Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive "to do" list and reality check for those who want to open a food truck
A surprisingly comprehensive book, akin to something I would see from Nolo Press. To get an idea of what's actually in the book itself, click on "look inside the book" at the top of the product page.

The book is basically a major "to do" list of all the things that you have to think about and address before you get started, including employee issues which are...
Published on December 10, 2012 by Cookbook Gal

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a mini-business seminar
This book strikes me as a work that is to business school what food trucks are to restaurants. It's kind of the same, but on a much, much smaller scale. There is a lot in this book that could/should have been left out and perhaps let the owner find info other places. And other topics are very skimpy - such as the actual food ideas. And what is in the book is a little on...
Published on September 19, 2012 by HuskerFan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive "to do" list and reality check for those who want to open a food truck, December 10, 2012
This review is from: Running a Food Truck For Dummies (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
A surprisingly comprehensive book, akin to something I would see from Nolo Press. To get an idea of what's actually in the book itself, click on "look inside the book" at the top of the product page.

The book is basically a major "to do" list of all the things that you have to think about and address before you get started, including employee issues which are really important, especially for a small business owner. Licenses, food safety, permits, etc., are covered. Don't be tempted to skip over anything if you are truly serious about starting this type of business because it may come back to haunt you. The author has done people a great service with this, because the food business is really hard, and unless you have a fire in your belly for it, save yourself the pain and frustration by not going into it in this way if you are not fully cognizant of what you are getting into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars useful guide for anyone thinking about starting a food truck, January 17, 2013
By 
C. Quinn (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running a Food Truck For Dummies (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I got this book because a friend has been talking up the idea of opening a food truck as a small business. Of course, he knows nothing about starting up a food truck or opening a small business of any kind, so seeing this book seemed providential. I have to say this book was a comprehensive introduction to the complicated reality of establishing a food truck and reading it certainly opened both out eyes about the need to give this process a LOT more thought and research. Highly recommended for anyone considering capitalizing on the recent food truck boon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Reality Check, September 25, 2012
This review is from: Running a Food Truck For Dummies (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I got this book on a whim: "Hey maybe I'll get a food truck; looks like fun." I was about half serious, but now I realize I must be a lot more than just half serious.

This book is extremely comprehensive. Though I don't believe the book alone can tell you ALL you need to know, it is more than enough of a checklist to help you navigate some aspects of running a food truck which you probably didn't consider.... but need to.

If you're thinking about running a food truck, this will be the very first or very last book you will buy; the first because if after reading it you still want to go ahead with the task, you'll know where to go to learn more. It will be the last if after reading it, you say "whew, never mind!"

Strongly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, straightforward, helpful!, September 20, 2012
This review is from: Running a Food Truck For Dummies (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This book really does simplify the logistics of starting a food truck business. It's full of helpful and useful information that is sure to help anyone who's looking to fulfill their culinary dreams, while having your own business. I found so many of the chapters essential with so many "little" things you might not ever consider. Definitely a must have if you're looking in to starting your own business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers Just About All The info You Need, September 20, 2012
This review is from: Running a Food Truck For Dummies (Paperback)
I give this book high marks for a comprehensive review of what you will need to start a Food Truck business. Every topic from how and where to buy/lease or rent, conceptual ideas on food and beverages, marketing, public relations, and social media. There is even an overview of guidelines and requirements required to sell food, with further info avail by contacting your local FDA office. Excellent resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dash of common sense on the food truck menu, May 13, 2013
This review is from: Running a Food Truck For Dummies (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
A prospective food truck owner probably has a signature dish in mind and some idea of what, where and how they want to operate their business. Of course, the devil is in the details. Consider this book a dash of common sense that covers the basics, including the myriad of challenges and pitfalls that await new owners in the food truck marketplace.

I had a keen interest in chapter 15, "Mastering Marketing and Public Relations" and chapter 16, "Handling the Art of Social Media." Author Richard Myrick acknowledges the growing importance of social media (Twitter, Facebook, Foursquare, Yelp, Groupon, Living Social) versus traditional advertising methods. The latter three social media services are particularly contentious as food trucks and traditional restaurants struggle with the positives and negatives of digital couponing and online user reviews. For every success story using those platforms, there are as many horror stories of entrepreneurs overwhelmed by coupon-waving zombies that have no intention of patronizing the business beyond the initial offer.

One wish: more than two paragraphs should be afforded to the Kogi BBQ food truck in Los Angeles, a leader in using Twitter as a key marketing tool as well as a prime example of the importance of developing an identity. One more wish: there should be more references to online resources, although Myrick is also the editor-in-chief and founder of Mobile Cuisine Magazine, so that is a handy connection.

Rating: Four stars.

DISCLOSURE: This review is courtesy of the Amazon Vine program, which provides products at no cost in exchange for my independent and unbiased feedback. My objective is to test and review products fairly, providing you with helpful information that improves your shopping experience. This product review was not sponsored or paid for in any way by the manufacturer or an agent working on their behalf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I read it, April 7, 2013
This review is from: Running a Food Truck For Dummies (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
So before reading this book, I was toying with the idea of opening a food truck. I lived in an area where there was a desperate need for it, and willing/eager customers just waiting for one to open. I saw a need and thought - hey, I can fill this need and make a few bucks doing it too - pretty cool right? Well ... I am so glad I read this book. Opening a food truck is a TON of work - way more than I thought it would be and I am generally a pretty realistic person. If I pursued this idea, this book is the perfect how-to checklist to get started. As it is, I will sit back and wait for someone else to fill the gap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Running a Food Truck For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this book to really see if this business was right for me. It had everything you need to know about the business. It's step by step info has put me into the drivers seat, literally, of a new business. I keep the book with me all the time for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great information about food trucks, September 8, 2012
This review is from: Running a Food Truck For Dummies (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I was excited to get this book, as I've been dreaming and contemplating owning my own food truck. There's not much information online or in print about the food truck business. Though, this book covers almost everything you'd need to know to decide if owning a food truck business is right for you. It covers getting started, payment methods, supplies needed, different menus, truck design and catering. It covers all this in a simple, concise way that nearly anyone could understand.

The only thing, I wish would've been touched on more was suggested food order quanities and how to figure out your costs vs prices. It did cover these areas in a limited way, but, I do wish there had been a bit more how-to in this area.

Overall, I'd highly suggest this book if you're interested in having a food truck. It would be an excellent starting point to decide if this is something, that is at all attainable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a mini-business seminar, September 19, 2012
By 
This review is from: Running a Food Truck For Dummies (Paperback)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This book strikes me as a work that is to business school what food trucks are to restaurants. It's kind of the same, but on a much, much smaller scale. There is a lot in this book that could/should have been left out and perhaps let the owner find info other places. And other topics are very skimpy - such as the actual food ideas. And what is in the book is a little on the "dry" side. A few success and failure stories can go a long way toward helping the reader understand a concept, as well as adding human interest. After all, the food truck is operated by HUMANS making and selling food to other HUMANS. The book isn't bad, and if you have no business training or knowledge at all, you can get a lot out of it, especially for guidance on licensing, food safety, and operations. But don't read it thinking you will gain load of inspiration - you'll have to get that on your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Running a Food Truck For Dummies
Running a Food Truck For Dummies by Richard Myrick (Paperback - August 7, 2012)
$22.99 $15.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.