Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a "survival kit", but still can be a usefull gadget.
Well, don't think this is a survival kit. It ain't. What we have here is a decent whistle (a good thing) with some other stuff. The mirror is too small, but the LED light could be handy. In a survival situation you should have 3 signaling tools- mirror, whistle and flashlight, and this handles all three, two of them fairly well.

The compass is OK as long as...
Published on June 28, 2010 by Wulfstan

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Product.. Do Not Buy, It Is a Good Idea, But It is Made out of Bad Components
I ordered a few of these because they looked like a good product that had been properly thought out as in the actual components that you would want for an emergency or "Survival Situation". I liked the Idea of having a whistle attached to a compass and also a bonus thermometer!! But When I recieved this product I was very dissapointed becuase the compass did not work #1,...
Published on August 30, 2011 by S2k189


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a "survival kit", but still can be a usefull gadget., June 28, 2010
By 
Wulfstan "wulfstan" (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle (Misc.)
Well, don't think this is a survival kit. It ain't. What we have here is a decent whistle (a good thing) with some other stuff. The mirror is too small, but the LED light could be handy. In a survival situation you should have 3 signaling tools- mirror, whistle and flashlight, and this handles all three, two of them fairly well.

The compass is OK as long as you understand it's hardly for orienteering. The thermometer is more or less useless for any survival reasons.The magnifying glass could start a fire under ideal situations, or better, it can be used to spot that splinter.

However, it goes around your neck, is lightweight, and it's something you won't feel silly carrying on a run along that well traveled trail you know so well.

There are several versions of this thing, and this is one of the better ones.

Carry some sort of firestarter, a Swiss army knife and a tiny 1st aid kit, and you're fine if you're not really going in the wilderness.

I'd say that orange would be a better color than green, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good not Great, August 10, 2010
By 
MIO (Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle (Misc.)
I purchased mine several years ago and have found it to be useful. It is not the "ultimate" survival tool but worthy of having it. I placed a small amount of "lint" used as tinder in it for firestarter as well. The light is just enough for most purposes. The whistle works well and is loud enough. The compass is cheap but useable. It will get you in a general direction to a known highway or directional area.I bought several and placed them in my kids backpacks as well. The magnifier might start a fire with real good sunlight. The mirror is good but small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Product.. Do Not Buy, It Is a Good Idea, But It is Made out of Bad Components, August 30, 2011
This review is from: SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle (Misc.)
I ordered a few of these because they looked like a good product that had been properly thought out as in the actual components that you would want for an emergency or "Survival Situation". I liked the Idea of having a whistle attached to a compass and also a bonus thermometer!! But When I recieved this product I was very dissapointed becuase the compass did not work #1, and #2 the Thermometer did not work. I guess the whistle will probably somewhat work, but the whole Idea was to have an idea of where to go (ie compass), and have an idea of how Hot it was (..the Thermometer). But when the Two reasons that I actually bought this whistle for fail horribly, then there is nothing left but a huge whistle that will not out perform a good metal whistle.

So Would I rebuy this item?? No, Not at the Moment.. But if the Manufacturer actually looked at the components they used to make this and they actually switched them out with things that actually worked like a compass that worked, then I would probably buy one.

You Cant have people thinking that they would be going the right way in an emergency when in fact they would most likely be traveling the Wrong Way and not towards Rescue..

If I could have given a Big Zero I WOuld Have, to Save Some Other Customer the Trouble!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good for the little ones, October 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle (Misc.)
ordered 4 for the grandkids to us when camping to gain experience. OK for that or for the most basic help but after that not much help.
Out of 4 1 flashlight didn't work (to late lil guy had it already)
and only 2 compasses pointed to the same North.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept but very flawed, March 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle (Misc.)
The price should have been lower. This a cheap, flimsy item. Oh, and the led light didn't even work when I got it. Don't waste your money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely room for improvement, July 6, 2012
This review is from: SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle (Misc.)
This "7-in-1 Survival Whistle" seems like a good design idea that went the cheap route. Before you purchase this, you should be aware of a few particulars:

1. The compartment is NOT waterproof. Naturally, one would want to store match heads, tinder, fish hooks, or water purification tablets in such a compartment, except that there is NO O-ring or waterproofing to seal out moisture. Should this device be immersed in water for any reason then expect the compartment to get soaked. **If you purchase this device,you will need to find a small waterproof plastic baggie that can fit inside the compartment and protect small items from water damage.

