Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful, witty, fun roller coaster ride
Every time you think you have this one figured out Daughtridge comes from a different direction... always with fresh perceptive understanding of the characters' motives. A beautifully told story of relationships and self discovery with enough healthy, fun sex to satisfy most (my favorite was in the swing). This serious novel by a skilled writer is clothed as a romance and...
Published on April 15, 2008 by New Age Retiree

versus
59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay read
2 1/2 - 3 stars
Jackson "Jax" Graham is a Navy SEAL whose ex-wife just died leaving their almost five-year-old son, Tyler, without a mother. He plans to give custody to his ex-mother-in-law without a fight, but his commander forces him to take 30 days leave to spend with his son to figure it out.
Pickett Sessoms is a family therapist and specializes in military...
Published on August 11, 2009 by Laura B


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay read, August 11, 2009
By 
Laura B (Nevada United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SEALed with a Kiss (Kindle Edition)
2 1/2 - 3 stars
Jackson "Jax" Graham is a Navy SEAL whose ex-wife just died leaving their almost five-year-old son, Tyler, without a mother. He plans to give custody to his ex-mother-in-law without a fight, but his commander forces him to take 30 days leave to spend with his son to figure it out.
Pickett Sessoms is a family therapist and specializes in military families. She spies Jax and his son on the beach not bonding and intervenes to give a little help.
When a hurricane blows into town, Jax has no place to go and finds himself asking Pickett for a place to stay to ride out the storm. Plus, he's looking for help with his son.

I had high hopes for this book. It actually started out fairly well. It seemed almost believable that a single woman would allow a stranger and his son to stay with her after having only knowing him for an hour.
Jax is a SEAL--this point is driven home over and over and over to the point of annoyance. I got it! It is who he is and what he does, but does he have to repeat it to himself and everyone else 50 million times?
The middle 1/3 of the book is a huge lull...not much really seems to happen other than Jax repeating his SEAL mantra and Pickett reminding herself that he is a SEAL and won't be there for long. Plus, the author likes to use big words and go into intellectual rants. I couldn't help but wonder if the author was/is a therapist (checked her bio and she was a speech therapist and hypnotherapist, so I was partly correct--she is well-educated).
Near the end it speeds up a bit and comes together and slightly redeems itself. Unfortunately, the end is a little bland and doesn't really finish (some things seemed to hang a little and left the reader to assume the outcome).
I would say that I think this book is good for setting up a Navy SEAL as not only a hero, but a real person with problems and life difficulties. Sometimes other SEAL books make them out to be perfect--heroes, great fathers, husbands, etc...this one actually puts it a bit more on a real level of a hero not really knowing how to deal with his own life.
Overall, this was just a so-so read.

For the KINDLE readers: the formatting on this book is TERRIBLE! It has the page "headers" in the middle of page (like the book was scanned in and the top and bottom of the page with the page numbers and titles were not removed) for a few pages, but not all. Some lines had carriage returns in the middle of the line making the book look like it was in a column, not a page...overall, I was disappointed in Amazon's formatting this ebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful, witty, fun roller coaster ride, April 15, 2008
Every time you think you have this one figured out Daughtridge comes from a different direction... always with fresh perceptive understanding of the characters' motives. A beautifully told story of relationships and self discovery with enough healthy, fun sex to satisfy most (my favorite was in the swing). This serious novel by a skilled writer is clothed as a romance and I enjoyed it as such, but it deserves to be seen as much more. Witty, funny, tense, rough and tender with credible characters, settings and action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Former SEAL, April 4, 2008
Mary Margret has my SEAL Teammates down to a "T". Well Written for anyone that loves a Romance Novel or just a great story. She does understand the human condition and makes you happy about it with this story.

John Carl Roat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome debut book!, March 26, 2008
By 
Navy SEAL Jax Graham has found himself in a precarious situation. His ex-wife's death leaves him as the sole support to his four-year-old son, but his career leaves precious little time for him to play full-time dad. Granting custody to his ex-wife's mother seems like the ideal solution but after spending time with her and his son, Tyler, he's questioning if he's making the right decision . . . and if not then what should he do?

