Customer Reviews


534 Reviews
5 star:
 (436)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 121 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New vocals!! Rust in Peace veterans beware...
Along with Master of Puppets and Seasons in the Abyss, Rust in Peace is one of the greatest metal albums of all time! So when I heard Dave Mustaine was remastering the Megadeth catalog, I HAD to get my hands on a fresh copy!

Let me start with the high notes... The musicianship is OUTSTANDING. The instruments are crisp and clear, with lots of insane riffing...
Published on July 27, 2004 by A. Urioste

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ........?
I bought four other Megadeth remasters and was extremely satisfied. Rust in Peace is a masterpiece, and probably the best Megadeth album. Instrumentally the remastered album sounds good. I would give it five stars based on that. The vocals on Take No Prisoners, Five Magics, and Lucretia, though, were redone. Why Dave? The new vocals are nothing short of offensive...
Published on August 15, 2004 by M. Kaczmarzinski


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

115 of 121 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New vocals!! Rust in Peace veterans beware..., July 27, 2004
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
Along with Master of Puppets and Seasons in the Abyss, Rust in Peace is one of the greatest metal albums of all time! So when I heard Dave Mustaine was remastering the Megadeth catalog, I HAD to get my hands on a fresh copy!

Let me start with the high notes... The musicianship is OUTSTANDING. The instruments are crisp and clear, with lots of insane riffing and rapid fire drumming annihilation! You can even hear the thumping bass line, which I never heard on the original cassette or CD (except for the obvious bass intros to Five Magics, Poison Was The Cure, and Dawn Patrol). As far as the music goes, the remastered version of RIP certainly delivers! Buuuuuut...

Okay, here we go... For those of you who have never heard Rust in Peace, stop reading right here. Turn your computer off, drive to the store and BUY IT NOW!!! You MUST own this cd!!! Rust in Peace veterans read on...

Dave Mustaine butchered the vocals!! Did he re-sing them? I'm no sound or recording expert, but I can certainly tell when a beloved recording that I've been listening to since I was 14 years old (I'm 27 now) has been altered. As everybody knows, Take No Prisoners and Five Magics have entirely new vocals, but upon further inspection, I've realize most of the album (maybe all?) has new vocals as well. Just listen to the low Vic Rattlehead vocals of Polaris, the chorus of Lucretia, and the jumble of words in Poison Was The Cure... you can tell the vocals are different. It's very noticeable in the parts where the rest of the band sings back up ("The warheads will all rust in peace!", and the "Hey!" part of Lucretia), and since they weren't around for the remastering process, the difference is clear. And of course, we're all reeling over the butchering of Five Magics (even the printed lyrics are different!). As far as I can tell, only Holy Wars and Hangar 18 haven't been altered (I'm on the fence with Tornado of Souls). The vocals sound the same, just louder and clearer along with the rest of the music.

Has Dave Mustaine pulled a George Lucas on us and changed a beloved product just because he thinks he can make it better? I heard something about Capitol losing the vocal tracks to Take No Prisoners... did the same happen to all the songs? At least an explanation in the booklet would have been nice. Are the rest of the remasters the same?

You know Dave, it is possible to remaster an album without altering its content. Just look at Slayer's pre-Reign in Blood catalog... the production is so bad, even the remasters sound like [...] But at least they didn't change the content of the recordings. And that's where the remastered Rust in Peace fails.

Of course you could just pretend the first 9 tracks don't exist and buy it just for the demos and the old unreleased track My Creation (it's only 1:34 minutes long... er, short!). The booklet is actually pretty cool, with an introduction by Dave Mustaine and several band photos from that time period. It seems my particular copy was factory-pressed incorrectly. The lyric sheets to Holy Wars and Hangar 18 are cut in half, with Dave Ellefson's forehead appearing on the bottom of the page, and his neck on the top. Looks like a factory mistake, but I don't mind, it just it makes it a little more rare. Any other fans out there have messed up copies too?

I give the remastered version of Rust in Peace four stars because I can't bear to give such a masterpiece anything less. If not for the new vocals, it would've been an EASY five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rust in Peace: Version 2.0, November 8, 2005
By 
Kevin H. Dudley (Roanoke, VA (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
Megadeth has always seemed to exist in the shadow of Metallica, which is ironic as I've always considered Megadeth to be the far superior band. Megadeth guitarist/singer and leader Dave Mustaine was also a founding member of Metallica before being unceramoniously given the boot in early 1983 due to his ego and substance abuse.

