Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
This book is divided in two parts. First part, Historical Lore, presents a history of the runes in a more realistic, scientific view using examples form archaeology to support certain hypothesis of how the runes where invented (examples of runic writing with explanations are found throughout the book especially in the first part). The first 5 chapters of the book are...
Published on May 26, 2002 by Mihai N Anton

versus
30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A REVEIW FROM A BEGINNER FOR BEGINNERS
DON'T BUY THIS BOOK JUST YET!!!

I am new to Rune Studies and ordered the whole set of the author's "Series" on Runes. I got this one 1st and as anybody would hypothesize, I didn't enjoy reading it at all.

1. I don't know if it's just me or the author really does keep on repeating the same things he writes throughout the book. I'm not sure if he is...
Published on April 29, 2008 by Jhezper Driedfish


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, May 26, 2002
This review is from: Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes (Paperback)
This book is divided in two parts. First part, Historical Lore, presents a history of the runes in a more realistic, scientific view using examples form archaeology to support certain hypothesis of how the runes where invented (examples of runic writing with explanations are found throughout the book especially in the first part). The first 5 chapters of the book are chronologically organised and present the rune evolution from the oldest findings to the most recent ones (modern age actually). Chapters 6, 7, 8 try to explain the utility of runes for the old norse (or for other civilisations who took the runes from the old Norse) and also give written examples which try to explain the runes. Especially useful are chapters 6 and 7, which try to explain the runes and the runic inscriptions. The second part, Hidden Lore, uses a philosophical and psychological approach to explain the runes. Chapter 9 is especially useful and probably the most important chapter within the book because here all the runes are explained in great detail (beginning with page 114 and ending with 141 is a very essence of the book). Chapters 10 is also useful because it shows the cosmological view of the Old Norse and the connection with the runes (24 pathways between the 9 worlds, 24 runes). Chapters 11, 12 display even more information about the runes and the way of thinking of the Old Norse. The last chapter, 13, has a nice description of the gods of the old Norse but this chapter lacks the great detail which is found in the other chapter (this last chapter give some helpful hints but is more like a conclusion of the book, the good ending).
This book is pretty good, and that's why I gave it 5 stars but in truth it deserved 4 stars because it lacks the really deep explanations of the Old Norse's way of thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched, March 5, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes (Paperback)
Thorsson easily escapes the major trap that most "Pagan Revivalists" fall into in regards to ancient religion, that of not knowing jack squat about the subject. Runelore provides a much more historically based arguement for the cultic use of runes than any other work currently available. There is ample historical backing to his other arguements, and they are concise and clearly presented. Thorsson is well beyond the "Blank Rune" or "Celtic Rune" level that other "Runesters" wallow in, though his Ogham book perhaps stretched it a bit. In this book, Thorsson may have carried his Odhinn centered tendencies a bit too far, even going contrary to the evidence in declaring Loki, Baldr, and Heimdal to be hypostases of Odhinn. However, Runelore should be interesting even to Teutonic Historians, as Thorsson can safely speculate beyond the limits of scholarly propriety, and therefore show us how the ancient Germans may have actually percieved the Universe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Advanced Runic Ideas!, June 18, 2010
This review is from: Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes (Paperback)
Well, I figured there would be enough people out there talking up the works of Edred so that I would not have to, but I see that I am wrong... Ahem!

Probably the main source of resistance to this book is the fact that it demands a great deal out of the reader. Edred makes no secret out of the fact that this book is meant to be read in concert with other rune books (such as "The Runecaster's Handbook" or "The Nine Doors of Midgard") and almost seems to be an apology for the shortcomings of "Futhark" which (by the author's own admission) are many. However, what you will get in this book is something that you will probably not find anywhere else in the mainstream book world: an academic discussion not only of the history of the runes, but also their place in myth and magic (for those of you who do not know, Edred Thorsson has a PhD in Germanic languages in addition to founding his own initiatory Rune Gild). This book provides many valuable insights and important keys to the use of the runes, but it is not meant for the passer-by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!, January 4, 2000
By 
This review is from: Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes (Paperback)
By far the best book on runic metephysics ever written and by far exceeds the quality of any book on runes. Throw your Ralph Blum books and pop this one open......you will see why! Hail Odin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A indepth reader, December 3, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes (Paperback)
This book is not for the light hearted, it is very detailed in the mystery of the runa and the gods that made and worked them. Some think this work is satanic and if your not used to the myths of the old gods or if your biased in belief of religion you may think that.
Edred is a scholar in the ancient ways of the germanic tribes and although this book is PACKED with information he can be long winded sometimes.
Covers everything from the origins of the runes to creating your own runes and spells.
So if you want to do some serious reading and thinking this is the book, if you want a light over view youl be better off passing this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A REVEIW FROM A BEGINNER FOR BEGINNERS, April 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes (Paperback)
DON'T BUY THIS BOOK JUST YET!!!

