Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Run-D.M.C. - Greatest Hits
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars112
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 23, 2005
This is a perfect greatest hits album because:

a) it provides all the important songs of the artist's career...

b) it provides remastered versions of said songs

c) it is sequenced as if it should be played in its' entirety...the song order matters

d) it demonstrates artistic growth, increasing your appreciation for the artist

e) it provides context of that artist within their genre and other genres

and f) at least three times you will say, out loud, "that was awesome", when listening to it.

The dexterous wordplay, the thundering beats, the hysterical humor...so many artists, from the rap world to the rock (could Linkin Park even exist without, say, "Rock Box" or "Walk This Way"?) owe their careers to these three musicians.

There is nobody, nor will there ever be anybody, like Run D.M.C. They were the best at what they do, and this disc is proof.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2002
With the tragic loss of Jam Master Jay and w/ the rest of the group disbanding, it seems a part of hip-hop has died as well. The part of what hip-hop is supposed to be, non-violent raps, positive messages (Down w/ the King), etc. seems to have died as well. Run-DMC never needed what today's artists have, huge entourages, plenty of ice, cars, girls, etc. and the use of the "n" word over and over again. If only today's artists can learn something from Run-DMC instead of just giving them props, things may be different today and Jay may still live. God Bless Jam Master Jay and the rest of Run-DMC. RIP Jay, you will be missed.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2004
Where do you begin with a Group like Run-DMC. A group that broke down all the barriers from hard rock to rap, although melodic and accessible enough to break into popular music. They kick it out with drum machines, scratching and also mixing in guitars and keyboards. They got some amazing rhymes and lyrics to match. Run-DMC are pioneers, like The Beatles. They've paved the way for hip-hoppers since their debut in 1984.

In closing, This CD is a great introduction to Run-DMC. It's the one I started with, and I have purchased the first four albums because I thought it was so great. If you are looking for old school hip-hop, Run-DMC is the way to go. It doesn't get much older or cooler than this.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2004
I was destroyed when I found out that Jam Master Jay had been murdered; not only as a die-hard lover of hip hop, but as a black man and as a human being. I still can't imagine who want to kill the peace-loving family man who helped usher and cultivate the greatest musc in the world? That shows that world that we live in today. Enough of the doom and gloom; the life's work of JMJ and his partners in crime Run D.M.C are among the most important in music history; they guided hip hop from something that New York kids did in the streets the biggest cultural revolution since the creation of rock and roll. Speaking

of rock, rapping over heavy metal riffs? Gee, THAT will never catch on! That concept also furthered rock bands to incorporate rap into their miscial compisition, spawinig bands like Faith No More, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Limp Bizkit, Linkin Park and Korn among others. Though their star power diminshed through the '90's, their influence was overwhelming, such as groups like De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest, Salt N Pepa, Naughty By Nature and The Alkaholiks. This album is merely a crash course in their illustrious career, it's still worth getting for the rare "Christmas In Holliis track recorded for a beneft charity album(where's "Here We Go?). I still say my condolences to the family friends and fans of Jason Mizell, aka Jam Master Jay; rest in peace. Stop the violence.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2002
Hard to say enough good things about the band. Yes, they brought rap into the mainstream, along with The Beastie Boys. Yes, they helped resurrect Aerosmith's career. We won't hold it against them that most rap-metal has been horrible, Limp Bizkit included.
But they were so much more than that. They changed how rap music sounded, with their dense tracks giving rise to a new style. Eventually, the clever use of rock samples produced the Bomb Squad, and the whole Def Jam label. Rick Rubin should get up every morning and thank Run-DMC for his fortune.
As for the songs, this is a much better collection than the previous hits CD. Can You Rock It Like This is a wonderful addition. I would have added You're Blind, Pause and I'm Not Going Out Like That, which show the band's political side. Their message of respect and empowerment should not be overlooked.
But, you can't beat how the CD starts. King of Rock/It's Tricky/Beats To The Rhyme/Can You Rock It Like This.
Get this as an introduction, then go get King of Rock, Tougher Than Leather, and Raising Hell. All 3 are essential.
Jam-Master Jay, RIP.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2002
I just read that one of the member Jam Master Jay was killed and am deeply shocked and sad. Run DMC was one of the great artists of rap that were deddicated to their music without promoting violence and lewd behavior. They put fun in rap music. I can listen to this CD all day because the hits are all of the songs that I love. Jam Master Jay is greatly missed by me and his fans.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2014
Unlike most hip-hop artists from the 80s & early 90s, Run DMC are fortunate enough to have had their classic albums properly re-released with great sound and liner notes. This means you don't need to pick up this collection for the sound alone. Nonetheless, it's an example of how to do a greatest hits collection right. Focus on the best period; don't simply pick tracks from the weaker, later albums just to give a "full overview of the group's evolution". Every track on this collection is banging, the sequencing is good, and it's simply an outstanding listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2014
Very seldom do you get this many great songs for only $10 (USD). RUN-DMC "Greatest Hits" is such a case. This is thanks to the track list being pooled from RUN-DMCs backlog good material. "Greatest Hits" reminds Old School Hip Hop fans of why, at one point, RUN-DMC practically ruled the rap world and helped to bring Hip Hop into mainstream Pop culture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
Yes,another CD I purchased for my brother,as you can see , I purchase a lot of oldies for my brother who comes from that time of music,Yep!
he also thinks he is part of the Run DMC group,wish everyone could see when he puts all this music on,he is so seriously dramatic,he loves his music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2014
I ordered this on line and I am very pleased with my experience. The product arrived on time which was very convenient. I would order from this seller again and would recommend them to anyone who may wish to save time by shopping on line without the worries. I am so excited to be able to order items like these and have a good experience. It is a great time saver for me and I appreciate the seller sending such great quality merchandise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.