Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCTV At Its Best
I bought this set with low expectations, as Catherine O'Hara, Dave Thomas, and Rick Moranis had left the cast, replaced by the seemingly annoying Martin Short.

After I popped this into the DVD player, however, I was more than pleasantly surprised. Although I do lament the loss of three great castmembers, the writing on this cycle of SCTV is noticably sharper...
Published on October 28, 2005 by Matthew Comegys

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Running Out Of Steam
The loss of Dave Thomas, Catherine O'hara, and Rick Moranis is truly felt. No doubt Marty Short is talented/friendly/enthusiastic about his work (loved him in Three Amigos), but many of his characters I just find obnoxious: Jackie Rodgers, Ed Grimley - though the Jekell/Hyde parody with him was decent. I learned from the (extra) interview with him that the Grimley...
Published 22 months ago by Spike3


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCTV At Its Best, October 28, 2005
By 
Matthew Comegys (Ueda, Nagano, Japan) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SCTV, Vol. 4 (DVD)
I bought this set with low expectations, as Catherine O'Hara, Dave Thomas, and Rick Moranis had left the cast, replaced by the seemingly annoying Martin Short.

After I popped this into the DVD player, however, I was more than pleasantly surprised. Although I do lament the loss of three great castmembers, the writing on this cycle of SCTV is noticably sharper than the previous volumes. "Melonvote" is one of the greatest single epsiodes of sketch comedy that I've come across. SCTV had always been absurd, but cycle 4 does such a great job seamlessly integrating the weirdness, that it's definitely a cut above the past.

I was also greatly surprised by Martin Short. Knowing him pretty much from things like "Captain Ron" and "Jimmy Glick," I was prepared to be underwhelmed. Under the umbrella of SCTV, however, he really does stand out and show strong acting chops. Even Ed Grimely, whom I absolutely hated on SNL, is hysterical here.

If you are deferring from purchasing this set as I did, I would strongly suggest going ahead and givng it a viewing. This is a prime example of the detailed and maniacal satire that SCTV remains a cult favorite for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Life Is All Aboot..., October 15, 2005
By 
Greekfreak (Pusan Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SCTV, Vol. 4 (DVD)
Fabulous. After so many years PRAYING for this magnificent show to be released on DVD, they finally deliver the goods.

Although many cast members were missing during this time, it's amazing how much the remaining crew re-energized with the addition of Martin Short. Not all of the material is brilliant; the "A Star Is Born" satire with Crystal Gayle kind of falls flat. But 9/10 is pretty good for a show that's over 20 years old.

This set is worth it for the 'CBC' portion of the season, which was pure genius, especially their take on "Going Down The Road", which is just as much an integral part of Canadiana as the movie it spoofs.

"She's a nuclear physicist! And she's FRENCH! FRENCH, Larry, FRENCH, do ya hear me??? She's got an accent and everything!!!"

Other stand outs include "Midnight Cowboy II", "Towering Inferno", "The Brock Linehan skits (Steve Roman, Linda Hopkins, Rusty Van Reddick,)", "Scenes From An Idiot's Marriage", "Half-Wits"... the list is endless.

Now if they'd only see fit to release the original Canadian broadcasts, we'd be in heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Queen Haters!, September 21, 2005
This review is from: SCTV, Vol. 4 (DVD)
The Queen Haters - what more is there to say? OK - Midnight Cowboy - need I say more!!?

Also some footage I have never seen before, despite being an avid fan from watching the TV reruns. For example, some more bickering dialogue between Dr. Tongue and Bruno as they race to leave the Towering Inferno - I love their little squabbles!

Ed Grimly is here also, in THE NUTTY LAB ASSISTANT [with John Cougar], and in THE BOY WHO COULDN'T WAIT FOR CHRISTMAS. As well, he teaches us a lesson about 'Snakes' and ends up falling prey to the snakes' hypnotic stare ... ;-)

It is true that Rick Moranis, Dave Thomas and Catherine O'Hara [except for Christmas show] are gone, but Martin Short shines through with his new characters - for example, the simpleton on Mel's Rock Pile, or as a new face in Pre Teen World!

John Candy is brilliant as always, as LaRue, a hospitalized Tommy Shanks, or as Mr. Mambo. Extra footage includes a baseball game with all the cast [including Moranis, Thomas, and O'Hara].

Not all of it is funny, but no show always is. I will add though that the political commentary on the Mellonville Election show, or in other places is as resounding today as it was in the early 80's. As well, the overall humour is still hillarious and poignant, as was so special with the SCTV series.

