Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
I prefer this book to Strunk and White's "The Elements of Style"
Published 2 months ago by Jesse C. Carr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
this is a good book if you need a little help with basic grammar but it has nothing in-depth about grammar in it. The MLA documentation steps are very precise which is fantastic if you need help citing something. However if you need it for APA it is lacking, because it has no where near as many examples of citation as the MLA section. There is also no Chicago...
Published 7 months ago by cassy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules of Thumb (Spiral-bound)
I prefer this book to Strunk and White's "The Elements of Style"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, May 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules of Thumb (Spiral-bound)
just what I needed for class. it was used but i really didn't care it is just a reference book and i saved a lot by buying pre-owned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book..., May 14, 2014
By 
ENappy "Seeangels" (Long Island, New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules of Thumb (Spiral-bound)
Fantastic book; easy to understand. I find myself referencing Rules of Thumb regularly. It is a necessity to own this book, if you are a college student. It has helped me a great deal achieve a good grade on my papers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, January 21, 2014
This review is from: Rules of Thumb (Spiral-bound)
this is a good book if you need a little help with basic grammar but it has nothing in-depth about grammar in it. The MLA documentation steps are very precise which is fantastic if you need help citing something. However if you need it for APA it is lacking, because it has no where near as many examples of citation as the MLA section. There is also no Chicago documentation in the book at all. I needed it for ENG 101 and it served its purpose in a very basic and clear way, which was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As described., September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules of Thumb (Spiral-bound)
Kinda expensive that using $30 to buy this small book, hope it will get cheaper on future edition, otherwise no one is gonna buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Writing Tool, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules of Thumb (Spiral-bound)
Fantastic little book that will be a quick reference for your writing. Well worth the money. It is concise and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Tips For Writing, Handy to keep on Hand, July 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules of Thumb (Spiral-bound)
I don't use it that often but it is helpful if you must look up some grammar or other common mistakes. Although you could probably "just google it" as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and service, March 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules of Thumb (Spiral-bound)
I'm a teacher and needed this particular book for school. The delivery was fast and the book is one I use in my classes all of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eng 201, January 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules of Thumb (Spiral-bound)
a GREAT BOOK THAT WILL HELP YOU WITH ALOT OF ENGLISH RULES, COMMAS, SEMI COLONS AND COLONS! IT IS WELL WRITTEN AND HELPED ME GET AHEAD IN THE THE ENG CLASS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, January 3, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules of Thumb (Spiral-bound)
This books was very helpful to me personally, having English as not my first language this gave me somuch insights to know and understand about. Loving this book, I will use it more to enhance my writing! Because there are so many rules you just wont be able to memorize it all. XD
Book is in a great condition ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rules of Thumb
Rules of Thumb by Jay Silverman (Spiral-bound - April 24, 2012)
$40.41
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.