Kindle Price: $0.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Rumspringa Break (Amish Hearts Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 61 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.99

Length: 54 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book

Complete Series

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Product Details

  • File Size: 1306 KB
  • Print Length: 54 pages
  • Publication Date: October 10, 2013
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00FR1ER1U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #412,352 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Kristina Ludwig earned her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Pittsburgh, and practiced pharmacy for six years before retiring to become a full-time YA fiction author, blogger, and writing coach. She has published over 20 eBooks on Amazon, including the best selling Amish Hearts, Amish in College, and Amish Couples Series. She is an avid reader of YA fiction, but will read basically anything in sight!

Kristina lives in California with the two loves of her life: her baby girl Xaviana and her husband Antonio, with whom she's launched a YouTube show, "Business, Publishing, and Life." When she's not dreaming up new stories, you can find Kristina hanging out at the beach, cooking exotic recipes, playing classical piano, journaling, swimming, doing yoga, drawing, shopping, and traveling.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Rumspringa break is a fascinating glimpse into another culture from the teen perspective. From the start, the characters come to life, and the reader is immersed in the universal issues all teens face, regardless of upbringing. Every teen faces the age-old excitement of "young love," choice of a career, and the dilemmas of reconciling the religion, culture and ethnicity they have been raised into, with "growing up" and apart from their parents. Excellent writing leaves the reader with the desire to "hang out" more with the characters to find out what comes next!
Comment 5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I downloaded this book because it was free for the Kindle and it caught my interest. Sadly, it didn't really live hope to the hope I had for it. I think the biggest problem was the length. This book is short. Extremely short. There are nineteen chapters, but each chapter felt incredibly short as well. The biggest problem with the length was how awkwardly the book cut off. It didn't end. It just stopped. I know there's more to this series, but honestly, I'm guessing that could have just been added to this book to create one book that was a better length. There wasn't the slightest bit of resolution in this book.

Not only that, but I felt like I didn't have time to actually connect with the characters or the story. I wasn't pulled into the book at all, and I disliked all of the characters. They didn't feel real to me. It was as if they were all extremely two-dimensional and boring to me. Maybe that would have changed if I had read more about them, but the book was too short for me to ever find out. I also know I could go pick up the second book, but I didn't get into the first one enough to bother with the second. That may have been different if the first book had been longer and more developed. Then I might have gotten into the story enough to bother with the other books.

I wouldn't necessarily call this a bad book. It just didn't feel long enough to actually grab my interest. I also would have appreciated characters that felt more three-dimensional. I'm sure some people will enjoy this book and be able to appreciate it for what it is, but I didn't find it to be developed enough to be satisfying.
Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The storyline is great, but what sparked my interest is K. Ludwig's ability to write about some of the crucial dilemmas that teens face in such a compelling and genuine way.

This book is extremely hard to put down - we need the sequel!
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The story contains a brilliant new idea about the Amish community combined with an amazing writing style.

The plot develops deftly, and the suspense amplifies progressively.

Rebekah's Rumspringa starts when she turns sixteen. She is given the chance to discover the city and new things, and she has to choose where she wants to continue her life. Rebekah is stuck in a dilemma; she has to decide whether to stay in the city with Braeden, her English boyfriend, and be a veterinarian or go back to her old life in her Amish community.

I enjoyed reading the page-turner, and I am eager and impatient for the release of the sequel.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I got the book for free and if I hadn't I would not be happy. I thought this was a "book" but it's more like a short synopsis. In other words it's a bit like a movie trailer - gets you interested and then STOPS... until... you guessed it, you buy the next one... Frankly that annoys me no end... if it's a novella or whatever then please let us know that we're expected to buy more chapters or books or whatever.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
What a true gripping book, couldn't stop reading until it was finished! The story line was so exciting, filled with suspense and dilemmas facing the main character Rebekah. It also gave me a good insight about the Amish culture, and the thoughts going through teenagers' minds. So excited for the next book!
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Pretty much the same old thing when it comes to Rumspinga. I don't have anything else to say about this book.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm not sure if referring this novella as a contemporary Amish story, but it certainly fits.

The story starts off the night before Rebekah's 16th birthday. She is all knotted up inside because of her anxiety of experiencing English life for the first time. The story moves along at the perfect pace to capture all of what she is feeling as she experiences all the `first times' during her Rumspringa.

Great character development from the very first sentence. Having the ability to immerse yourself into the lives of a different culture through reading is such a rewarding experience. Thank you for allowing me to do so.
1 Comment 1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in