2. The three sections of the body are held together by simply twisting them into place, which means the sections could inadvertently come apart and become lost. The product should have been designed so that the body sections screwed together securely.

3. The performance of the compass is "decent" and certainly not the best in its class. Mine kept pointing NNE instead of N. **If you purchase this item, you will need to compare the compass alongside a professional compass and re-tune with a strong magnet if necessary.

4. The therm comes either in Celsius or Fahrenheit depending on where you purchase this product. The reading is not very accurate, but then having a term in a survival situation is useless anyway. After all, knowing the EXACT temperature of your surroundings isn't going to do much good in helping to save your life.

5. The small magnifying lens CAN be used to focus the sun's rays to start a fire, though it is best to do so within 3 hours of noon on a clear day.

6. The single LED light is not intended for signaling purposes. But having a small bright light is better than nothing when you find yourself in pitch black darkness.

7. The whistle is not as loud as a professional survival whistle. There are other whistles on the market that produce many more decibels. On the up side, this whistle does NOT use a "pea" (small ball to product sound) as some have described. (Pea whistles tend to lock up when wet and therefore are unreliable in a survival situation.)

MY MAIN GRIPES about this product is lack of quality. The designers had the opportunity to make a great product, but chose to go the cheap route instead. If I could redesign this...I would use ABS plastic, design the body to screw together and be completely waterproof, replace the therm with a magnesium ferro rod and include a small steel tool for a striker, use a real magnifying glass, and attach 550-paracord for the lanyard.

BOTTOM LINE: The "7-in-1 Survival Whistle" makes a good gift for your children ages 10+ who enjoy the outdoors. And having this is better than nothing should you find yourself stuck in the wild. Just know that "you get what you pay for" and there are better products on the market that offer higher quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please Don't Waste Your Time, May 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle (Misc.)
You get what you pay for, compass reads north no matter the direction. Temperature reads 80 no matter what. I bought it because i figured it couldn't be that bad, but it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compass, Thermometer, and LED, November 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle (Misc.)
I bought 4 and wasn't expecting much for $2.47 + free delivery.
So the first thing I did is to check both the compass and thermometer readings.

The COMPASS
--------------
Surprisingly, the compass pointed more or less the same as the excellent
SE Lensatic Compass
[...]

I repeated the test facing different direction and the compass always went towards N to within +/-15 degrees. But after few tries it would settle on the correct N to within +/-5 degrees. So don't trust the first reading but try 3-5 times to find the general (not right) N.

The THERMOMETER
-------------------
The reading is again to with +/- 2 degrees with the excellent
LCD Display Temperature and Humidity Meter with Alarm Clock Hygrometer
[...]

The reading is in C not F so be ready for some mental arithmetic :)

The LED LIGHT
--------------
Produces bright and very useful ~30 degrees cone of smooth light. Not useless pointy.
It don't expect the battery to last long though. So use only when necessary.

The MIRROR
------------
Once I was asked if someone reflects a beam of light from at someone on the Moon then suddenly deflect the mirror to point at someone on Mar (within 0.5 second), would he then be breaking the maximum Speed of light (c) and be able to transmit information from Moon to Mar faster then c?

It is a mirror, so don't criticize its size but its reflectivity which is more than good enough to attract attention.

The LENS
---------
Once again the light is diffused and not focused enough for making fire but good enough as an emergency for reading the small numbers on the back cover of the De Vinci Code thriller.

The WHISLE
------------
Loud enough but wish it can produce animal sounds too, to attract deers :) You see I just bought the hunting watch:
Casio Men's PAS410B-5V Pathfinder Moon Phase Hunting Timer Watch
[...]
for its moon phase and sunrise/sunset timings and best deer spotting (hunting for others) times.
The fishing one does the same except it is $5 cheaper.
[...]

PS: The answer to the breaking of speed of light can be found at [...] :)

Peace to all ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Your choice, August 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle (Misc.)
I knew this would be cheap but I wouldn't even bring it outside. The flashlight isn't sealed, the compass hardly moved, there is a magnifier in there?

Made in China. Find something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for., October 31, 2011
This review is from: SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle (Misc.)
Compass doesn't work and the LED flashlight is intermittent. The mailman just dropped off the package and I opened it right away.
The whistle is loud...relatively, there is a magnifying glass, a reflective mirror that is recessed, the thermometer is in Celsius only, and the empty space is really small (not enough space to hold a match unless you trim it down)
All in all, I think you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

SE 6-in-1 Survival Whistle
$4.76 $2.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.