I am new to Rune Studies and ordered the whole set of the author's "Series" on Runes. I got this one 1st and as anybody would hypothesize, I didn't enjoy reading it at all.

1. I don't know if it's just me or the author really does keep on repeating the same things he writes throughout the book. I'm not sure if he is doing this to refresh your memory (if you need this "refreshment" you'd probably be suffering from memory gap since you'd read the same thing in 5 to 10 minutes of going through the book). I feel like if some of the things he kept on repeating over and over would be cut-off, you'd end up with the book being 1/3 thinner.

2. The structure of how the book was written isn't reader-friendly for a beginner. To understand some of the things he's written on the first few chapters (and increasing in each chapter you get to), you'd have to look at the glossary and appendixes by the end of the book just to understand (or even just have a vague idea) what he is saying.

3. As a beginner, the first thing you'd probably look for is the chapter which describes each stave's meaning, since you bought the book to understand those peculiar signs right? With this book, you'd end up being either confused of tired. It gets a bit too wordy and even if you have Einstein's IQ, you'll feel like some of the things he say on the same paragraph just don't connect to each other. You'd probably need more experience on Runes to be able to get what he's trying to say (or not).

4. There are some portions where you'd feel like flipping to the end of the book just to see if you'd find a raffle coupon for a free membership to his Rune Gild. I can't help but feel that he is actually advertising the group.

5. For people familiar with the Cabbala Tree, one section of the book seems a bit "off" as his diagram of Yggdrassill (diagram 10.7) is strikingly familiar. The only difference being - Cabbala has 28 paths while the author removed 4 paths (Missing are: Vanaheimer to Niflheimr; Niflheimr to Totunheimer; Totunheimer to Muspelllsheimer and Muspellsheimer to Vanaheimr) to end up with 24 paths = number of Elder Futhark Runes?

All in all, the "historical" part of the book really helps for beginners like me (but since I'm a beginner, I don't know if all those historical "facts" are actual facts).

I guess I got the book at the wrong time and surely my knowledge isn't enough to grasp the ideas he is trying to put out. In short, if you are a beginner, don't buy this yet.

====

Update: May 8, 2008:

I received the other books and my suggestion on how to go through his series is:

1. Runecater's Handbook - The Well of the Wyrd

2. Futhark

3 ... then this book ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Vitki, December 31, 2002
This review is from: Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes (Paperback)
This one maybe a little too complicated for the beginner. But the true Vitki will love this one i bet. There is nothing satanic in this book as a few others have claimed. This book goes into the rune and gives you the inner vision of the power of each rune. This is a great companion to his other book Futhark. Both are great and accurate. Edred Thorsson is a true master of his craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars is not enough this book deserves 5, December 25, 2010
This review is from: Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes (Paperback)
I feel that this book should be on the shelves of every Runologist and practitioner of the Asatru Troth. Why?

-It gives a detailed account of the historical origins of Runes from the Norse, the Germanic Tribes, and the Angel-Sachsens.
-It is consistent with the Havamal, the Eddas, and Voluspa.
-Gives a detailed account of Ginnungagap, the Asatru Pantheon, and Yggdrasil.
-Provides a detailed description of all the Futhorks and their esoteric significance.

This book merits more than 4 stars for it is a scholastic masterpiece and an intellectually honest account of Asatru.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The standard for learning the runes..., January 15, 2013
This review is from: Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes (Paperback)
This and Futhark are the books to read to learn about the runes. All other books should be gauged according to the information in these two books to determine accuracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable and informative read, January 10, 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes (Paperback)
Runelore is an esoteric text on runework that is more
leaning towards Thorsson's personal ideas on the subject,
but he presents these ideas readably, eloquently, and with
adequate support for his findings. A recommended read for
the runester!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes
Runelore: The Magic, History, and Hidden Codes of the Runes by Edred Thorsson (Paperback - May 1, 1987)
$18.95 $13.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.