Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive and easy to read, with wonderful illustrations.
This is a book that strives to give the runner an understanding of human anatomy and the mechanics of running. The authors have linked the two in such a way that the reader gains a true knowledge and appreciation of the timing and intricacies involved in something that seems so outwardly simplistic, yet is anything but.

Examples of just how thorough a book this...
Published on February 15, 2010 by Gregory Ng

versus
15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Too Technical For Me
I was super excited to get this one. I've been a somewhat serious runner since 1994, running moderate distances (anywhere from three to seven miles at a clip) and have recently returned to a regular running schedule after a six month hiatus. I figured a more technical text would give me the edge to improve my speed and distances.

Unfortunately, this one is a...
Published on June 3, 2010 by Blake Fraina


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive and easy to read, with wonderful illustrations., February 15, 2010
This review is from: Running Anatomy (Paperback)
This is a book that strives to give the runner an understanding of human anatomy and the mechanics of running. The authors have linked the two in such a way that the reader gains a true knowledge and appreciation of the timing and intricacies involved in something that seems so outwardly simplistic, yet is anything but.

Examples of just how thorough a book this is are found in Chapters 4 and 11. These two chapters discuss how outside influences in the running cycle (shoe mechanics, uneven ground reactive forces, differences in terrain, etc...) have a direct effect on the biomechanics of running. Providing an in-depth explanation of the internal and external mechanics of the running cycle. At the same time, like the rest of the book, these chapters are written in a way that is both very easy to understand and absorb.

Together with wonderful illustrations and thorough easy to understand descriptions, both Joe Puleo and Dr. Milroy have provided a great tool in helping the running enthusiast to improve his or her overall performance, fitness, and prevention of injury. Whilst at the same time gaining a better appreciation of the human body's form and function.

I highly recommend this book to any person who loves running. Whether it be novice or pro, short track to ultra distance, you will truly never look at this great sport/lifestyle again in the same way.

Dr. Gregory Ng
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent training resource, January 6, 2010
This review is from: Running Anatomy (Paperback)
This is a terrific resource depicting the connection between muscles and running. The illustrations are fantastic and have really helped my understanding of the whys and hows between the gym and the road. Will be a great asset to my training!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and useful, February 26, 2010
This review is from: Running Anatomy (Paperback)
This is a great book. If you want to understand *why* you are supposed to do various strengthening exercises and be able to make intelligent choices about which exercises would be most beneficial for you, you want this book. There is a lot of information on every page, but the organization and quality of the information make the information easy to process. Each exercise gets a page or two, with beautiful anatomical drawings and concise text describing how to do the exercise, the muscles involved, and the specific running benefits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - easy to understand and useful, January 1, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Running Anatomy (Kindle Edition)
This book is a gem. Style easy to understand, lot of details, great illustrations, this book offers a complete information what to do (and what to avoid) as a runner.
The introduction allows the runner to understand how his/her body functions and which parts are involved in the movement. After reading this book I understand the importance of developing the upper body because now I know the benefits of correct running form and how to maintain it.

I found particularly useful the part with weight exercises to strengthen the upper and lower body, and was surprised (but now I understand the principle) with some exercises that stipulated a greater number of repetitions with low weight. For example, when strengthening the upper arm, long distance runners should avoid muscle gain and rather work on the muscle endurance because during the training and race, these muscles are solicited to help the legs to propel the runner forward. Added muscular mass would only be an added weight to carry for endurance runners. However, this would be OK for sprinters because these muscles would help them to run faster and for short distances it would not be a handicap.

Each exercise is described with a lot of details (which group of muscles it covers, how many repetitions, how to securely do the exercise, etc.) and the illustrations are in color and extremely well done. Each of them shows the muscles involved in exercises, starting and ending position, movement, variations, etc.

Another interesting part is the one with plyometric exercises - the one that help to develop power of running specific muscle groups thus improving the performance.

I would recommend this book to serious runners because of the information that allows them to know better their body and to improve their running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book !, November 9, 2010
By 
H. Crisford (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Running Anatomy (Paperback)
I was a little unsure what to expect from this book but must admit it's become a regular 'tool' for my training. For the past few years I feel like I'm constantly 'rehabbing' from various minor but annoying injuries. This book has helped me understand more clearly how things work and affect one another when not working properly.

Great tool for identifying the various area's that runners need to focus on and how to build the strength to achieve a powerful runner's stride.

Love it - highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great for fitness runners, November 9, 2010
By 
Stephen Pellerine (In a bookshelf somewhere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Running Anatomy (Paperback)
Think it is a great book for a runner - especially fitness runners that are interested in lifestyles that include a mix of cross training: the emphasis in this book will be strength training for running. There is a wide range of exercises presented with rationale for each. More experienced runners will have their ways established so may not get a lot of "new" from this, but from my experience more advanced athletes are more advanced because they have a keen interest in what they are doing, thus; the book is also a good read for pure interest sake.

Sometimes when I want a variation for a workout I flip through the pages just for ideas - I think it should be on the runners bookshelf - but not before books like Jeff Galloway's books or Tim Noak's.

Again - if you are purely a gym runner (non-event participant) this book may be best for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book!, September 7, 2010
By 
TN1965 (Missouri, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Running Anatomy (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for any runner who wants to design strength exercise for injury prevention and performance improvement. It explains how each muscle group works in our running, how they can be trained, and how that training improves our running. Exercises also explained with illustrations so that you can visualize how you are supposed to perform them. Most exercises also have alternatives that work on the same muscle group so that if you don't like a particular exercise, you can substitute it with another one that has similar benefits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any sports or general library catering to runners needs this approach, April 19, 2010
This review is from: Running Anatomy (Paperback)
RUNNING ANATOMY offers a fine illustrated guide to running strength and building endurance that focuses on improving such performance by increasing strength and optimizing running efficiency. Fifty of the most effective strength exercises for runners accompany step-by-step directions and anatomical illustrations showing these muscles in action. Any sports or general library catering to runners needs this approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, September 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Running Anatomy (Paperback)
As a massage therapist, I use this book daily, I actually have almost every book of the series. Because when you know exactly what muscles is used during certain activities, you can give more effective help during massage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all!, June 2, 2010
By 
S. Chen (Los Altos, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Running Anatomy (Paperback)
An excellent presentation of anatomy and how your muscles affect your running (and vice-versa). The muscle specific strength exercises are the key to this book w/good illustrations, step-by-step instructions, pointers on technique, and explanations of how the affected muscles impact your running. Highly recommended for anyone interested in running-specific strength training either for performance or rehabilitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Running Anatomy
Running Anatomy by Patrick Milroy (Paperback - December 15, 2009)
$19.95 $16.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.