Customer Reviews


235 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful for lesser experienced electronic build and repair projects.
Lets me make temporary connections to test circuit prior to soldering. Also helpful for determining wiring routes and lengths prior to cutting the permanent wire.
Published 12 months ago by steve jones

versus
123 of 140 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow, more total trash from overseas
These are absolutely the worst leads I've ever seen. They prove that the "cheap overseaas" moniker is deserved and --astoundingly-- devolving. The wire is maybe 28 AWG, _maybe_. It's uncoated copper, pre-corroded (turning green/black). The plastic coating is a bit rougher (which initially seemed nice, versus the previous el-cheapo leads with shiny plastic coating)...
Published on January 28, 2011 by MichaelBrenden


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

123 of 140 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow, more total trash from overseas, January 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece (Tools & Home Improvement)
These are absolutely the worst leads I've ever seen. They prove that the "cheap overseaas" moniker is deserved and --astoundingly-- devolving. The wire is maybe 28 AWG, _maybe_. It's uncoated copper, pre-corroded (turning green/black). The plastic coating is a bit rougher (which initially seemed nice, versus the previous el-cheapo leads with shiny plastic coating). The clips are of course awful. The clips are crimped (not soldered) onto the wires and coating, with the bared wires folded back over the coating...meaning that simply "adding a dab of solder to the crimp" (which used to work on all previous el-cheapo leads) no longer works and instead causes a molten, stinky plastic mess.

Beware this product; they've actually made what was already horrible much worse. I'd send them back if it didn't cost more.

I find my opinion of Amazon decreasing as I discover they carry such total garbage. And the clowns who write positive or blaise or non-critical reviews of technical products, well, maybe they should go overseas, too. It pains me that such garbage products have been put into place and have put out well-made products, American or otherwise. The commentator Gerald Celente mentions a "Made in China" backlash that's been long brewing. Total garbage products like this junk frenetically propel that eventuality, but not nearly enough. These leads are total, absolute junk -- build your own. Get American made Mueller clips from Digikey and some real 22 AWG Teflon coated wire from Weico and save yourself the trouble, cost and aggravation of discovering Yet Another piece of total overseas garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thin gauge wire, doesn't look very durable, September 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece (Tools & Home Improvement)
These jumper clips have the thinnest wires I have ever seen, probably 24 or 26 AWG. The wires are so thin they feel like they might break internally or disconnect from the clip ends. I was hoping to toss these in a toolbox for frequent use but they would probably be damaged.
If you are going to use these on a bench (for example with a breadboard) and always handle them carefully then they will be acceptable. For more real life use where they might experience rough handling I wouldn't recommend them. (FYI I ordered from Amazon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even close to 16 gauge, November 27, 2011
This review is from: SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece (Tools & Home Improvement)
The actual wire is super thin and no where near the 16 gauge that was advertised. That part of the description was an outright lie. The price should've given it away, but I trusted what they advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light-duty Test Leads, November 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece (Tools & Home Improvement)
Some of the specs on these leads (from the package):

Length: 19 1/2"
Alligator Clip Length: 1 1/2"
22 ga Insulation for protection against shorting and shock
Assorted colors: red, green, black, white, and yellow

These Chinese-made leads are very light duty becuase of the wire gauge and length. Much more suited for circuit board work than for automotive applications where you are possibly handling higher current loads. At 20 1/2" long (measured clip end to clip end), you can't span a very long distance with them and the small clips are barely big enough to grasp connections 1/4" in size. Two leads of each color are included. They are fine for low voltage apps and short jumps; buy something with a heavier gauge wire and bigger clips for automotive work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The clips are not soldered to the wire..., October 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece (Tools & Home Improvement)
These alligator clips look really nice, but in reality, they are very low quality. The wires are attached to the clips using the crimp tabs, but they are not crimped in well, nor are they soldered. Within hours of use, I noticed that my circuits were misbehaving and I tracked it to intermittent connections at the clips. Some wires had already detached from the clips completely.

If you gently tug on the wires, you'll see that on many, they easily detach from the alligator clips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor quality - very, November 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece (Tools & Home Improvement)
At the price, I didn't expect AWG18 wire, and I didn't expect the wires to be well attached. The wire is likely smaller than 26 and they are poorly crimped to the clamps. My intent was to remove the original wires and install 20 or 22 gage wire in the clips, soldering and crimping the clips to the new wire. But, the clips themselves and the plastic insulating sleeves are just as low quality as the wires, The finger tabs on the clips are all bent every witch way, and that combined with the extremely smooth and slippery insides of the insulating sleeves makes it almost impossible to squeeze the clips open, the clip just slides (rotates) around inside the sleeve till the fingers are trying to squeeze the clips from the sides which is useless. I had purchased another set from HF Tools that must have been from exactly the same batch. guess this is an item you either make yourself from known quality parts, or purchase from a better quality source, if they are good, it's worth a buck per clip wire.

I saw another review that said "at this price you can't go wrong". that is absolutely not true, these aren't worth their weight in tap water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How can something so simple be so bad?, June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece (Tools & Home Improvement)
The wires are thinner than advertised - probably 28 ga. - I had a brief 12vdc low current short with one and it was red hot in 1 second.

The vinyl protective sleeves around the clips are so slick it's almost impossible to get a grip on them without the alligator clip slipping and turning inside the slippery sleeve so you can't squeeze it open. I wound up cutting them off and discarding the plastic sleeves and just using the bare leads

These are no bargain. Junk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not 16 guage!, October 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece (Tools & Home Improvement)
the description says 16 gauge, the back of the packaging says 22 gauge. It seems like maybe 24 or 26 guage, dont expect for higher then 1-2 amps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars test leads need doctor, November 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece (Tools & Home Improvement)
These test leads were the worst.the clip part that you push is so small you slip on the vinyl cover and have to make a concerted
effort to open the clip .I would not recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wimpy, December 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece (Tools & Home Improvement)
These test leads were way too wimpy for automotive use. Ifter a couple of them pulled apart then I just threw the rest of them out. Low grade product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

SE TL10 Clip Test Lead, 10-Piece
$5.20 $4.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.