The fact that he started Megadeth in 1984 purely out of hatred and jealousy of his former bandmates in Metallica ended up sort of causing Megadeth to never really get the true respect that Dave and his ever changing roster of co-horts deserved. It seems that every time that Megadeth has come out with a new studio album, Dave is accused of mearly copying Metallica's sonic strategies and supposedly even ripping off some of Metallica's riffs. People seem to forget that Metallica kept using Dave's musical ideas all the way through 1986's Master of Puppets (in some cases giving him proper songwriting credits, in other cases not giving him his due credit).

In my eyes, Megadeth (and Dave Mustaine in particular) have always had the better songwriting capabilities and a better sense of what truly makes a great song in comparison to Metallica. Megadeth also gradually evolved their sound over the years without resorting to pulling a jarring 180 on their fans like Metallica did so arrogantly about 8 years back with their terrible album Load (some might say they turned their backs with 1991's self-titled release or "The Black Album" as it's commonly referred to, but I thought that album balanced their sound out nicely.) Granted, Megadeth's 1999 album Risk is considered a sell out by most people, but I really feel that in most cases it was a continuation of the direction they went in on their last album 1997's Cryptic Writings.

But I digress.

Megadeth has realeased quite a few great albums over the years, but none have ever quite had the impact or lasting quality that 1990's Rust In Peace has had. Almost every truly great band has at the very least that one quintessential album that is pretty much the only one that someone would really need to buy in order to get the best overview of that band's achievments. While I personally like Cryptic Writings the best, there's no denying that Rust In Peace will always be looked back on as Megadeth's finest hour.

It was on this album that singer/guitarist Dave Mustaine and bassist Dave Ellefson (who besides Mustaine is the only original member) were clear of any substance abuse problems thanks to extensive re-hab for both of them. It also represented them hooking up with drummer Nick Menza and guitarist Marty Friedman. Lots of Megadeth fans consider this lineup to be the "golden" lineup and they are right. Dave actually managed to keep this lineup together for 4 studio albums and those albums represent the best that Megadeth has had to offer.

Rust In Peace is a truly legendary metal album that deserves it's status as an album that was truly ahead of it's time. Something just clicked on this album like it hadn't prior or since then. From the get-go, the listener is treated to a barrage of insane metal riffing that is almost progressive in nature at times due to the constant change-ups in tempo and rhythm. But the complexity of the album isn't just done for complexity's sake. The songwriting is extremely smart and the parts flow into each other like sugar in coffee. This is a virtual textbook for anyone wanting to learn metal rhythm guitar. The drum work is also stellar along with Ellefson's stupendous bass work. He is truly one of the most underrated metal bass players of all time IMO.

This album is also celebrated by guitarists the world over due to the insane amount of amazing guitar solos that are present throughout the album. Marty and Dave Mustaine seemed intent on trying to one-up each other in terms of soloing but it was all in the spirit of making the best album possible so even that spirited competition added to the album's greatness.

The original release consisted of 9 stupendous tracks and lasted around 40 minutes in length.

The original track listing was:
1) Holy Wars/The Punishment Due
2) Hangar 18
3) Take No Prisoners
4) Five Magics
5) Poison Was the Cure
6) Lucretia
7) Tornado of Souls
8) Dawn Patrol
9) Rust in Peace/Polaris.

All of these songs are pretty much viewed as classics in the overall Megadeth repertoire. This album just grabs you by the throat from the start and doesn't let up. Since there are so many other reviews already that go into details of these tracks, I'll just try to focus on how I feel this re-mastered CD stacks up to the original release.

In early 2004, it was announced that Dave Mustaine was in the process of re-mixing and re-mastering the entire Capitol records catalog of Megadeth releases to be released on July 27th.

Rust In Peace is one of the re-releases that benefits the most from the re-mastering and re-mixing. Everything sounds much brighter and punchier. The drums now sound like thunder and the bass growls and rumbles like it never quite did on the original release. In fact, I've noticed things on this album that I didn't before due to how crystal clear and open everything now sounds.

All of the re-relased CD's also contain bonus tracks in the form of alternate mixes in some cases and in the case of Rust in Peace you get extra tracks in the form of:

10) My Creation (previously unreleased)
11) Rust in Peace/Polaris (demo version)
12) Holy Wars/The Punishment Due (demo version)
13) Take No Prisoners (demo version).

The sound quality on these bonus tracks are actually quite good and I've always liked hearing demo versions of songs just to hear how a song evolved to the point of the final recording. The new song My Creation is kind of short but is pretty cool in its own right.

Now onto the one aspect of this album's particular re-mastering that has a lot of purists and hardcore fans up in arms.

It turns out that when Dave Mustaine got all of the original master tapes for the Rust in Peace album together, he found out to his dismay that that original vocal tracks for the songs Take No Prisoners and 5 Magics had vanished. [EDIT: Epinions.com user Megasoul actually found this out about the track 5 Magics. "Just wanna point out that the webmaster at [...] stated that "Five Magics" was NOT re-recorded (which means that Dave must have used alternate vocal takes from 1990 on the re-issue).]