Family therapist Pickett Sessoms takes her job to heart. She knows exactly what she wants and love doesn't enter into the equation. She sees military families struggling all the time to stay together and knows she doesn't have the fortitude to withstand the demands of military life. So why is she obsessing over a little boy and his father she met on the beach?

With a hurricane barreling toward the North Carolinian coastline, Pickett's mother volunteers her to prepare some elderly friends' beach house `because Pickett lives at the beach' - never mind that she lives thirty miles away in Snead's Ferry. While struggling to close the shutters she notices a young boy and his father on the beach, both uncomfortable with each other. Getting involved isn't part of her plans but she can't resist trying to help. When she leaves Jax and Tyler are happily building castles in the wet sand.

When the time comes to evacuate, Tyler's grandmother Lauren is panicky and demands to take Tyler with her. Jax is still on leave and insists that his son will stay with him. He hasn't changed his mind about giving her custody but her drinking is cause for concern. Before leaving Lauren projects her own fears onto Tyler so that nothing Jax does calms his fears. Finding a hotel to stay at until the storm blows over proves to be impossible, but Jax comes up with idea of calling Pickett and asking her to put them up for a few days. Against her better judgment she agrees and they move into her home but Pickett isn't prepared for the emotional attachment that she feels for them. The last thing she wants or needs is to become involved with a military man and SEALs are extremely focused on their career. What she doesn't realize is that she needs a hero just as much as he needs a family therapist to help him form a relationship with his son.

Mary Margret Daughtridge really pulls at the readers heartstrings with her debut release SEALED WITH A KISS. Pickett, Jax and Tyler are wonderful characters who are struggling with their own issues and insecurities that makes it easy to be able to relate to them. I loved getting to know these characters and being privy to their relationship through its ups and downs. What stunned me was how my feelings toward the grandmother went from hatred to almost feeling sorry for her.

Military men are often considered the ultimate hero and highly desirable. Ms. Daughtridge presents Jax in a `human' light and we get to see his vulnerabilities and insecurities. Not traits we normally expect to see in heroes but in this case it works beautifully. SEALED WITH A KISS is a wonderful story that will have readers experiencing a whirlwind of emotions and culminating with an awesome scene that will have your pulse pounding.

Chrissy Dionne (courtesy of Romance Junkies)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent Romance Novel: SEALed with a Kiss, March 29, 2008
I don't read many romance novels, don't have time. But when the opportunity came to read SEALed With A Kiss, I jumped at it.
It's a thinking woman's romance novel.
Jax and Pickett are complex, authentic characters before they meet, and get even more interesting as their lives come together over one weekend at the beach during a hurricane. The sex scenes are fun (and hot), but the story of how two good, solid, independently minded people fall in love and then help each other to grow and love even more is a page turner.
While some will consider it a great "beach" read, it was a "Friday night into early Saturday morning" read for me. And I'm not a fast reader. It was just too good to put down.
All romance novels have happy endings. I loved Daughtridge's ending because through the storms they weathered together, Jax and Pickett forged a truely healthy, loving relationship.

Dr. Elizabeth Vaughan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughtridge's "Sealed with a Kiss", April 1, 2008
What an excellent read! From the first page, I was hooked. Daughtridge's characters experience the gamut of emotions and you're right there with them, thanks to the author's style and exceptional grasp of the human condition. The story is filled with challenges, both external and internal, for each main character as they weave their way toward love. Ms. Daughtridge's colorful descriptions of the North Carolina coast and her understated wit make for a wonderfully entertaining first novel. I can hardly wait for her next work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Review: SEALed With A Kiss, July 8, 2008
SEALed WITH A KISS
MARY MARGRET DAUGHTRIDGE

Rating: 4.5 Enchantments

Dedicated workaholic, Jax Graham is the ultimate Navy SEAL. He's a leader. He's a planner. He's skilled and responsible. And he's deployed about 200 days a year. Burned by his ex and tired of SEAL groupies, he's completely focused on his career, avoiding anything even hinting at commitment. He's on the fast track to early promotion when fate throws him a mission he never trained for - single parenthood! Lacking parental skills and struggling to connect with a defensive, emotionally guarded five-year-old stranger after the death of his ex-wife, Jax finds himself completely out to sea - and not in a good way. Under pressure to surrender custody to his former mother-in-law, well aware of the demands of being a SEAL, and desperate to do the right thing, Jax has dedicated all that he is to making one last attempt to bond with his son - or risk losing him forever.

