Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So nice to be with Ruth again, ...
... and with Kate, her daughter, Cathbad, DCI Harry Nelson and his family and all the other so familiar protagonists of the Ruth-Galloway-series by Elly Griffiths.

It's December, 22 and Ruth doesn't have a Christmas Tree!
The first she ever will adorn - for her beloved Kate of almost two years now. Who knows exactly what Christmas is all about: Presents...
Published 17 months ago by miki101.Michaela

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very short story
I usually love the Ruth Galloway stories and thought this was going to be the same. Certainly, it was well written and interesting but I felt let down by the abrupt ending
Published 19 months ago by Shirl the Girl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So nice to be with Ruth again, ..., May 24, 2013
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Kindle Edition)
... and with Kate, her daughter, Cathbad, DCI Harry Nelson and his family and all the other so familiar protagonists of the Ruth-Galloway-series by Elly Griffiths.

It's December, 22 and Ruth doesn't have a Christmas Tree!
The first she ever will adorn - for her beloved Kate of almost two years now. Who knows exactly what Christmas is all about: Presents! And Santa Claus! And a tree with lights and tinsel, all glitter and glamour. But Ruth's first attempt to lay her hands on a wonderful, blessed, real special tree vanishes into thin air.
But for what we have Cathbad, the Druid? He comes to save a damsel in distress and Ruth makes her to-do-list. Because this time there will be Max, too - her friend and lover.
At a certain point not everything goes as it was planned...
But Ruth is Ruth, and everything will come out the right way. Maybe because it's Christmas...

A very nice short story - GRATIS, a Freebie, which I liked very much.
And as a bonus there are the prologue and the first two chapters of her newest book "Dying Fall".
Take it, You can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very short story, March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Kindle Edition)
I usually love the Ruth Galloway stories and thought this was going to be the same. Certainly, it was well written and interesting but I felt let down by the abrupt ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful as always, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Elly Griffiths has me in love with all things Ruth. This short story along with the series of novels has me hanging out for the next one! Tks Elly G for the gift of entertainment your stories provide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars refreshing, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Kindle Edition)
it's a good story, perhaps a bit too New Age, but pleasantly readable. I read it in just one day while on a Christmas three-days vacation sitting in an armchair by the fire and listening to the sea outside -nothing like Saltmarsh, of course- assaulting the pebbles. It is added to my most restful Christmas memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very giod story, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Kindle Edition)
I liked it. I am waiting for further stories from the author. This is a short story attached to the novels. To understand it one has to read the novels first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas time - Short Story, December 23, 2013
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Ruth is determined to get a Christmas tree for Kate.

This is a fun, short story of Ruth's few days before Christmas

I have read it probably about once a month - a quik read when I'm
waiting in doc office or just want to read a Christmas story

Looking forward to the next full length novel coming out in
2014

Keep writing Elly !!!!

Sooo incredibly fun to finally meet you this year !!!

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY

XOXOXO
MAR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, September 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Lovely story
Have read all the books, love the characters. Can't wait for next one due I think next February
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ruth's First Christmas Tree, February 15, 2013
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Ruth feels she needs to get a Christmas tree for daughter Kate's second Christmas but she has left it rather late to get one. This is an amusing short story which introduces the main series characters in this interesting crime series featuring archaeologist and single mother, Ruth Galloway.

The book also features a sample from Elly Griffith latest Ruth Galloway novel, Dying Fall. If you haven't read any of the books in the series then you might want to try this story to see if the series might interest you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love ruth galloway, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story (Kindle Edition)
i love ruth galloway....she is someone i would hang out with if she were real! :) the stories are well written and down to earth. she is a heroine who isn't afraid to get dirty. Ruth is the ultimate feminist figure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ruth's First Christmas Tree: A Ruth Galloway Short Story
Used & New from: $0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.