Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hannibal The Affable
A guy walks into a bar, looks up and down the deli menu and he'd like a ham and cheese on rye and an open-faced detective. Bartender says the only rye he's got is in a bottle, but as to the open-faced detective? Hannibal Jones is right there in the corner, nursing a vodka and coffee...and several bruises.

"Russian Roulette" was my first brush with Hannibal...
Published on June 26, 2009 by Christopher D. Hober

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Russian Roulette
Quick reading...it is so easy to purchase from Amazon and read on kindle...but book was just middle of the road.
Published 21 months ago by Maxwell's Mom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 14, 2009
By 
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Paperback)
This is one of my new favorites. I completely enjoyed this book. It was fast paced and kept me interested from the start to the very end.

The main character, Hannibal, in this book is tough and gritty and yet he still seems like a real life person, not dime store novel detective. He is required, at gun point, to look into the fiancé of a Russian assassin girl friend. The old girl friend is marrying an African Businesman and the Russian believes all is not as it seems.

As Hannibal digs into the background and starts looking at the people surrounding the African businessman he learns so much is not what it seems.

This book is not without a touch of humor too. It is funny that the Russian stayed in Hannibal's office while Hannibal was off detecting and looking for answers to the questions the Russian had about this fiancé of his old girl friend.

Overall, it is an interesting book with many twists and turns. It kept me interested and I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, April 3, 2010
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Paperback)
I met Austin Camacho at a local book signing in Fairfax Virginia. He introduced me to Hannibal Jones and his latest case "Russian Roulette". Mr. Camacho promised a "keep you guessing mystery" with action and intrigue, and he delivered.

I found this to be a very enjoyable book, the story is extremely well done and takes you on a fast paced adventure with strong characters, and suspense that builds to an action packed conclusion.

Hannibal Jones is an engaging character who comes to life with peeks into his relationships with his lady, his ride, his shades and his choice of fresh ground coffee.

For those familiar with the Washington, D.C metropolitan area, the local references add to the fun.

I will be ordering another in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A compelling PI who fights for the truth., December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Hannibal Jones Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
A compelling PI, Hannibal Jones is the main character of this mystery. Like Raymond Chandler's Phillip Marlowe he is always after the truth and has a soft spot in his heart for vulnerable women. The mystery has layers, the original job, ordered at gun-point, that of discovery of the identity of the fiancé of the employer's love interest, is not the mystery that is ultimately solved. And before it is over murder is committed several times. Even when there is no money in it, Hannibal Jones is not satisfied until the truth is brought to light. This Pi is extremely likable, the story is fast paced, and toward the end I could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another home run, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Hannibal Jones Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Great book. Totally different from the series. Hannibal finds himself in a bit less control in this book. Austin has an excellent understanding of cultures to bring these people to life in the way he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hannibal Jones Mystery Series, March 19, 2013
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Paperback)
I've read the entire Hannibal Jone series and Russian Roulette continues to be a great story as well. Missed his usual buddies in this book, but it's good to change it up, and the characters in this story all tied together nicely. I'll keep looking for the next book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hannibal Jones Mysteries, October 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Hannibal Jones Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
The Hannibal Jones mystery series are all great reads! Russian Roulette is no exception!
They are fast paced and the characters are great! I wish there were more Hannibal Jones mysteries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, August 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Hannibal Jones Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
I have read 6 books by this author and have enjoyed them all. I read 3 of the Hannibal Jones books and the 3 in the O'Brien and Stark series. I found all to be very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, July 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Hannibal Jones Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
If you like a good mystery, the Hannibal Jones series is a good one to get hooked on. The character is believable, and Austin Comacho keeps the story going at a good pace. I highly recommend his books and look forward to reading all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever, June 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Hannibal Jones Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
The Hannibal Jones books just get better and better. In the beginning I wasn't too sure about this one. Mr. Camacho states in the first chapter that his friends and neighbors--Sarge, Virgil and Quaker--wouldn't be helping him on this case. My first thought was "Oh No!" but it was great without them. The tangle of Russian, Algerian, Liberian and Moroccan characters were interesting, the plot was excellent and it was a rough and tumble as the first four books. Don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Mystery, June 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Russian Roulette (Hannibal Jones Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
The storyline has been done and redone but the quality of the writing and the speed of the story held my interest. Excellent read if you are just looking to be entertained and that's all you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Russian Roulette (Hannibal Jones Mysteries)
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.