Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Horrifyingly Endearing Story - Perfect for Halloween!
This parody of Margaret Wise Brown's classic The Runaway Bunny is the story of a rotten little mummy who wants to run away from his Mother Mummy. "If you run away," she says, "I will get you! For you are my rotten little mummy!"

The little mummy goes on to tell his mother all sorts of monstrous creatures he will turn into if she tries to get him. When he says...
Published on September 11, 2009 by JBebe

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Got as a Halloween Gift
Got as a Halloween present for family friends who do not like their children to have candy. If you are thinking of buying it for your kids, I would recommend just checking it out from the library. Our family is full of avid readers and this is not one that was asked for repeatedly. There are just too many high quality children's books that this one is not worth purchasing.
Published 10 months ago by anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Horrifyingly Endearing Story - Perfect for Halloween!, September 11, 2009
This review is from: Runaway Mummy: A Petrifying Parody (Hardcover)
This parody of Margaret Wise Brown's classic The Runaway Bunny is the story of a rotten little mummy who wants to run away from his Mother Mummy. "If you run away," she says, "I will get you! For you are my rotten little mummy!"

The little mummy goes on to tell his mother all sorts of monstrous creatures he will turn into if she tries to get him. When he says he'll become a "humongous beast that tramples everything in [his] way," Mother Mummy responds, "If you become a humongous beast, I will become a sky-high monster with razor-sharp claws to tickle you!"

The illustrations are crisp and colorful and fun to look at. While in The Runaway Bunny there are two pages of black and white sketches accompanied by words, followed by a full-spread color illustration, The Runaway Mummy is all in color.

This whimsical story is super cute in a freakish way, showing to what ends a Mother Mummy would go to show her love for her rotten little mummy. There is a fun twist at the end, but you must read it yourself to find out what!

This adorable book and last year's Goodnight Goon: A Petrifying Parody by the same author are PERFECT for Halloween and are wonderful gifts for fans of Margaret Wise Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Seasonal Read, October 26, 2009
By 
This review is from: Runaway Mummy: A Petrifying Parody (Hardcover)
Once there was a little mummy who wanted to run away. "If you run away," said Mother Mummy, "I will get you! For you are my rotten little mummy!"

In Runaway Mummy, a little mummy gets in trouble and he begins an imaginary game running away and being chased by his mother. The Mommy Mummy doesn't flinch when her bad boy transforms into lots of incredible creature: a serpent, a gargoyle, a huge bat, and a beast. It is only when the little mummy threatens to turn into a little boy that that Mommy Mummy begins to scream!!! If he is a little boy, that means: karate lessons, piano lessons, Spanish lessons, and more. How would he ever have time to be rotten?

Complete with beautiful colorful illustrations, this is one book, I think, that children will be asking to have read to them over and over again. If you enjoyed this author's 2008 book: Goodnight Goon, you are sure to enjoy this new book too. A perfect Halloween treat. RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Runaway Bunny's" soft and sweet story retold in a outrageously, monstrous, non-threatening-scary, mummy fashion., September 5, 2011
Just like the bunny in Margaret Wise Brown's classic "The Runaway Bunny", a little mummy wants to run away. And just like the mother bunny, Mother Mummy demonstrates her love by telling her child what she will do if he runs away. Little Mummy goes on to tell his mother what action he will take if she does what she says she will do. Naturally, this is all done in an outrageously, monstrous, mummy fashion instead of "The Runaway Bunny's" soft and sweet bunny style. Still, "The Runaway Mummy" never loses the core message of a mother's love.

"If you turn into a serpent," said Mother Mummy, "I will become a sea monster that will wrap around you and never let go."

As the story moves forward, Michael Rex continues to demonstrate the mother's love. For example, she will keep her son warm, she will feed him, and she will watch over him forever.

The story and the characters are funny. Each page is loaded with fantastic illustrations, detailing lots of action and surprises. The mummies and the creatures that they become are colorful, cute, and non-threatening scary. I love that a hint of mummy wrapping remains around the face and head of each of the creatures they become. The mother creatures always wear her hat and collar. The little mummy creatures always wear his hat.