Lovely, soft-hearted Pickett Sessoms knows first hand how difficult it is for a relationship to survive the grueling demands of military service. A family therapist for a Marine base, she deals with emotional wreckage every day, but she cannot resist offering her help when she inadvertently observes Jax fumbling to connect with Tyler at the beach. When a hurricane forces Jax and Tyler to evacuate, Jax reaches out to Pickett. Even though his first impression has him wondering if she's just another high maintenance woman, it seems that she can offer some of the answers he needs. Pickett may be a little inexperienced, but one look at Jax and she just knows he's not relationship material, and besides, she wants nothing to do with a man who isn't there for her. Yet touched by Jax's protectiveness of his son and glimpses of vulnerability in such an alpha male, Picket shelters them from the storm. Wary of entanglement but drawn to Pickett's innate kindness, Jax must set aside his preconceptions and learn to trust. Will the intimacy inherent in working together in a time of crisis lead them to something more?

SEALed WITH A KISS snatches the reader up into a whirlwind of emotion and never disappoints! Skillfully using the slightly arcane world of the military as a backdrop, the author creates a believable reality for her lead characters, yet does not enmesh them in that culture. Instead, she focuses on the development of their relationship and the very real lessons that each much learn as they discover each other and bond as a family. With very realistic insights regarding the impact of a young child on both a parent and on a new relationship, and the pressures imposed by the demands of a military career, Ms. Daughtridge offers an endearing tale of love found. Glimpses into their early lives enrich the current personalities of the lead characters and enable Jax and Pickett to grow beyond their fears and bridge the gaps that keep them apart. A particularly knowledgeable reader might quibble about a couple of minor inaccuracies about the nature of shared custody and the extent of military authority into custody decisions, but this distraction fades as the author shifts her focus onto the characters. Interesting vignettes involving Jax's fellow SEALs encourage the reader to be on the lookout for the next book by this author. This one's a keeper!

True southerner, Mary Margret Daughtridge has been a grade school teacher, speech therapist, family educator, biofeedback therapist, and Transpersonal Hypnotherapist. A member of Heart of Carolina Romance Writers, Romance Writers of America, and Romancing the Military Soul, she is a sought-after judge in writing contests.

Deana W.
Enchanting Reviews
May 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgetable FANTASTIC Romance - Don't miss it!!, April 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I don't usually write reviews because I feel inadequate writing them but this book is so ROMANTIC and has such great characters that I HAD to share my excitement and joy from reading it. I finished reading this book a couple days ago and the first thing I wanted to do was RE-READ it. There are so many cherished parts.

I couldn't start reading another book because this book would not leave me. It is AWESOME!!!

You are going to LOVE Pickett because she is so real - she is very intelligent and doesn't sacrifice her beliefs even though the hero is OMG a great looking and a well built marine. He lacks knowledge on connecting with his son and Pickett is perfect for both of them.

I can guarantee that you will LOVE this book and it is worth every cent to have on your keeper shelf. "SEALed With A Kiss" is definitely a gift (birthday, Christmas, etc.) for every female I know because they will never get enough of reading this wonderful LOVE story. I really didn't want it to end.

I was disappointed when I googled the author's name and found this was her first book. I was really wishing for another 20 I could buy immediately.

Mary Margret Daughtridge has AMAZING talent and I can't wait to read more. Hurry please!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best male hero ever!, February 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just can't think of enough adjectives to express how much I loved this novel. Jax is a wonderful hero, totally male - which I love! Mary Margret is an incredible writer. Her words flow with intelligence and depth. You completely understand the characters, what motivates them, how they evolve, and why they are absolutely perfect for each other. I loved the dynamic of having a child involved. It added to the story in such a remarkable way, without taking anything from the romance and chemistry between Jax and Pickett. So much more to say, but I'll end with: Military men ROCK! Bring on the next one Mary Margret - I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY ROMANTIC!, April 6, 2008
By 
If you like your heroes wet and wild, this one's for you! It's heartwarming, romantic, and VERY sexy! Sort of makes me want to take swimming lessons....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

SEALed with a Kiss
SEALed with a Kiss by Mary Margret Daughtridge
$7.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.