Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for writers and editors
I do proofreading for a freelance professional book editor. Soon after I started working for her, she ordered this book for me. I have several writing style manuals, but this is the book that I rely on the most. It's easier to use than "The Chicago Manual of Style" and more comprehensive than the "How" series.

One key to a good style manual is a good index, and...
Published on August 7, 2011 by J. Chambers

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book design with tabs isn't very good
The book is great. I would suggest you buy the other version though (the one without the tabs). The one with the tabs is designed so it is likely to get bent and old looking faster. The cover is very thin and protrudes. It bends as soon as you put it in your backpack. Service was great, just the design wasn't that great.
Published on January 13, 2011 by shereviews


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource for writers and editors, August 7, 2011
This review is from: Rules for Writers with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates (Spiral-bound)
I do proofreading for a freelance professional book editor. Soon after I started working for her, she ordered this book for me. I have several writing style manuals, but this is the book that I rely on the most. It's easier to use than "The Chicago Manual of Style" and more comprehensive than the "How" series.

One key to a good style manual is a good index, and "Rules for Writers" has a very good one. I seldom fail to find where the information I need is located.

The book is very compact (8" x 5"), and the spiral binding lets it lay flat.

Overall, "Rules for Writers" is a first rate resource for writers and editors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helping those who are not good at English rules., March 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules for Writers with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates (Spiral-bound)
First off, I am not a writer and English is the one and only language I know and this book has helped me improve my understanding of the details of the English language in terms of punctuation, grammar and sentence structure. This book is even great to have around the house and refer to it whenever you need to for writing important letters to businesses or making sure your resume is free of mistakes. I used this book for an English class and it was well worth it. It helped me a lot in constructing my papers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book design with tabs isn't very good, January 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is great. I would suggest you buy the other version though (the one without the tabs). The one with the tabs is designed so it is likely to get bent and old looking faster. The cover is very thin and protrudes. It bends as soon as you put it in your backpack. Service was great, just the design wasn't that great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rules for Writers with Tabs with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates, May 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you really want to know the rules for writing a good essay then this book will get the job done right for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rules For Writers, September 25, 2011
By 
Ravengirl (PORT ORANGE, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like the index and mini examples the book gives. It has easy to understand directions and loads of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15, 2014
This review is from: Rules for Writers with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates (Spiral-bound)
Thank You!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars English Sup., June 12, 2014
By 
Philey (Califronia USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Textbook for class. Some good stuff in their. Kinda expensive though. I only used it a few times and wish i rented it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules for Writers with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates (Spiral-bound)
This book is whatever I want it. It is a good book with a good quality. It is good to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rules for Writers, May 5, 2014
By 
RENE MALDONADO (Columbia, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules for Writers with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates (Spiral-bound)
This is a concise and still comprehensive Manual for any student or writer who wants to have a handy reference. I love the Spiral...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best writing tool ever, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rules for Writers with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates (Spiral-bound)
If you are in college or in high school this is an invaluable tool. It has every rule about grammar one could ever wish to know and it also has everything about citing that one could ever wish to know in a very organized user friendly format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rules for Writers with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates
Rules for Writers with 2009 MLA and 2010 APA Updates by Diana Hacker (Spiral-bound - June 8, 2010)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.