Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims: Time-Travel Adventures with Exceptional Americans
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 29, 2013
Forget everything you think you know about Rush Limbaugh, read the book with an open mind, and you may be surprised at how quickly you get through this entertaining time-travel story!

It's primarily aimed at older kids, but can be enjoyed by anyone of any age. In fact, while reading it this morning I was reminded of the "Danny Dunn" books which I enjoyed back in the '60s and '70s, where Danny and his friends, helped by the Professor, traveled in time and/or space and learned a lot about science and history. I can easily see "Rush Revere" becoming a series that will evoke similar fond memories among today's kids.

The basic premise of the story is that "Rush Revere" (the character depicted on the side of Limbaugh's "Two if by Tea" bottles) is a substitute history teacher who has a talking horse "Liberty" (a very amusing character!). Rush and Liberty travel back into time and use a Smartphone to capture live videos of historical events as they happen, which they show their students as they happen. In this book, it's all about the Pilgrims and Puritans, and how/why they embarked on the Mayflower to the New World.

Please note that this is NOT a "polemic" book full of "conservative right-wing propaganda" (for those who think of Rush's show that way - I don't, but I know some do!). Any facts included which you may not have heard of can easily be verified as correct. So far I haven't found any "clunkers".

There are also lots of maps, photos and illustrations to help you figure out where the characters are and what they're up to.

Overall, as a former substitute teacher myself, I highly recommend this book for kids, teachers, parents - and anyone who loves a good historical time-travel story!
4747 comments|939 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
Started reading this morning before school with my 10 year old who struggles to love reading but in this case he was genuinely interested and didn't want to stop when it came time to leave! Can't wait until after school when we can continue the adventure together. THANK YOU!
55 comments|459 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
Rush Revere is a great way for parents and children to learn history together, simply by reading it in novel format. This book is written so young children can understand and enjoy it it, yet I tremendously enjoyed reading it as a parent. It is so refreshing to read history that is actually historically true, not revisionist history.
1212 comments|430 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
Once I got a look at the content I was sold. I just bought three for my grandkids. This is a book about American excellence and being proud of your country. Some people won't give this book a first glance because of who the author is- but that will be to their detriment. This is just a good, solid, honest, make me feel good about my country type of book. Get it- read it- enjoy it.
22 comments|175 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
Got the Kindle version this morning. Great idea for a book, history told from the point of view of living in it. Historical facts gain a different light in that context. Lets be clear, this is a kids book maybe 9-13 range depending on how tenacious a reader. Still enjoyable outside that age range though. Hopefully there will be more books in the Rush Revere line. I'd say 4.5 stars but I'm rounding up like the Barry is on his Obamacare numbers.

To the baloney 1 stars, try reading it first. What is more amusing than the Media Matters crowd claiming someone else is being paid for fake reviews. Ha!
33 comments|203 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
I realize some people find Rush caustic, but in my opinion, he is the most articulate torch-bearer of conservative ideals -- namely, personal freedom and responsibility. This book is a much-needed addition to the conservative cause because it does three things exceptionally well: It entertains, it informs, and it manages to do so without grinding a political ax (honestly, I was surprised by this). This book is essentially a pop-history book aimed at 10-13 year-olds, but it will work well for younger kids and high-schoolers. And yes, adults will likely be tremendously entertained as well.

In some ways, the book feels sort of like the "Magic School Bus" series -- Rush Revere, a middle school teacher, travels back in time to witness the Pilgrims. The schtick works, however unappealing it originally sounded to me, and the book does one very important thing (I cannot make this point clearly enough): it teaches the values of the Pilgrims and draws the connecting line between those values and modern conservatism. It does not "preach" modern conservatism into the Pilgrim narrative. I was quite concerned that Rush (as much as I love him) would do more of the latter than the former, and found this a pleasant surprise.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough. Five stars and two thumbs up!
----
OTHER CONSERVATIVE READS FOR PARENTS AND THEIR KIDS:

2012 Election: The 106 BEST Reasons NOT to Vote for Obama -- This little book is probably my best Kindle buy ever (politics-wise). Tons of research, active internet links, and still-relevant info (despite having been written before the last election). I cracked it open yesterday just to take a look at the Obamacare section, and it reads like prophecy. Written for adults, but accessible to younger folks.

Four Centuries of American Education -- David Barton (a historian made `famous' by Glenn Beck) does an excellent job of outlining the progressive decline into progressivism in our school system. Honestly, virtually any Barton book would be a great read for adults and any high schooler interested in learning "real" history not taught in public institutions.

48 Liberal Lies About American History: (That You Probably Learned in School) -- Schweikart, a history professor, lays bare many of the lies you (and almost certainly your kids) learned in school. More aimed at adults, but I'd suggest parents arm themselves and impart the wisdom contained in the book to their kids.
3434 comments|422 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2013
Most people know him as the conservative radio talk show host. And most people have an opinion about him. Many Americans love Rush Limbaugh. Liberals and social progressives can't stand him. But everyone should appreciate what he's trying to accomplish in Rush Revere and the Brave Pilgrims.

Limbaugh's newest book is designed for children as he takes them on a journey to the seventeenth century and introduces them to the pilgrims. The author employs the fictional tool of time travel to teach some important history lessons that will appeal especially to young readers.

Rush is to be commended for his desire to bring the events of the Mayflower to a readable format that children can enjoy. Unfortunately, some of the historical data gets overshadowed by the prose. But Limbaugh does leave readers with the right mindset toward history. This is a reminder that young and old can appreciate.
88 comments|92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
Tricky Nicky needs to get back to doing tricks and realize that this book is for a middles schooler. But of course I'm thinking that this might be below Trick Nick's level of comprehension.

Thank you Rush for doing this. It's high time we have some interesting educational materials for the common liberal. LET'S BRING THEM UP TO SPEED!

GO RUSH REVERE!
0Comment|152 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
If your child goes to a state run school or even some private schools they are probably being taught Common Core subjects. This book will go a long way to deprogramming the CC history portion of their indoctrination. Read it with your child...talk about it.
22 comments|128 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
This is sure to be a best seller. Rush has brilliantly penned a powerful book that reminds us of what pilgrims went through in coming to this great land. It is a story was seems to be told less and less these days in the class room. Fo that reason I highly recommend this book for any young person who has been educated in our modern day public schools.
0Comment|71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse