and illustrations but the text exchanged for a ¨Educate yourself, read books¨.. They cut off all the others mentioned and added more lax ideas like ¨Listen for the tiniest voice¨ or ¨Think for yourself¨.. It's not like they shouldn't be in the book, but why you have to cut all the others? Honestly, it seems that the more radical ideas of the book where cut in order to what? make it saleable..? Anyway, if you change the book you have to remark this exchanges and neither the authors on its web or Amazon here, state the difference between the editions. In my opinion, it's a different book, less pretty, less fun, less anarchist. At the end of the day, the only message I'm getting is ¨Sorry, you have to be less radical in order to publish for children -and make a profit-¨.

Amazon needs to change the preview of the book and stop selling it just like a hard cover version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide to Anarchy
A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide to Anarchy by John Seven (Hardcover - November 20, 2012)
$14.95 $11.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.