Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: WoneNice NEW SATA 2nd HDD caddy for 9.5mm Universal CD/DVD-ROM ACER BENQ HP DELL ASUS
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 19, 2013
I bought this for my Asus S56C. Everything went great, install was good, build is good, slid right in with no issues. After the installation, my computer would not shut down, sleep, or even restart with a hard power button press. Days of troubleshooting, I finally found out it was actually the caddy causing the problem!

http://forum.notebookreview.com/hp-business-class-notebooks/655065-hp-elitebook-8560p-wont-shutdown.html

Here is the link of the fix. It's actually very simple. I just took a sharp razor blade to the 3rd pin (See picture on link) and cut it out of there. Plugged it back in and everything works perfectly!
review image
33 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
So, I bought this to replace the DVD drive in my Dell Precision M8400. It worked, but not before I had to make a quick switch.

When I first installed it, the computer ran WAY slow. Something just wasn't right., so I started wondering if I wasn't suffering from a similar issue as Steve325 described. I was about to take the thing apart and attempt the "3rd pin mod" as he described when I noticed a small little dip switch on the left rear side of the caddy. So, I flipped the switch and re-installed the drive, and boom! Everything sped back up and worked perfectly.

Note that there is absolutely no mention of the switch anywhere on the packaging. It's my suspicion that the switch either connects or disconnects that 3rd pin and I'm wondering if Steve 325's caddy had the switch or not.

So, lesson learned. If you install this caddy in your machine and it isn't working right, look around for a small dip switch. I don't know if all of these caddys are like mine or not, but if the switch is there, try flipping it and re-installing the drive. Mine worked a treat after I did.

Footnote: If I can figure out how, I'll upload pictures of the switch on my caddy as I took a few before I re-installed it.
review image review image
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2013
perfect with for lenovo y410p , this also includes lenovo y500 , y500p and y400.

The quality is good , just remember you dont need to install the ending black plastic thing.

The ultra bay's cover ( dvd cover ) fits fine , dont force it or ull break it. slowly rock it back n forth until all 3 pins line up.

It is off by maybe 1 mm , its 100% compatible.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2013
I got this to mount the original HDD that came with my Asus laptop because I wanted my main drive to be an SSD, but also wanted to keep the hard drive that came with the laptop as a large storage drive, and keep the whole thing internal. I use the optical drive once in a great moon these days so this seemed to be a good alternative, if a bit scary because I had no idea if it would work.

First check the sizes: there are two standards (at least as of this writing), a 9.5mm (this) and a 12.5mm (other thickness). Check your laptop first! The Asus N550JV has a 9.5mm optical drive tray, so this HDD caddy replaces that.

As I found out, you will likely need a good precision screwdriver to be able to mount the unit, even if there is a phillips screwdriver included in this kit. The reason is not the kit, it's the laptop that you need to take apart. My laptop has what I would call non-standard screw (Asus decided to use Torx T5 size screws everywhere instead of Phillips - go figure) so make sure you have the screwdriver you need to mount the caddy first.

With the screw issue out of the way, the install was a snap, the caddy fits perfectly and comes pre-drilled or slotted for the original mount. No problem attaching the original HDD drive (the caddy has four screws pre-installed, you need to unscrew them before mounting the drive, then screw them back-in).

Was able to attach the rear retention bracket that was on my optical drive, or attaching the front bezel to the HDD caddy - the fit is perfect. Just be careful with the bezel because the plastic clips holding it together look very fragile.

Product works exactly as advertised.

EM
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2016
I got this for my ROG G751 to replace the DVD drive. HDD caddies are now the most useful upgrade accessory for laptops since DVD drives are getting obsolete. Even the most expensive laptops provide only 1-1.5TB of storage, but this allowed me to add 2TB more, the biggest storage as of now for any 2.5inch drive. This is one of the most affordable ones and it shows why. It is slightly bigger than 9.5mm so it's a really tight fit. The holes at the side do not line up well with that of the HDD so the not all of the 4 screws fit right. The crucial ones are located along the flap and need to be screwed in more to avoid snagging on the chassis. The other 2 at the opposite side just help secure the drive but aren't necessary. The small screwdriver that came with it is too fragile and will ruin the screws if used, better use your own. Oh and make sure the switch is at the right position, toward the middle of the caddy (see attached picture), to avoid shutdown / startup problems. I did not have a chance to try other more expensive ones because they all looked the same and may have the same issues. Despite the minor imperfections, it does what its supposed to do and the bezel fits perfectly. No problems so far for almost 6 months now. Highly recommended.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
I bought it for my Asus N550JV and it fits perfectly inside, and the back mount from the optical drive attaches to the back allowing it to be secured in. However the front of the caddy is completely flat with no way to attach my previous bezel. This creates a large open gap. I had to permanently modify the original front bezel and very carefully gorilla glue it on the the caddy. It worked just fine but it was a task I did not want to have to deal with. That is the only reason for my only giving it 3 stars. It's fit and functionality are just fine - but having a huge gap in your laptop is stupid.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
Junk. It destroyed my partitions TWICE. Power or data connections are flimsily weak. Lost several days restoring my data and finding out the culprit which turned out to be this crappy caddy. Steer away from this one.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
Just installed in a Toshiba C55-Bxxxx. So far it works great. The instructions are inadequate. There's a plastic block at one end ("HDD" embossed on top). It has a plastic clip on each side. You have to retract (pinch together) those clips which will release the plastic block. Once you figure this out, the pictograms will make sense.

It comes with a screwdriver. The instructions refer to two lateral screws. But, I couldn't find anything applicable. The screwdriver works well for pressing the plastic clips to release the block.

It hasn't interfered with my computer sleeping. I didn't have to flip any dip switches (didn't even look for any).

It doesn't seem to be hot-swappable like a USB drive. It only appears in Windows 8.1 "My Computer" if it's connected before the computer boots. If I connect it after Windows is running, nothing happens. (That's not bad. But, a little limiting.).

I'm not sure if this drive can be booted from. It's unclear if it's recognized by the BIOS. I don't see it as an HDD in the items to boot from[1]. I'll update this when I test this.

[1] When pressing F12 during boot. Note, with a Toshiba C55 you have to get into Win 8.1's "pc settings > update/recovery" to pick a device to boot from, or go further into "troubleshooting" to elect to change the UEFI bios settings during boot.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2013
Purchased this to add a second bay to an Asus N550JV. Unit fits nicely, although the screws on the side are a bit different in the way that you get to them through the sides of the caddy. Make sure to have the proper sized philips (#0) because it can be easy to strip the screw heads.

I also used about 4" of gaff tape rolled up and placed behind the HDD so that vibrations over time would not work the HDD loose.

The Asus laptop recognized the drive without issue and now I am comfortably working with major storage anywhere I go.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
I was having problems with my pc showing ACPI using all of one processor (Core I7 quad core) when this unit was installed. Finally troubleshot it down to this device, the small, simple circuit board (connecting the DVD drive sata connector to the hard drive sata connector) was bad and was causing interrupts and conflicts in my PC, regardless of the OS run (Linux, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 8.1)

Tried another adapter board and no issues, runs stable with no processor usage when idle. Faulty board, poor quality control. Sure, it functioned but at the price of extreme battery usage (run time without this unit was 5.4 hours, with this unit, less than an hour).

Buyer beware. I may have been the only one, but I doubt it, the board is a bad design. Not worth the return for the price, so my cost of learning... my time spent resolving this issue is non-returnable and worth far more than the unit itself.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 87 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.