Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves a try
This game is far better than what some reviewers will have you think. The graphics offer detailed textures and models. Everything is realistically presented in the sense that everything is true to the game world. There are games that have game worlds with textures that have a look closer to the real world, but not by much. Game developers will continuously strive to...
Published on April 27, 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Old but pretty good for the time in which it came out
Good game for 10 years ago but not what I expected I guess considering the advancements in Gaming and Graphics
Published 15 months ago by charles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves a try, April 27, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox (Video Game)
This game is far better than what some reviewers will have you think. The graphics offer detailed textures and models. Everything is realistically presented in the sense that everything is true to the game world. There are games that have game worlds with textures that have a look closer to the real world, but not by much. Game developers will continuously strive to bridge that gap. But some will also use their artistic freedoms to create Disney style-animated graphics. RLH has a very beautifully rendered game world in this regard.
The sound and voice acting was beautifully done. Some reviewers have tried to deny this, which I find astonishing.
The story is also very good. Some reviewers have pooh-poohed this by saying it is a rip-off from every Sci-Fi movie since the late 70s. I find this irrelevant and don't understand this argument. What difference does it make whether you play this game or a game officially based on any of the Sci-Fi movies produced since the 70's? If the story is good, that should suffice, especially to new audiences to the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Run Like Hell: Great acting and graphics, April 10, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox (Video Game)
Graphics:
Animations and environments are extremely detailed. People and the aliens are well animated. Emotions are very well conveyed in the humans, and the alien creatures and hybrids are both intriguing and disgusting in appearance. The details in the environments are very similar to those found in other horror-survival games giving an incredible sense of realism. The framerates are high in all of the game. In some places there may be a glitch for a micro second, but nothing annoying to spoil the gameplay. cutscenes (in-game movies) use the 3d models in the game with the in-game engine for the animations , so they tie together with the gameplay elements without any interruption. It all flows together nicely. Most of the time, you can skip the cutscenes, but I recommend you watch them at least once to get the story.
Sound:
Run Like Hell features some of the best voice acting that there is in a video game. Featuring well known actors such as Clancy Brown and Lance Henrikson, the feeling in the words is well conveyed and the story doesn't come across as sci-fi cheese. The sound effects are also equally well done, giving a sense of realism and fear. Really good Dolby Digital 5.1 sound, enhances the illusion of being on the space station.
Gameplay:
Storyline is complex and keeps you guessing throughout the entire game and has an unexpected ending. The game has downloadable content from Xbox Live, like exclusive mini-games and skins. Camera angles can be paned around the room, but the camera always resets itself to right behind you whenever you perform any actions. This can become deadly when being ambushed. To avoid this, one can deploy hit-and-run tactics. The game automatically targets the enemy nearest, but you can also manually cycle through enemies. You can save the game anywhere, but only the things done up to a checkpoint are saved. So to save everything you have done, just go to a checkpoint and save there. The designers probably didn't want the player to cheat?
Overall:
The game is immersive and entertaining simply because it has a good storyline and in-game movies with good voice-acting that keep you wanting to know how the story ends. In-game movies using the in-game engine, are well done and pretty to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..., July 9, 2003
By 
Ryan Weber (Duluth, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox (Video Game)
Run Like Hell is made by Interplay, a US company.
I have played DeusEx and Noone Lives For Ever on the PC. They are both First person adventure games. As we all know PC graphics cards are superior to any of the game consoles. The graphics in RLH is just as good and better than the graphics in those games. RLH is 3rd person with a camera angle close from behind but it almost looks like a first person adventure. Personally I prefer first person view, but Interplay makes tons of good RPG games where the player interacts with non-player characters the player can control. But RLH still feels like first person because the camera is so close behind the player character. It is easy to pan the camera simultaneously while running and moving around. The people who have problems with the controls are in my opinion physically very uncoordinated. If you don't believe the graphics are good, just go to your local video store and play a tutorial session in Run Like Hell.
I read so much untrue garbage about RLH; I begin to wonder if people are deliberately malicious. It is a Sci-Fi game with very good graphics. It isn't 100% verbatim copy of the real world, but the game world is very believable and you immerse yourself into the story. The story and acting is good. There are flaws, but they are not irritatingly visible and don't take away from the story.
Game play is easy; most enemies can be killed with your rifle. Be sure to upgrade it to max power, or use cheat codes to get max power. But this game is all about the story. A few puzzles are sophisticated and original, but most puzzles are easy. There are no more than 20 key codes in the game for doors, elevators, computers, airlocks and control panels etc. You don't have to look far for the codes. If you enter every room on your way, you automatically find all codes as every place to look have exclamation marks marking their spot. Many doors are jammed making it very few rooms to enter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *Best Third Person game On Xbox**, April 20, 2003
By 
This review is from: Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox (Video Game)
This is the best game i own, and i have a pretty impressive library (Halo, Splinter Cell...). The graphics are amazing, and it has one hell of a battle engine. True, the story is like alot of games, you knew, guys with powerful guns running around, shooting aliens, but the rest of the game completly makes up for it. The aliens come in the barrelful, and if you play it with the lights off at midnight, theres a large chance you will wet yuorself. This game gets an eleven out of ten. GREAT GAME, and its only $...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars based on PS2 Version........, September 3, 2004
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox (Video Game)
Bought out of a bargain bin, I actually found a small treasure. Yeah the graphics for this game cannot compare to some others, but it more than makes up for that in gameplay and story. It is repetative at times, but you can't just go into every battle with guns blazing. There are times when you do have stop and plan a strategy.

I love the real voice acting. It was fun trying to figure out where you heard those voices before. Also the rock music comes on a erfect times during gameplay and gives a whole new feeling to the action. If you ever get a chance, listen to "Breaking Benjamin" the band in the game.

This is not one of the best action games out there, but it is definatelty above average and in my opinion worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ho-hum, June 30, 2013
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox (Video Game)
Bad graphics,boring storyline. One of the worst games I've ever played. Wasted my money and any amount of time I spent playing this horrible travesty. Wish Icould travel back in time and NOT order this disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Old but pretty good for the time in which it came out, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox (Video Game)
Good game for 10 years ago but not what I expected I guess considering the advancements in Gaming and Graphics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible game that didn't get what it deserved, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox (Video Game)
I love it, it's awesome, i am very pleased, what can I say, get this cause it is totally great. get this game, it's a blast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 8, 2014
This review is from: Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox (Video Game)
A+++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The XBOX just has better titles instead of this., March 21, 2003
By 
"charliekkkk" (Boise, Idaho, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox (Video Game)
This game ws released on PS2 in August 2002. Now, it comes to XBOX. Obviously, the graphics are much better, but the cannot hold against Splinter Cell. The game is your basic third-peron shooter. You are fighting against aliens. However, there are quite a few camera issues. The variety of guns is not phenomenal, but there are quite a few.
The newest addition here is XBOX LIVE support. It does not really do much, though. You will be alble to download new levels, but there is no online multiplayer.
Overall, the game is just okay. Brute force comes out this Summer, and that already plays a lot better. It is not bad, but there are certiantly better games on the market. If you want to fight aliens, there's HALO. For survival-horror, there is SILENT HILL 2. For a third-person-shooter, there is the upcoming BRUTE FORCE. For Onilne Play, there is GHOST RECON. For graphics, there is SPLINTER CELL. The point is, every one of RLH's strengths is done better by a different game. Only but if you really want another shooter. If it comes out on Gamecube, maybe it will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Run Like Hell Hunt or Be Hunted - Xbox
$29.99 $24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.