Customer Reviews


4,436 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,908)
4 star:
 (303)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (106)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


836 of 941 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for kids - fun for everyone who loves historical time-travel stories!
Forget everything you think you know about Rush Limbaugh, read the book with an open mind, and you may be surprised at how quickly you get through this entertaining time-travel story!

It's primarily aimed at older kids, but can be enjoyed by anyone of any age. In fact, while reading it this morning I was reminded of the "Danny Dunn" books which I...
Published 13 months ago by Chrissy the Stooges Woman

versus
79 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liberty and Justice for Children
Most people know him as the conservative radio talk show host. And most people have an opinion about him. Many Americans love Rush Limbaugh. Liberals and social progressives can't stand him. But everyone should appreciate what he's trying to accomplish in Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims.

Limbaugh's newest book is designed for children as he takes them on...
Published 12 months ago by Dr. David Steele


‹ Previous | 1 2444 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

836 of 941 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for kids - fun for everyone who loves historical time-travel stories!, October 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans (Hardcover)
Forget everything you think you know about Rush Limbaugh, read the book with an open mind, and you may be surprised at how quickly you get through this entertaining time-travel story!

It's primarily aimed at older kids, but can be enjoyed by anyone of any age. In fact, while reading it this morning I was reminded of the "Danny Dunn" books which I enjoyed back in the '60s and '70s, where Danny and his friends, helped by the Professor, traveled in time and/or space and learned a lot about science and history. I can easily see "Rush Revere" becoming a series that will evoke similar fond memories among today's kids.

The basic premise of the story is that "Rush Revere" (the character depicted on the side of Limbaugh's "Two if by Tea" bottles) is a substitute history teacher who has a talking horse "Liberty" (a very amusing character!). Rush and Liberty travel back into time and use a Smartphone to capture live videos of historical events as they happen, which they show their students as they happen. In this book, it's all about the Pilgrims and Puritans, and how/why they embarked on the Mayflower to the New World.

Please note that this is NOT a "polemic" book full of "conservative right-wing propaganda" (for those who think of Rush's show that way - I don't, but I know some do!). Any facts included which you may not have heard of can easily be verified as correct. So far I haven't found any "clunkers".

There are also lots of maps, photos and illustrations to help you figure out where the characters are and what they're up to.

Overall, as a former substitute teacher myself, I highly recommend this book for kids, teachers, parents - and anyone who loves a good historical time-travel story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


423 of 493 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans (Hardcover)
Started reading this morning before school with my 10 year old who struggles to love reading but in this case he was genuinely interested and didn't want to stop when it came time to leave! Can't wait until after school when we can continue the adventure together. THANK YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


396 of 481 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting American History for all ages, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rush Revere is a great way for parents and children to learn history together, simply by reading it in novel format. This book is written so young children can understand and enjoy it it, yet I tremendously enjoyed reading it as a parent. It is so refreshing to read history that is actually historically true, not revisionist history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


399 of 489 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leave political prejudices aside and enjoy the book..., October 29, 2013
This review is from: Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans (Hardcover)
"Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims" by Rush Limbaugh is a book intended for kids and as such it should be seen without going into long political discussions.

The author who became widely known due to his radio talk-show career, said he wanted to make American history more accessible to children therefore he created fictional character Rush Revere who is able to travel through time.
Rush, who is history teacher will be going through the turbulent events of US history sharing adventures with famous Americans from the past.

Accompanied with his talking horse named liberty, it this story Rush Revere travels to the deck of the Mayflower learning children (his version) about the pilgrims and their role in establishing of United States.
Although author is saying that his book isn’t political agenda, and just the truth and history as said above it should be considered only as entertaining read what the author certainly succeeds with this book.

"Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims” is easy to read, it's funny, and if reader leave her/his political prejudices aside, she/he will be able to fully enjoy it.
Given that the population of children to whom the book is mainly intended, aren’t (yet) thinking about politics, I’m confident that they will like it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


175 of 219 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Kindle Version, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans (Hardcover)
Got the Kindle version this morning. Great idea for a book, history told from the point of view of living in it. Historical facts gain a different light in that context. Lets be clear, this is a kids book maybe 9-13 range depending on how tenacious a reader. Still enjoyable outside that age range though. Hopefully there will be more books in the Rush Revere line. I'd say 4.5 stars but I'm rounding up like the Barry is on his Obamacare numbers.

To the baloney 1 stars, try reading it first. What is more amusing than the Media Matters crowd claiming someone else is being paid for fake reviews. Ha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


403 of 510 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush writes a winner, October 29, 2013
I realize some people find Rush caustic, but in my opinion, he is the most articulate torch-bearer of conservative ideals -- namely, personal freedom and responsibility. This book is a much-needed addition to the conservative cause because it does three things exceptionally well: It entertains, it informs, and it manages to do so without grinding a political ax (honestly, I was surprised by this). This book is essentially a pop-history book aimed at 10-13 year-olds, but it will work well for younger kids and high-schoolers. And yes, adults will likely be tremendously entertained as well.

In some ways, the book feels sort of like the "Magic School Bus" series -- Rush Revere, a middle school teacher, travels back in time to witness the Pilgrims. The schtick works, however unappealing it originally sounded to me, and the book does one very important thing (I cannot make this point clearly enough): it teaches the values of the Pilgrims and draws the connecting line between those values and modern conservatism. It does not "preach" modern conservatism into the Pilgrim narrative. I was quite concerned that Rush (as much as I love him) would do more of the latter than the former, and found this a pleasant surprise.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Five stars and two thumbs up!
----
OTHER CONSERVATIVE READS FOR PARENTS AND THEIR KIDS:

2012 Election: The 106 BEST Reasons NOT to Vote for Obama -- This little book is probably my best Kindle buy ever (politics-wise). Tons of research, active internet links, and still-relevant info (despite having been written before the last election). I cracked it open yesterday just to take a look at the Obamacare section, and it reads like prophecy. Written for adults, but accessible to younger folks.

Four Centuries of American Education -- David Barton (a historian made `famous' by Glenn Beck) does an excellent job of outlining the progressive decline into progressivism in our school system. Honestly, virtually any Barton book would be a great read for adults and any high schooler interested in learning "real" history not taught in public institutions.

48 Liberal Lies About American History: (That You Probably Learned in School) -- Schweikart, a history professor, lays bare many of the lies you (and almost certainly your kids) learned in school. More aimed at adults, but I'd suggest parents arm themselves and impart the wisdom contained in the book to their kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


140 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush Revere, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans (Hardcover)
Once I got a look at the content I was sold. I just bought three for my grandkids. This is a book about American excellence and being proud of your country. Some people won't give this book a first glance because of who the author is- but that will be to their detriment. This is just a good, solid, honest, make me feel good about my country type of book. Get it- read it- enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


147 of 185 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea!, October 29, 2013
This review is from: Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans (Hardcover)
Tricky Nicky needs to get back to doing tricks and realize that this book is for a middles schooler. But of course I'm thinking that this might be below Trick Nick's level of comprehension.

Thank you Rush for doing this. It's high time we have some interesting educational materials for the common liberal. LET'S BRING THEM UP TO SPEED!

GO RUSH REVERE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 175 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great children's history book., October 29, 2013
This review is from: Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans (Hardcover)
This is easily the best children's history book ever written. Grandpa bought this for all the grandkids, including my 10 year old daughter. We have great fun reading it at bedtime. The world's greatest communicator is also a great writer and has himself another homerun here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book that reminds people of a great American History we can be proud of!, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans (Hardcover)
This is sure to be a best seller. Rush has brilliantly penned a powerful book that reminds us of what pilgrims went through in coming to this great land. It is a story was seems to be told less and less these days in the class room. Fo that reason I highly recommend this book for any young person who has been educated in our modern day public schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2444 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans
$19.99 $12.39
In stock on November 29, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.