Customer Reviews


326 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See! Don't Let Anyone Talk You Out Of It!
Contrary to what some might say this movie is wonderfully romantic as well as well written. It may be predictable but the acting and the dialog make for a movie well worth your time to see. Unlike most movies today Runaway Bride, has no sex scenes or other trash Hollywood uses to get ratings. Good show for everyone!
Published on January 2, 2000 by Serena

versus
19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Runaway Bride
This film reunited Julia Roberts and Richard Gere in a film that is more of a miss than a hit. The plot isn't that well developed feeling contrived and boring at times. The music is the only bright spot, and it is a must have. The chemistry that Roberts and Gere are so well known for is sadly missing. They looked like they weren't even having fun making it. Even the...
Published on March 22, 2008 by Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See! Don't Let Anyone Talk You Out Of It!, January 2, 2000
By 
Serena (Montrose Colorado) - See all my reviews
Contrary to what some might say this movie is wonderfully romantic as well as well written. It may be predictable but the acting and the dialog make for a movie well worth your time to see. Unlike most movies today Runaway Bride, has no sex scenes or other trash Hollywood uses to get ratings. Good show for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, I really give it about 50 bazillion stars, but..., November 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Runaway Bride (VHS Tape)
This is such a great movie! Okay, now, I guess I am a little partial because I do adore romantic comedies. Runaway Bride has the most romantic ending I've ever seen in a movie (with the exception of An Affair to Remember, nobody can beat that). I absolutely loved it! I was even amazed at how clean the movie was compared to other Hollywood romantic trash. I'd buy this movie now and you can bet that as soon as that price drops, I'll be adding it to my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, January 16, 2000
By A Customer
Runaway Bride was definately a #1 movie to me! Finally, I could watch a clean and romantic film with two of my favorite stars. There were so many moments where I laughed out loud because of the comedy thrown in this film. There was even a part where I cried with joy. If any of you care for a fun, clean, funny, and romantic movie, then this is for you. I thought that this was much better than Notting Hill which seemed to have a lot of depressing moments in it. Runaway Bride had happy and funny moments throughout the entire film. This is worth checking out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of a kind!, January 8, 2000
Enough already with the vulgar nonsense that almost all the movies these days have! This one is even better then Notting Hill! It was very cute, it was reserved though, no sexual content or nasty language, Julia Roberts and Richard Gere once again, pair up as a great couple in a wonderful movie! I would suggest this to anyone of any age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One gut-wrenching laugh after another...., March 19, 2000
By 
"kidinterrupted" (Peabody, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Runaway Bride (VHS Tape)
Journalist Ike Graham (Richard Gere) is desperate for a column - as a matter of fact, he has to submit one to his editor (Rita Wilson) in less than 90 minutes. So, when a drunken gentleman in a bar hears his dilemna, he offers the story of a woman in his hometown who has this tendency to leave men at the altar, at the last possible moment. With an extra minute or two of research, he submits a column degrading this "runaway bride" as a "maneater" just in time for publication. Meanwhile, back in little town USA, Hale, MD, the "runaway bride" (Julia Roberts) reads the column and her complaints of inaccuracy result in Ike's termination. With the help of best friend and editor's husband, Fisher (Hector Elizondo), Ike heads down to Hale, MD to find out the truth. Hence, the movie "Runaway Bride" continues in such a hysterical fashion that you are prone to laugh approximately every 30 seconds for the remainder of this 2 hour movie. Director Garry Marshall manages to nearly exceed his stint 10 years ago directing Gere, Roberts and Elizondo in "Pretty Woman" by developing each character to the hilt, giving us little quirks of each one to think about continuously. Gere and Roberts attain the same level of chemistry as before but, this time, they have help from Peggy Fleming, owner of the beauty parlor (Joan Cusack, in yet another role of amazing hilarity), Mrs. Pressman, the owner of the town diner (an adorable minor role, perfected by Jane Morris), the I-shouldn't-be-single single cousin