So he had no choice but to re-record new vocals for these 2 tracks. Some people are overreacting and are claiming that he did this to more than just these 2 tracks, but these are the facts from Dave Mustaine himself in a few interviews.

So are the new vocals that noticeable or do they just flat out suck in comparison to the original? Well, if you are as big of a fan of the original album for as long as I've been, you will notice the new tracks. I think that Dave did a great job with the new vocals and they are in the exact same style and spirit as the old vocal tracks were. He really had no choice but to re-record new vocals so I don't think he should be faulted for that. It is a little bit jarring at first, but with subsequent listening, I've grown quite accustomed to the new vocal tracks already.

All of the other tracks throughout the album have been untouched so the purists can calm down a bit.

The CD also features all new liner notes by Dave himself as well as all the lyrics in addition to vintage photos from that period in the band's existence.

Rust in Peace is a true metal classic that everyone interested in the genre should own. This new re-mastered CD of the album makes it sound better than it ever has and the sound is improved enough to warrant picking up this new version of the album. While the re-recorded vocal tracks on the 2 previously mentioned tunes might take a little bit getting used to, I don't think that they butcher the songs like a lot of other people are complaining that they do. But I guess it's up to everyone to decide that for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite thrash album, July 1, 2004
By 
This review is from: Rust in Peace (Audio CD)
For me personally, Megadeth was the premier thrash band. Metallica had nothing on former Metallica's guitarist Dave Mustaine and his band. Unlike Metallica, Megadeth managed to put out consistently good music. I am not really into speed metal (which is ironic since I love industrial music) but Megadeth was the band that I really got into. "Rust in Peace" made me a fan. I don't remember what compelled me to buy the album but I sure got an earful. It was heavy and intense. Fourteen years later, "Rust in Peace" still holds up well given the current circumstances of our country's foreign policies. Dave Mustaine didn't write your average angst-ridden lyrics. He delved into government conspiracies like "Hangar 18" and the notion of the government hiding UFOs out in Nevada. Dave and Marty Friedman's breakneck guitar playing complimented each other very well. Dave Ellefson is one of my favorite bassists of all time. He and (former) drummer Nick Menza gives the band the backbone the band needed. All the songs are great but I particularly am a big fan of the first two singles "Holy Wars..." and "Hangar 18". The music videos for those songs were excellent. That was when artists and bands made good, quality videos. Megadeth was one of those bands whose videos were always entertaining even if they were concert footage they still were good. For me, "Rust in Peace" is Megadeth's best album. It isn't stupid metal like Limp Bizkit or Korn whose buffoonery and whining gets on my last nerves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth's Most Polished Effort, July 25, 2004
This review is from: Rust in Peace (Audio CD)
People will probably look to Countdown to Extinction as the high water mark for Megadeth, but they're wrong. Rust in Peace blasted onto the metal scene and blew away everybody. From the stellar opening track Holy Wars to Rust in Peace: Polaris (the two best songs on the album by the way...) this album is on full throttle. The music is the focal point of Rust in Peace and this album finds Dave Mustaine, Marty Friedman, Dave Ellifson and Nick Menza at their creative zeniths. Mustaine continues to be one of the most underrated and underappreciated metal guitar players of his time. Yeah, so the guy's got some personality issues but damn he can shred on the guitar. Overall, the stronger tracks on Rust in Peace are Lucretia, Five Magics, Holy Wars and Polaris. Dawn Patrol is the only speed bump on this album and should have been left in the can. Anyway, if you're into metal this is definitely an album you should own and if you're just getting into Megadeth then start here...it's their finest hour. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow Frank.....You need help, July 28, 2004
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
I can't believe that there are people in this world that think that St Anger is better than Rust in Peace. Things like that make me feel like giving up on humanity and sticking a fork in my eye. Rust in Peace is an absolute masterpiece in metal, but I guess the high level of musicality it contains makes it less accessible to the average person. However, Megadeth are and probably always will be the most underrated Heavy Metal band of all time. I just hope that people like you, Frank, are few and far between. By the way, Dave Mustaine writes some of the most kickarse riffs of all time, and the riffs on this album are one hundred times better than those on St Anger. Justice has been served, my work here is done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth's best album, a heavy metal classic!, March 11, 2003
By 
John (Long Island, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rust in Peace (Audio CD)
To be honest with you, I hated this album when I first heard it. I thought that it [was bad] compared to "Peace Sells." Boy, was I wrong! This album kicks ... The guitar solos, courtesy of Marty Friedman, are unbeleivable. Awesome bass and drumming, and Dave Mustaine does an excellent job on rythym guitar. The only problem I have with this record is Dave's voice. This guy has one of the worst voices I have ever heard, but the music REALLY makes up for it. This is the last classic Megadeth album, "Countdown To Extinction" and "Youthanasia" are very good albums, just not classics. The other recent ones are pretty bad.
Holy Wars...The Punishment Due-The best song on the album, and the best Megadeth song ever! Everything about the song is awesome, from the cool lyrics, to the incredible bass and drums, to the breathtaking solo near the end. Very fast. 10/10
Hangar 18- The second best song on the album. Listen to those guitar solos, they are mindblowing! The last three minutes are instrumental. This is a song about Area 51. 10/10
Take No Prisoners- This is probably the fastest song on the album. There is killer drumming and a cool five second bass solo on this song, along with a good solo near the end. 9/10
Five Magics- This is an awesome song! The bass intro is great, but it drags on for a bit. I have no clue what this song is about, but listen to those solos! Damn! 10/10
Poison Was The Cure- A cool song, but it is too short, only about three miutes long. This song also has a bass intro. Very good riffs and a great solo. 8/10
Lucritia- Awesome song with a great intro and leads. More cool lyrics. 9/10
Tornado Of Souls- Many people say that this is the best on the album, but it's probably my least favorite on the album. (Next to Dawn Patrol.) It is not a bad song, it is great, but I just never liked it as much as the rest. This does have a killer solo. 8/10
Dawn Patrol- Uhh, just a bass line by David Ellefson and distorted vocals. The bass line is cool, but repetitive. The weakest track on the album, but I still listen to it. 7/10
Rust In Peace...Polaris- Third best on the album. Good solos, cool lyrics, Dave's voice in the first verse is actually pretty cool. A perfect way to end such a classic heavy metal album. 10/10
Your still reading this? Buy it already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ........?, August 15, 2004
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
I bought four other Megadeth remasters and was extremely satisfied. Rust in Peace is a masterpiece, and probably the best Megadeth album. Instrumentally the remastered album sounds good. I would give it five stars based on that. The vocals on Take No Prisoners, Five Magics, and Lucretia, though, were redone. Why Dave? The new vocals are nothing short of offensive. I can see no reason, short of not having the original recordings, to re-sing ANY song. If he did not have them, which is inconceivable, he should have left the songs alone. If anyone wants to find out how to ruin a good album, this is the example. If you have the original don't waste your money here, the bonus tracks aren't worth it either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 star remix; 4 star remaster; 5 star demos w/Chris Poland!, September 20, 2004
By 
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
You know, most of the reviewers are correct...Dave Mustaine re-recorded some vocals and while they take away some of the bite/edge from the originals, it doesn't really effect the listening. For Chrissakes, people make it seems unlistenable, but it's not. The remastering itself is excellent, the whole album has a beefed up sound which is good...but the real reason I love this is hearing Chris Poland on lead guitar and soloing

