Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent RPG for a different fantasy feel than D&D
This new version of the RuneQuest fantasy role-playing game is a great toolbox for you to build adventures on a human scale. It is not level-based, it provides just enough rules for you to run the game without bothering with sub-rules, sub-sub-rules and rules exceptions which could potentially bog it down rather than making it "more realistic" (whatever that may mean in a...
Published on January 23, 2007 by Benoist Poire

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3rd edition
This is the latest incarnation of "Runequest," and, in most ways is a worthy successor to the game. It has most of the details, with some minor changes to the various components, that attracted players to the previous editions. Unfortunately, it lacks grounding in the Gloranthan universe that the earlier two editions had, so that many of its revolutionary ideas do not...
Published on July 14, 2009 by Gregory Kuntz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent RPG for a different fantasy feel than D&D, January 23, 2007
This review is from: RuneQuest: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
This new version of the RuneQuest fantasy role-playing game is a great toolbox for you to build adventures on a human scale. It is not level-based, it provides just enough rules for you to run the game without bothering with sub-rules, sub-sub-rules and rules exceptions which could potentially bog it down rather than making it "more realistic" (whatever that may mean in a fantasy role-playing game of make-believe).

RuneQuest allows its users to make it their "own". A rule you dislike? Change it! It doesn't take a master's degree in mathematics to design house-rules that would fit the game's tone.

It allows for the use of various compatible game settings, the first two being Greg Stafford's Glorantha and Fritz Leiber's Lankhmar. There will be more, that much is certain.

So to summarize: simple, yet efficient rules system, easy to modify, deserved by great settings you can use as inspirations to create you own or as guidebooks to play in flavorful universes. What more could you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great system, weak presentation, August 15, 2006
This review is from: RuneQuest: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
The RuneQuest system is a good alternative for people looking to play a more realistic and gritty style of fantasy RPG. It's more Robert E. Howard and less J.R.R. Tolkien. It's been around since the early days of D&D, and had elegant, simple rules long before D&D got around to streamlining its own system.

Unfortunately, this latest release of the game by Mongoose leaves something to be desired. While the game system remains solid, the presentation is somewhat weak. The book is nicely hardbound, and the production standards are better than most "indie" publishers, but it's still a far cry from the d20 books. Typo's abound, and the book is unsatisfyingly slim at less than a third of the content of its equivalent volume from the d20 system. And while it's true that this book presents the core rule set, you'll probably have to pick up some of the other volumes in order to get the real RuneQuest experience. (And even then, you'll have to flip back and forth between books to reference things. It was a poor choice to split the books between "core" and "companion" instead of "player" and "referee," in my opinion.) So, you won't be buying this product for the production values.

But you will be buying it for the system itself, which is the important thing. Most of the system features of the previous editions remain in this edition, but some have been streamlined, and some new features offer some interesting tactical choices during combat and incorporate features that players used to d20 will find familiar. A few cherished game mechanics from previous editions are gone, such as the experience checkboxes next to skills for easy advancement and the overall hit points in addition to location hit points, but most of the changes seem to be for the better and will likely speed up gameplay considerably.

Overall, the somewhat disappointing presentation is worth overlooking for the system beyond. And the fact that RuneQuest is being released under an open gaming license (not the same one as d20, but similar in philosophy) means that there will hopefully be a plethora of support materials available from other independent publishers, too...maybe even from you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's official: Dungeons & Dragons is obsolete, August 26, 2006
This review is from: RuneQuest: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
Admittedly, this is my first exposure to the RuneQuest system, and I like what I see. Sure there are typos and grammatical mistakes that make me go "huh?" and then amuse - rather than offend - me because it's easy enough to see the intention. This edition of RuneQuest will have me clearing out more of my old AD&D books as RuneQuest is simply the better engine for the ideas provided in those books. I feel confident I can run this with just the core rules. When the RuneQuest version of Diomin comes out, I might pick that up too. I can definitely see why OtherWorld Creations thinks RuneQuest is the better base for that setting than d20.

What I like:
-Not class or level based
-Explanation of the logic behind the roll low mechanic
-Weapons influenced by skills

What I don't like:
-Random character ability generation
-Separate rolls for attack and damage
-Every die shape known to man, except d30
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3rd edition, July 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RuneQuest: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
This is the latest incarnation of "Runequest," and, in most ways is a worthy successor to the game. It has most of the details, with some minor changes to the various components, that attracted players to the previous editions. Unfortunately, it lacks grounding in the Gloranthan universe that the earlier two editions had, so that many of its revolutionary ideas do not seem to come through as strongly. Glorantha was Runequest personified, and it really shines when it is put into that perspective. Without that view, the game system does not have the same allure. Still it is good to see it back in print, and I hope to see more books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, August 21, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RuneQuest: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
Just got this the other day and am already hip deep in world design and adventure planning. Almost makes me feel like the worlds of Moorcock, Howard and Lieber can actually finally be played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One more time., January 19, 2008
By 
Phillip Harte (The Arm pit of the America) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RuneQuest: Core Rulebook (Hardcover)
As some one who has played Rune Quest (or at least read each edition), I have to say it is both a pleasure and a disappointment to see yet another edition. Bak in the day of the 2nd edition, I might have said "well, you can't improve on it, it's just that good", and back then I did ditch AD&D in favor of this better system.

By forth edition, RQ was becomeing a bit clunky, with all the dice and charts, and soon better, and additional rules (Fatique, uggh!) smoother systems (Warhammer FRP 1st ed always struck me as what a more stream lined RQ, might have been).

Back then there was the aborted Rune Quest: Slayer- an edition that dumped everything RQ, for anew engine.

And now, With the new book, we are back at square one (two?), everything old is, it seems, is new again. The same clunky engine revamped a bit, but essentially the same, and nearly as good as new.

The system still far better then AD&D or any D20 varient, and certainly it stirs up a bit of nostelgia...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

RuneQuest: Core Rulebook
RuneQuest: Core Rulebook by Matthew Sprange (Hardcover - August 29, 2006)
$24.95 $20.25
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.