Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars who knew running could be fun?
I too think, that the title "Run Fat Boy Run" is quite amusing and very apropriate for the film. Let me, in response to another reviewers question "who would pay money to see a fat boy run?" ask: who wouldn't?

The story is neither original nor complicated. At their wedding, Simon Pegg's character gets cold feet and takes off without explanation, leaving his...
Published on April 15, 2008 by Bo Østergaard Jepsen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If it's "romantic comedy night," you could do a lot worse than this one.
On the day of his wedding Dennis leaves his pregnant girlfriend, Libby, at the altar. When he meets her new boyfriend, five years later, Dennis decides that he had better make it up to her now or he might lose her forever. The difficulty lies in the fact that this new boyfriend is many things that Dennis is not. The new guy is successful, confident, responsible and he...
Published on February 17, 2009 by Peter Shermeta


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars who knew running could be fun?, April 15, 2008
I too think, that the title "Run Fat Boy Run" is quite amusing and very apropriate for the film. Let me, in response to another reviewers question "who would pay money to see a fat boy run?" ask: who wouldn't?

The story is neither original nor complicated. At their wedding, Simon Pegg's character gets cold feet and takes off without explanation, leaving his pregnant girlfriend behind. 5 years down the line he, now a fat, pathtic looser without the mone to pay the rent, realises that he actually left the love of his life behind that day. She has found a rich, handsome, athletic American played very well by Hank Azaria, and has no need for her former fiance. So to win her back, Pegg must compete against his American competitor in a marathon race. Chaos and hilarity ensues.

Simon Pegg, who is nothing short of a comic genius, plays the gormless loser so joyously well, and adds to it his incredible sense of physical comedy. His American rival is in turn played expertly by Mr. Azaria, who somehow manages to portray a character that at the same time is absolutely charming, wonderful, and thoroughly unlikeable. The always funny Dylan Moran adds his own interesting personae to the character Gordon, the best friend of Peggs character. Also a guest visit from Little Britains David Walliams, makes for a nice little surprise.

I'm not the biggest fan of director David Schwimmer, but I must admit that he's done a decent job with this one. The score, scenery, production, and all the rest of it is also done quite well.

So in conclusion I'll say, that while "Run Fat Boy Run" is not in any way original or spellbinding, it does provide some solid laughs and is never boring. Definitely recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remember when "charming" wasn't such a negative?, September 25, 2008
By 
terpfan1980 "Barry" (Somewhere near Washington DC, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First, a warning to fans of Shaun of the Dead or Hot Fuzz, the more popular of the Simon Pegg starred films: this isn't a film that would seemed to have come from the same team of film makers, that is despite the fact that Simon Pegg did help develop the story for this film. There are lines of humor and jokes in this film that hint at the playful spirit shown in those earlier films, but as a whole this movie is much more in the "charming" category where those films were done in a different manner entirely. Perhaps the difference is David Schwimmer's direction, perhaps it's the screen play, or perhaps Pegg was intentionally aiming for charming in an effort to widen his range and appeal, either way the result here is a film that fans of the earlier movies may be disappointed in.

If you can get past the idea that this film is going to be charming, rather than more satirical and crude, well, you find that the result isn't that bad. 5 star material, not so much for me, and really probably more in the 3.5 range overall, but I'm rounding up a bit as I happen to think charming isn't such a bad thing to be.

Simon Pegg plays Dennis, a man that ditched his pregnant girlfriend (Libby, played by Thande Newton) at the altar. Years later he finds himself working as a security guard that can't run more than a few blocks to try to catch the shoplifter that ripped off the shop we works at. Ah, the difference a few years, many cigarettes and not so healthy eating makes for.

Dennis is a not so dependable father to the son that Libby has been raising by herself, and meanwhile Libby has found another potential love interest (played by Hank Azaria) who seems to make Dennis all the more sad over the love he lost.