I know that I will enjoy this DVD collection for a very, very long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Great Again, October 17, 2005
By 
Scott McFarland (Manassas, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SCTV, Vol. 4 (DVD)
The third cycle of NBC shows was somewhat dragged down by Thomas & Moranis "experimenting" with some silly pieces ... here, the show becomes a bit more focused and at the same time more mature than it had been to date. It lacks some of the danger of earlier years, but gains in dry satirical quality.

Martin Short isn't my favorite cast member, he's a bit of a ham sometimes and his comedy sometimes homophobic, but he and his co-writers give us some great stuff here in places - Brad Allen's "Artisans and Their Art", Jerry Lewis in "Scenes From An Idiot's Marriage" ... priceless.

There's gut-busting hialrity - see "Halfwits" (which SNL stole their "Celebrity Jeapordy" premise from). There's inspired dry satire - see the election episode, see Bobby Bittman's retirement documented. There are a couple of plot-driven episodes that rank with the best work SCTV ever did - the Fred Willard "Indecent Exposure" saga, the "Towering Inferno" episode. There's a lot here, and it's very funny and very well-made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCTV Lives!, December 30, 2006
This review is from: SCTV, Vol. 4 (DVD)
It took years, but it was worth it to finally get these episodes uncut and complete. SCTV was one of the funniest shows on TV, period. There are some lame sketches, but the amount of hits more than makes up for a few misses. Way funnier than Sat. Night Live ever was, this volume features the Jerry Lewis/Ingmar Bergman masterpiece, "Scene From An Idiot's Marriage," Divine as Peter Pan, a one man show with Larry Fine, and the ineffable "Bowery Boys in the Band," where Leo Gorcey comes out of the closet. If you didn't see them the first time around, don't delay and get them now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I CERTAINLY MUST SAY, September 13, 2005
By 
Mitchell Cassman (BUFFALO GROVE, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SCTV, Vol. 4 (DVD)
Wow! We're finally getting to the point where the 30-minute episodes are just around the corner. Volume 4 has some of the best material of the entire series. We meet Ed Grimley for the first time and get to see "The Boy Who Couldn't Wait For Christmas". "The Red Fisher Show" Featuring Joe Walsh who goes snipe hunting with Red. "Jane Eyrehead" with Robin Williams.

"Bobby Bittman's Retirement" with Ben Vereen. I could keep on going and going. You'll love this volume. This a good volume to introduce SCTV to the unenlightened. Hurry up with 5!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typically great, December 22, 2006
This review is from: SCTV, Vol. 4 (DVD)
This volume is typically excellent. The season clearly suffered from losing Dave Thomas and Catherine O'Hara (who I think is one of the pre-eminent comediennes of the last quarter-century).

Martin Short's contributions help balance out the loss of those two. I especially loved his switcheroo with John Cougar.

Brillian stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did they remaster this?, June 19, 2008
By 
Petar Ticinovic (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SCTV, Vol. 4 (DVD)
Or press it right off the original video tapes? It doesn't look or sound that much better than my ratty old videotapes from the 80s recorded in the cheapo SLP mode. The new Three Stooges reissues look and sound twice as crisp. Of course, the material is top notch-the CBC episode, the Sammy Maudlin 23rd anniversary show, the William B. Show, Vic Hedges:Private Investigator, The Bowery Boys in the Band, Murray's File, South Seas Sinner, three or four Steve Roman pieces-you could go on and on. Blows any other sketch comedy show in history away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Set of the 4 (so far?)..., December 3, 2006
By 
Datachasm (California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SCTV, Vol. 4 (DVD)
i think all the sets are excellent and highly recommend them for the occasional viewing, but if you plan on only getting one, make it this one. all the episodes contained here are excellent and i can easily see watching them over and over. some highlights:

Indecent Exposure: Ed Grimely drinks a potion and turns into John Cougar...

Melonvote: watch as Mayor Tommy Shanks seeks re-election...

Towering Inferno: i agree this is probably the best single episode...

if you are looking for "Happy Hour/Six Gun Justice", sadly it appears its not on any of the present boxes... bummer. i remember watching this after school in the 80's, i guess this came along when SCTV was on Showtime? get busy Shout Factory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best comedy show, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SCTV, Vol. 4 (DVD)
SCTV was my favorite comedy show. Satire of television by a television show is still the funniest idea for a TV program. Also they had the most talented bunch of comic actors on one show ever. THis series never got the praise it deserved. Volume 4 has the "Towering Inferno" and "Midnight Cowboy" parodies. Worth the price just for those Two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

SCTV, Vol. 4
SCTV, Vol. 4 by John Candy (DVD - 2005)
$59.97 $40.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.