Cindy (Kathleen Marshall, with one of the best one-liners in the movie), and Betty Trout, the owner of the town bakery (an exceedingly funny Laurie Metcalf, formerly of TV's 'Roseanne'). Of course, to not mention Maggie's father, the alcoholic Walter (Paul Dooley) and her sex-obsessed grandma (Jean Schertler) would be a sin. Overall, Marshall assembled the best supporting cast of 1999, making for one crazy, funny movie with an adorable plot, not to mention an incredible soundtrack with classics by U2, Billy Joel, and Hall and Oates, as well as new songs by Shawn Colvin, Eric Clapton, Martina McBride, and 2 songs by grammy goddesses, the Dixie Chicks. Let's put it this way: this movie is perfect. Please don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julia and Richard Are back!, June 8, 2000
By 
This movie is so cute and romantic. Bless the director of this film for bringing Julia And Richard back together again. This movie if so wonderful from start to finish and it will make you feel so special. If you loved "Pretty Woman" then hang on to your seats because Runaway Bride will capture your heart. 5 stars all the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cute, funny romantic romp., December 6, 1999
What a good movie. It wasn't the best movie ever made, but it was a nice little cute funny movie that really had nothing offensive and everyone from any age could watch. Julia Roberts gives one of her best (and funniest) performances as a woman who just cannot seem to marry a guy and everytime she is at the altar shys away and runs. Richard Gere hears about her (he is a journalist for a newspaper) and is sent in to write a story on this "Runaway Bride". Things go well at first, but he thinks he may be falling in love with her and vice versa. The acting was fantastic, the screenplay written well and at time very funny. Joan Cusack gives an outstanding performance (as usual) and Roberts and Gere have never been more likable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, Romantic & a Breath of Fresh Air!, February 20, 2000
By 
For those people who disliked this film so vehemently, I suggest you read a plot summary/review of the next film you rent/buy so you have some idea of what you will be watching! How could you NOT know that this was a romantic comedy with a "predictible" ending before you watched it? And if you didn't like either Roberts or Gere, why did you rent it in the first place? Unlike most romantic comedies that start brightly and fade quickly, "Bride" delivers from beginning to end. Well-edited, it is light-hearted, sweet and oh-so-funny! The comment made by Hector Elanzo about the Fed-Ex truck gave me the healthiest belly-laugh I've had in ages! And there are more like that! Humor is personal, but this is just darn cute! The chemistry between Roberts and Gere is real! They are beautiful together, AND as has been mentioned before, without swearing up a storm and rolling naked in the sheets! And you STILL know they love each other! That's romance! We need more of that! As for the predictability, we go to the movies to have our emotions manipulated and to be entertained! If you're going for another reason, save your money! The supporting cast is excellent - Rita Wilson, Hector Elanzo, Joan Cusak and a host of other small but necessary bits of brightness in an already starry look at the bittersweet but inevitable search for love ! As one of Julia's fiancees says, "There's a lid for every pot!" Watching this optimistic rollercoaster ride gives hope to all of us who believe that it CAN happen! And even if it doesn't, you'll have a smile on your face for 2 hours. AND there is actually some substance to this story - real messages about how men and women should feel about themselves BEFORE they can say they really love someone else! The ending? Anyone who would want it any other way needs to have his or her head examined! Oh, one more thing - you can even watch this movie with children in the room! They won't understand everything! But there is absolutely nothing offensive! I'm a teacher - you can trust me on that! "Runaway Bride" is a small joy in an otherwise cynical world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Runaway Bride, May 27, 2006
This review is from: Runaway Bride (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Runaway Bride will forever be a classic. It is one of those movies you have to buy on DVD because you can watch it over and over. It`s a perfect movie to watch for whatever mood you're in.

Having been to the town of Berlin, Maryland, also known as Hale in the movie, it brings out the small town feel. The movie perfectly captures this and makes you feel like another town's person. All the little shops such as the hair cutter, "Curl Up and Die", are so adorable and make you wish that you too were from a small town.

Richard Gere and Julia Roberts are also great for the movie. The big businessman chasing the small town girl is such an entertaining story line. Although they are so different, they are perfect for each other.

Another thing I really enjoyed about the movie was seeing Julia's old wedding videos and then having Richard visit the men.

Overall, it is such at charming movie. I would recommend it to all ages and it is defiantly worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, sexy and sometimes laugh out loud funny!, July 31, 2000
DVD is definitely the way to go on this movie. You will want to instantly play back all those deliciously romantic scenes where Maggie Carpenter (played by Julia Roberts) and Ike Graham (played by Richard Gere) melt the screen with their magical chemistry. This is a movie for those who want to find their soul mate, who want to walk on the beach in the rain and who know that there is one perfect person out there.

The only problem is, we are all human, and like all humans we have some inherent flaw. For Maggie, it is running from the altar. She simply cannot go through with the wedding and either runs, rides a horse or escapes by some other creative means. The variety with which each wedding scene was played out gave the movie a feel of intense creativity.

There was more going on in this movie than you would ever imagine on the first viewing. While I recommend you watch the movie first, the director Gary Marshall's narration and sense of humor in the commentary version is not to be missed. You will so enjoy seeing how the movie was made, what scenes were cut out and why some of the ideas were carried through the movie, e.g. the "bell" theme. I literally watched the movie and then watched it again in the commentary version.

On occasion, you do find a great romantic comedy the whole family can enjoy. If only more movies were made this way! Julia's smile and the superbly creative script gave this movie a good dose of down home appeal. You really would not mind living in this town, it is so cute. The outdoor scenes are gorgeous and great effort went into making sure everything looked perfect. Don't worry about the guys, this movie has plenty of sports scenes for them and Maggie's fourth husband to be is a sport fan and coach.

While being pulled into imagining how Maggie and Ike will get together, you start to care about the characters. The development of the characters takes great acting, great writing and superb directing. This movie has all three. The one part of the movie I did think was strange was the part where Maggie has kept all the engagement rings. That to me would not happen too often in real life, but we women enjoyed seeing them nonetheless. To be truthful, women have secret desires which are revealed in parts of this movie. Gary Marshall says in his commentary that part of a relationship is learning from each other and becoming a better person. That is what I loved about this movie. The characters fight for each other, their friends are there for them through the good and the bad times and they accept that no one is perfect.

The movie starts out with Maggie literally bolting from her wedding on a horse and then with Ike Graham trying to finish writing an article for his newspaper column in New York. He meets an interesting character who tells him all about a girl from Hale, Maryland who they call the Runaway Bride. After reading his column, Maggie writes a witty, humorous letter and in no time Ike is on the road to her town to get the real story. Convinced he will catch her running from the next wedding, he accidently falls under her spell. One of the best lines in the film is when Maggie is not interested in talking to Ike and simply says: "I'd love to stay and chat, but I still have my job." This bantering is so amusing and I loved the playful scenes, which if you watch all the way to the end of the credits, you will see another one!

I thought the music was very appropriate for each scene. Yes, there was some very familiar music, but that made the movie more fun. There were also a host of familiar actors which gave the movie a sense of "I know these people!" I loved the slapstick and the quirky facial expressions of Maggie's best friend. There are some great "girl talk" moments as friends tell each other honestly how they feel.

Julia Roberts brings a childlike joy to this movie and her smile is worth the cost of this DVD! Richard Gere has never looked better! Then there are also scenes with a cat which to me shows Ike's sensitive nature. He is not too sensitive however to stand up for Maggie and also go after what he wants in life. This is definitely going to be on my list of favorite romantic comedies. Yes, you might guess the ending...but don't be so sure. Just when you think the movie is over, it begins again! Gary Marshall has quite a sense of humor and it shows. I laughed throughout this movie, I felt what the characters were feeling and I loved the plot.

~The Rebecca Review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa42acbdc)

This product

Runaway Bride (Widescreen Edition)
Runaway Bride (Widescreen Edition) by Garry Marshall (DVD - 2000)
$9.98 $5.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.