Eventually (not so far along really), Dennis decides that he'll run in the big marathon to impress Libby, not just because he wants to impress her, but because his competitor for Libby's interest is going to run in the event. Can a guy whose life is such a mess, not to mention the lack of being physically fit, actually run a marathon? That's what you'll be watching to find out. :-)

There are several crude jokes mixed into the film along the way, and several minutes of the same mixed into the outtakes that are included on the Blu-ray disc. Nothing that is that harsh, but those that are easily offended should consider themselves warned. A few instances of rough language also help get the film that rating it sports, so again if you are easily offended perhaps you're better off looking elsewhere.

Picture quality on the Blu-ray is nice. The soundtrack is enjoyable and the musical selections that are included fit nicely where they are placed. Give this romantic comedy a chance to charm you and you may find it more of a winner than you expected. Certainly worth a rental, not far from the buy it rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PREDICTABLE, BUT VERY FUNNY!, June 7, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Run, Fatboy, Run (DVD)
I have really enjoyed Simon Pegg's films and 'Run Fatboy Run is no exception. With a winning cast this romantic comedy is much better than most films of this nature. If you liked 'Shawn Of The Dead' and 'Hot Fuzz', you should like this film.

David Schwimmer who directs this smart and funny love story is to be commended for giving us an inspiring feel good romantic comedy without over loading it with artificial sweeteners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light humor for anyone training for a marathon, April 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Run, Fatboy, Run (DVD)
I'd recommend watching this with some friends while training for your first marathon.
It's comical, but with a touch of inspiration.
It's about a man who sets out to prove his love to a woman, only to find himself in the process.
Some bad language, which I'd prefer was left out of every movie, but fairly clean film for teenagers and above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very funny......, July 19, 2008
By 
BJ "Brett Starr" (East Peoria, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Just watched "Run Fat Boy Run"! One word "hilarious"!

Great comedy by "David Schwimmer" (you know, ROSS from Friends). The lead role is Simon Pegg (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz), he was great, as usual, in his role as the underachieving dad and ex-fiance of Thandie Newton (The Truth About Charlie), also starring Hank Azaria (Along Came Polly, Mystery Men)as Thandie Newtons "perfect" new boyfriend!

I didn't have high hopes for this movie going in, but it was excellent.

Very, very funny. This movie will definitely brighten your day / night!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this movie, March 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You should really consider this movie. It is cheesy and cheeky at the same time. It is not a Oscar winning film, no. But it is a good quality, very well written and very easy to relate to type of movie. I got it on sale as well.

I have yet to see anything that Simon Pegg was in that wasn't brilliant.

If you take movies too seriously, this is not the best movie for you. It is a very goofy romantic comedy, definitely good for a date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If it's "romantic comedy night," you could do a lot worse than this one., February 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: Run, Fatboy, Run (DVD)
On the day of his wedding Dennis leaves his pregnant girlfriend, Libby, at the altar. When he meets her new boyfriend, five years later, Dennis decides that he had better make it up to her now or he might lose her forever. The difficulty lies in the fact that this new boyfriend is many things that Dennis is not. The new guy is successful, confident, responsible and he runs marathons for charity -- and that is held over Dennis's head as if that one thing sums up how Dennis will never be good enough. Dennis responds that he will run the marathon, too. So now he trains for 26 grueling miles as if Libby will be waiting for him at the finish line.

I will admit that my expectations for this film were low. I have enjoyed Simon Pegg in some of his other movies, but not enough to rush out and see this. (Not based on Simon Pegg's involvement, but) I was afraid that it would be one of the romantic comedies that tried to focus on the romantic rather than the comedy.

The movie was funny and charming. The supporting cast was made up with some great characters, including but not limited to Dennis's landlord/upstairs neighbor Mr. Goshdashtidar (Harish Patel) and Dennis's best friend Gordon (Dylan Moran). The involvement of these supporting cast members and the interaction between Dennis and his son were probably the high points of the movie.

This is probably not a movie that you will invite all of your friends over to watch, but it is worth seeing on a night when you stay in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Then he got a niiice foot massage., April 26, 2010
This review is from: Run, Fatboy, Run (DVD)
The unfortunately titled Run Fatboy Run comes from that risky, murky water where comedians decide they want to be sweeties. Sometimes, this can be golden: Simon Pegg, who stars as the slobbering, unreconstructed-on-the-way-to-construction hero, Dennis, is particularly talented at juggling the flatulent with the heartwarming. However, it's a dangerous idea, as comedians can sometimes get derailed on their way to sensitive, saccharine warmth, and end up in the horribly, gouge-your-eyes-out maudlin. For example, Robin Williams in a number of films (though What Dreams May Come may be the most notorious), or Adam Sandler's nauseating self-pity in the gratingly unfunny Funny People.

