Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product, good value
This is a fairly specialized item, so if you're reading this review, I'll assume you know what a drive mounting bracket is for. Sabrent makes at least two models and I've tried them both. The BK-HDDH (the other model) is lightweight, but well built. The BK-HDDF (this model) is a bit heftier and seems equally well built.

These mounting brackets allow you to fit...
Published 10 months ago by Steward Willons

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's sturdy, and functional, but lacking in refinements.
As others have stated, this adapter is a sturdy piece of metal. I'm using it in my system, and as a simple piece of metal, it will work just fine. It will function just fine, I'm sure, in your system, too. It is, however, lacking in refinements.

I run a CoolerMaster HAF X case with the "push pin" style HDD thread-less "screws" (i.e., instead...
Published 6 months ago by Andrew Willing


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's sturdy, and functional, but lacking in refinements., March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SABRENT 3.5-Inch to SSD / 2.5-Inch HDD Bay Drive Converter (BK-HDDF) (Personal Computers)
As others have stated, this adapter is a sturdy piece of metal. I'm using it in my system, and as a simple piece of metal, it will work just fine. It will function just fine, I'm sure, in your system, too. It is, however, lacking in refinements.

I run a CoolerMaster HAF X case with the "push pin" style HDD thread-less "screws" (i.e., instead of screws) for the slide-in drive mount. Three out of four screw holes on this adapter were too small; that the screw holes were of an inconsistent size was a bit of a surprise. So, I had to use screws. But, using screws (supplied with this adapter, a small bonus), I had to use quite a bit of extra force in order to drive them deep enough such that the slide-in drive mount would actually slide in.

Furthermore, mounting the SSD on the inside could have been easier. There are small holes on the exterior into which you need to carefully navigate your screw & screw-driver, while simultaneously holding SSD in alignment with the interior brackets. There is no seat or anything on which to rest the SSD; you may need an extra pair of hands, or a decently magnetic screwdriver. Mine was magnetic, but apparently not enough, requiring some acrobatics to get the first screw in place.

In, all, it took me 20 minutes of futzing in order to mount the drive. It works, and it's solid, but it shouldn't have taken more than 2 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product, good value, November 8, 2013
This review is from: SABRENT 3.5-Inch to SSD / 2.5-Inch HDD Bay Drive Converter (BK-HDDF) (Personal Computers)
This is a fairly specialized item, so if you're reading this review, I'll assume you know what a drive mounting bracket is for. Sabrent makes at least two models and I've tried them both. The BK-HDDH (the other model) is lightweight, but well built. The BK-HDDF (this model) is a bit heftier and seems equally well built.

These mounting brackets allow you to fit two 2.5-inch HDD or SSD in a single 3.5-inch drive bay. This is nice because SSD drives tend to be smaller in terms of storage capacity, and with limited drive bays, it's nice to use them efficiently if you're aiming for lots of storage space.

Both models come with all the necessary screws and such. It's fairly straightforward. Again, if you're reading this review, you probably know this is for you. All I can say, really, is that I tried both models, they worked just fine, and I'm entirely pleased with them.

Full disclosure: I received this product from the manufacturer to review; however, I did not allow this to influence my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adapter, June 9, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SABRENT 3.5-Inch to SSD / 2.5-Inch HDD Bay Drive Converter (BK-HDDF) (Personal Computers)
The adapter fits two SSD drives in the single bracket. It is very sturdy. My only complaint was the difficulty of mounting the drives and putting in the screws through the small access hole. I had to switch screw drivers to comfortably fit. My fingers are also a little too big to reach between the outer bracket and the 2.5" mount, so it as a bit of a challenge. Once the SSD was mounted, I had no issues. It was cheap. It is a simple solution. It isn't complicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great for installing a SSD in my case, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SABRENT 3.5-Inch to SSD / 2.5-Inch HDD Bay Drive Converter (BK-HDDF) (Personal Computers)
Device fits up to 2 SSD's with no problem at all. Once my SSD was secured - it was easy to slip right into the HDD drive bay and then screw that in place as well.

Just make sure to have a small screwdriver for installation (ideally magnetic but not needed) - tiny little holes for locking in the SSD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works fine., May 30, 2014
By 
Wayne Palmer (Williamsport, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SABRENT 3.5-Inch to SSD / 2.5-Inch HDD Bay Drive Converter (BK-HDDF) (Personal Computers)
Updated my wife's aging machine with a Win 7 upgrade and went with a SSD drive to improve performance. The bay drive converter worked fine. No problem at all with the installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and solid 2.5" to 3.5" adapter., May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SABRENT 3.5-Inch to SSD / 2.5-Inch HDD Bay Drive Converter (BK-HDDF) (Personal Computers)
This item is perfect for what I wanted, it's a full size adapter which I had to have so it would mount on my Lian Li cases, comes with hardware to mount two drives, and it's plain and simple, easy to mount the drives in, I bought six of them to upgrade all my PCs to have a SSD boot drive.

CBayona
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as advertised., May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SABRENT 3.5-Inch to SSD / 2.5-Inch HDD Bay Drive Converter (BK-HDDF) (Personal Computers)
This product does what it is supposed to do very well. I have noticed that some reviewers have complained about positioning the ssd mount screws. The solution is very simple: hold the screw with a pair of tweezers over the ssd mount hole ,insert a screwdriver into the access hole and turn screw. Works like a charm for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You get what it says, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SABRENT 3.5-Inch to SSD / 2.5-Inch HDD Bay Drive Converter (BK-HDDF) (Personal Computers)
No issues. It fits in my PC case. And its convenient for install.

I would suggest getting it if youre installing either a laptop drive or solid state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bottom mounting screw holes, May 17, 2014
By 
S. Drake (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SABRENT 3.5-Inch to SSD / 2.5-Inch HDD Bay Drive Converter (BK-HDDF) (Personal Computers)
Purchased this, specifically as it has holes on the bottom to mount into the case. I have 3 other adapters, none of which could screw into the case via screws on the bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy, May 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SABRENT 3.5-Inch to SSD / 2.5-Inch HDD Bay Drive Converter (BK-HDDF) (Personal Computers)
Its a sturdy peace of metal that holes 2 2.5 drives, I have a SSD and a Laptop Drive in it and im happy. Once I upgrade to all SSD ill get another one of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.