on the 3 bonus demos...Rust In Peace...Polaris, Holy Wars...The Punishment Due and Take No Prisoners. Just to hear Chris on these tracks is a Godsend. Any fan of Megadeth's best era (Rust in Peace lineup) will agree! These 3 demos are worth the price of the remastered CD alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Changed Vocals?, November 7, 2004
By 
C. Fogus "sercrow" (Spokane, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rust In Peace (Audio CD)
did dave mustaine loose the original master recordings or something? some songs in the remaster clearly have the original vocals, others have been re-recorded. i see nothing in the CD booklet about this. i can't locate anything from dave on the web. why change what isn't broke?

don't get me wrong: i listened to both back to back, and i count three total songs with re-recorded vocals by Dave: Take No Prisoners, Five Magics and Lucretia. i prefer dave's RIP vocals of 14 years ago than the updated vocals of today. i'd love to see this one reissued in its original glory. although the remastered cd is completley listenable.

those of you who have not heard this new edition of this metal masterpiece, get this one now. those of you who have been long time fans of the band and RIP, expect differences. i like both, but prefer the original vocals over the new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Fall out boy is asinine, January 9, 2006
This review is from: Rust in Peace (Audio CD)
Anyone who criticizes great bands and loves corny bands really should not have any credibily in reviewing albums. At first I was like whatever with ILFOB, but then you accuse the metal community of being idiots and having poor taste in music. You probably are a girl, mid teens amd think My chemical romance Invented rock, pop is great and Kanye West is a lyricists. I don't know whether to laugh or vomit reading your reviews because you really don't know nothing about Megadeth or Dave Mustaine or great metal in general. Just see how many positive reviews this album has and they've been around over 20 years and bands you like will dissapear after the summer is gone. Dave Mustaine could whip any emo bands, pop artists or modern rapper just by snapping his fingers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rust In Peace
Rust In Peace by Megadeth (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.