I also love the comical side comments that the little mummy makes. The surprise ending is very funny, and the last page is "bunny" soft and sweet in a funny mummy sort of way.

Butterfly Kisses for Grandma and Grandpa (Mom's Choice and Independent Publisher Awards Recipient)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Halloween Tale!, October 24, 2014
What will one loving Mother Mummy do to keep her own special, rotten little mummy from running away from home? She'll squeeze, tickle, shriek, and follow him from the highest mountaintop to the deepest ocean. In this petrifying parody, no sea serpent is too terrifying, no ravenous plant is too horrifying, no humongous beast is too ghastly- this mother will stop at nothing keep her little one safe, well-fed, and rotten. That nice family of bunnies may give her a bit of a scare, though. If you love Margaret Wise Brown's Runaway Bunny, Michael Rex's Runaway Mummy should definitely be on your shelf.

Happy Halloween everybody! Last year, my mom gave me Michael Rex's Goodnight Goon to read to my kids, and just today, The Runaway Mummy came mysteriously in the mail. I suspect my mother, or possibly my sister. Whoever it was, I am overjoyed to have collection of Halloween parodies of Margaret Wise Brown's classic and beloved picture books completed. I read it to my kids tonight, and they loved it. There are a lot of parodies out there, and lots of them are terrible. This one is great, in part because the original is great, and Michael Rex has done a great job of sticking as close to the original formula as possible. Plus, it gave my little family a chance to discuss the meaning of the word cathedral, which is vocabulary building as well as cultural and religious education. Excellent evening!
http://childrensbooksonadime.wordpress.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Got as a Halloween Gift, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Runaway Mummy: A Petrifying Parody (Hardcover)
Got as a Halloween present for family friends who do not like their children to have candy. If you are thinking of buying it for your kids, I would recommend just checking it out from the library. Our family is full of avid readers and this is not one that was asked for repeatedly. There are just too many high quality children's books that this one is not worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Freakishly Funny Parody, November 19, 2013
The Runaway Mummy is a parody of Margaret Brown's classic children's book The Runaway Bunny. It's a charming tale of a rotten little mummy who threatens to his mother that he is going to runaway. In the same vein as Brown's classic, the little mummy tells his mother all of the terrible creatures that he is going to turn into to get away, and the mother responds in kind by telling him the things she will turn into in turn. Like Brown's original, The Runaway Mummy illustrates the lengths that a mummy will go to to protect and show here little mummy how much she loves him. And the fun little twist at the end will leave parents chuckling.

The parody is whimsical but just freakish enough to be a charming Halloween tale for young children. Rex's illustrations are delightful and charming and draw on the whimsy of the fantastically frightful creatures that are mummies. And be sure to look for the "guest" appearance of another adorable creature from one of Michael Rex's parodies lurking at a window.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever parody, beautiful illustrations., September 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son loves this book!!!! He isn't very familiar with the original, but I find it far more enjoyable to read. The pictures are so vivid & detailed & the descriptions so funny. In one of image, a character from the author's other book, Good Night Goon, is visible, which inevitably makes my son laugh & ask to read that book next. I highly recommend. Very goofy & fun. I think he will only enjoy it more as he grows up & learns what more of the words mean (he's almost 2 right now).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definite buy!, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just as cute as Goodnight Goon. My 4 year old loves both! Will definitely be looking for more work from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterically funny, November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Considering that I have the ORIGINAL Runaway Bunny memorized, The Runaway Mummy was just hysterical!! I love how in every illustration the mother mummy's caring and love is apparent. Very comforting, even if they ARE mummies, and other kinds of monsters. The mummy's mommy LOVES him, and you can see the love in her illustrated eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teacher Approved, October 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is full of enriching vocabulary and bright illustrations. The story is easy for kids to relate too and it is also quite funny! My first grade class and second grade daughter really enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Runaway Mummy: A Petrifying Parody
Runaway Mummy: A Petrifying Parody by Michael Rex (Hardcover - August 20, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.