Adam Sandler's actually a good match for Simon Pegg, as they both specialize in frat boy (or, well, the British equivalent) humo(u)r that is underscored by a genuine authenticity - they are both adept at playing man-children. Run Fatboy Run introduces us to Dennis (Simon Pegg) on the day of his wedding: his gorgeous, pregnant bride-to-be, Libby (Thandie Newton), chats with her amiable cousin, Gordon (Dylan Moran), and Dennis? He's the one sprinting down the street, away from the garden party. Fast forward five years and fifteen kilos, and Dennis, now a dumpy security guard, is sprinting after a (incidentally hilarious!) transvestite shoplifter. He lives in a basement flat, where he is periodically heckled by his (incidentally hilarious) landlord, Mr. Goshdashtidar (Harish Patel, from My Son the Fanatic), for perpetually forgetting his keys.

When Dennis visits Libby to pick up their son, Jake (Matthew Fenton), he is introduced to Libby's new boyfriend: Whit (Hank Azaria). Whit is everything Dennis is not: a successful hedge fund manager, he showers Libby and Jake with expensive gadgets and affection, is breezily self-confident in a very American way, and runs charity marathons for fun. Dennis, privately, seethes. He decides to remedy his broken heart and dead-end life by challenging Whit to his own marathon. Everyone does a lot of scoffing and snorting with laughter - what, Dennis? the fat guy? a marathon? - and Dennis, meanwhile, with his gambling buddy, Gordon, and Mr. Goshdashtidar, gets down to training. The rest of the film follows the usual course.

Run Fatboy Run generally avoids some of the disasterous pitfalls which threaten a movie like this, mostly because, as we said above, Simon Pegg has a good handle on balancing sympathy with humor, and we have a very high tolerance for seeing him be sad before we consider it over-the-top and indulgent. We think this is generally because Pegg sparingly uses that most deadliest of comic weapons - irony - and hence never distances himself from the character. Yes, Dennis is a clumsy, Homer Simpson-esque buffoon, but he's also, always, human. Everything is played straight. Example: when Dennis, in usual Disney-style manipulation, momentarily loses his son, there is real horror and panic. It's a credit to Pegg, who specializes in airy comedy that's been deep fried in pop culture, that he is actually a very authentic actor indeed.

Other cast members, such as Dylan Moran and Harish Patel, have a good ol' time and offer charming support to the central conceit. For the most part, the film succeeds because it feels more like a Nick Hornby movie (we were specifically reminded of About a Boy (Widescreen Edition)), though things spiral slightly out of control with the climax, which becomes so sticky with sugar that we had to go wash our eyeballs. All in all, it's not a memorable film and Pegg's characteristic surrealism is missing, but it's a modest and inoffensive heart-shaped fluff piece. We can handle that.

*Review originally published at The Post-Punk Cinema Club: [...].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, but Sure is Fun, March 29, 2009
This review is from: Run, Fatboy, Run (DVD)
So after watching this fun comedy, I noticed in the credtis that the movie was directed by former Friend's Alum David Schwimmer. Congrats to him, as this was an enjoyable movie that made the most of its leads; especially the always funny Simon Pegg. Hank Azaria was also very good being very bad in the film. This British comedy had a very American film, which may have led a bit to its disjointed feel, at times. Overall, this was a fun movie with some moments of true hilarity. I wouldn't necessarily say Run to watch this movie, but maybe walk fast. This is a movie right at 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Run Fatboy, April 18, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent video and audio quality. Predictable, yet engrossing and funny storyline. Thandie Newton and Simon Pegg are their usual quality selves, while Hank Azaria really deserves kudos for his portrayal of a shallow, self-absorbed and cowardly character. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Run, Fatboy, Run
Run, Fatboy, Run by David Schwimmer (DVD - 2008)
$14.96 $5.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.