Customer Reviews


251 Reviews
5 star:
 (215)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very well designed and powerful AC wall charger with a 5 foot power cord to reach where you need it!
Customer Video Review     Length:: 7:23 Mins
This is a great accessory to own for those people or families that have a lot of electronic devices to recharge. This charger has 5 ports and you can literally charge 5 items at the same time. Two ports are for an Apple iPad and are rated at 5 VDC and 2.1 Amps. One is for a Samsung Tab and is rated at 1.3 Amps, one is for an iPhone at is rated...
Published 13 months ago by JJCEO

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buzzing/humming sound after a day or two
Worked fine for a day or two, then started buzzing/humming constantly. Since I keep my devices on a nightstand near my bed, this noise was very distracting. Had to return the unit.
Published 11 months ago by BBB


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very well designed and powerful AC wall charger with a 5 foot power cord to reach where you need it!, January 12, 2014
This review is from: SHARKK® 50W 6-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter with 5-Foot Power Cord for Apple iPad Air / iPad Mini / iPad mini Retina / iPhone 5 / 5S / 5C / All Apple Phones and Tablets / Android Smartphones & Tablets / Samsung Galaxy / Samsung Tab / Samsung Note / And other USB-Powered Devices (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Length:: 7:23 Mins

This is a great accessory to own for those people or families that have a lot of electronic devices to recharge. This charger has 5 ports and you can literally charge 5 items at the same time. Two ports are for an Apple iPad and are rated at 5 VDC and 2.1 Amps. One is for a Samsung Tab and is rated at 1.3 Amps, one is for an iPhone at is rated at 1 Amp and the last one is for an android phone and it is rated at 1 Amps output current. The entire charger can output a max of 5 amps combined if all ports are in use.

In my video I go over the features and benefits of this charger and I also show the output voltages and current for the ports. My iPads would charge in all of the ports except they did not like the Samsung port and they could only draw 0.46 Amps out of that port as it is wired for the Samsung devices. Apple cables are combination data and charging cables so the AC mode of charging was not activated by the Apple cable. My Kindle Fire charged in all 5 ports and actually was able to draw more current out of the Samsung port than the iPad could.

I was able to charge:
* Kindle Fire
* iPad Air
* iPad 2
* iPad 3
* iPhone 5S
* Kindle Paperwhite
* Kindle Keyboard

This is a powerful charger and I love that it has a 5 foot long AC power cord so you can plug it into the wall and put the charger head with the USB ports on your desk, nightstand or dresser. I also liked how all of the USB ports are on the same end of the head. I have reviewed many chargers that had multiple ports coming out of all sides of the charging hub and when wired they looked like an octopus of wires on your desk. At least with this one you can dress the wiring together and make it more presentable and reduce wiring clutter.

For a permanent installation on a desk I put self-sticking cable tie down anchors underneath the top of the desk and mount hubs like these on the bottom of the desk with cable ties and plug in the device charging cables and take them to the top of the desk. This keeps the clutter off of the top of the desk. I actually wish they sold these chargers with an optional 8 Foot AC power cord for people that had to go a little further to reach the AC wall plugs which sometimes are just in the wrong place and further away than you would like.

I like the fact that this device is safety protected and protects not only itself but the batteries of your devices with voltage control, current control, temperature control and the maximum charging time monitoring. The AC power input is rated at 100 to 240 VAC and 50/60 Hz. The total current consumption at AC voltage is 650 mA. This is an excellent product and I rated it at 5 stars.

I was supplied a sample of the product for test and evaluation and I promised to provide a fair and honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, But With One Glaring Flaw., January 28, 2014
By 
This review is from: SHARKK® 50W 6-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter with 5-Foot Power Cord for Apple iPad Air / iPad Mini / iPad mini Retina / iPhone 5 / 5S / 5C / All Apple Phones and Tablets / Android Smartphones & Tablets / Samsung Galaxy / Samsung Tab / Samsung Note / And other USB-Powered Devices (Wireless Phone Accessory)
DISCLAIMER: I was provided a free sample for my fair and honest testing and evaluation.

I was able to charge multiple devices with this, up to and including the following:
- iPhone 5S
- iPhone 4
- Two iPod Touches
- Kindle Fire HD (possibly an X -- nonetheless, it's a Kindle)
- Motorola Droid RAZR

So, I'll quickly discuss this without trying too hard to sound like the other reviewers. This device is sweet. This frees up space on your surge protector or in your outlets so that you can charge it all through this. It draws a simple 25W, which is nice. It's very easy to use and the box is modeled after an Apple product box (who doesn't like nice boxes?). Furthermore, there are two components to this charger -- the chord as well as the obvious charger. The charger has the five ports, labelled iPad, Samsung Tab, iPad, iPhone, and Android. Droids/iPhones/iPads (essentially, Apple products, if I was to make a blanket statement) all draw 1 Amp and so they can use four out of five ports, disregarding the labels. The Kindle, on the other hand, I put in the Samsung Tab slot. It uses that amount of Amperage up and it charges just the same.

Moving on to the chord that is included: it's white as well as the charger and it's five feet or so in length. This means your port could be way far away, but you could have this next to your computer (so you won't drain the battery on that) and you can charge everything whilst working. This chord is nice.

Now, whomever reads this might be wondering, that sounds great, so why not five stars? Well, it's simple. You'd expect something that hooks up to five pretty expensive items potentially all at once to have surge protection, right? This does NOT have it. A surge protector does exactly that -- it protects against surges (or spikes) in the electrical currency, found in electrical storms and such. This can fry your devices. So, this device DOES make it convenient though, in that it frees up space on your surge protector! I would NOT recommend putting this straight into the wall though. That's just my opinion, though. But I would definitely plug the surge protector into the socket in the wall, then plug this into the surge protector and my devices, via USB, into the Sharkk charger. So, that's a big flaw in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well crafted product that undercuts its competitors!, April 11, 2014
This review is from: SHARKK® 50W 6-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter with 5-Foot Power Cord for Apple iPad Air / iPad Mini / iPad mini Retina / iPhone 5 / 5S / 5C / All Apple Phones and Tablets / Android Smartphones & Tablets / Samsung Galaxy / Samsung Tab / Samsung Note / And other USB-Powered Devices (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Everything from cell phones, and tablets, to MP3 players and voltmeters are charged through USB devices, but unfortunately your computer’s USB ports only have enough current to supply a fraction of your device’s potential. Fortunately, SHARKK has made the SHARKK® 25W 5-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter as a USB charger that doesn’t require your computer.

▶ Package Contents
1 x SHARKK® 25W 5-Port USB Power Adapter
1 x Power cord

▶ Accessories
The only accessory that is included this device is a 55 inch white 2-prong power adapter. This adapter is very similar to the construction of laptop power adapters, which is good, since this adapter can be easily replaced if it ever were to be damaged. The fact that the adapter is a little over 4 feet makes this the perfect adapter in work stations. I overall like the power adapter concept, and that SHARKK chose to not include any proprietary charging.

▶ Specifications
Input: AC 100V-240V
Output:
• USB x 5 - 5V/5A (Max)
• USB 1 - 2.1A (iPad)
• USB 2 - 1.3A (Samsung Tab)
• USB 3 – 2.1A (iPad)
• USB 4 – 1A (iPhone)
• USB 5 – 1A (Android)
Dimension: 98mm * 60mm * 26mm
Weight: 153.5g ± 5g

▶ Hardware
The product images make this product much bulkier than it really is (3.8 x 2.3 x 1 inches; 5.4 ounces). It is a very small and light device that you can hold in your hand like a mobile phone. This product only comes in a glossy white plastic, but looks very sleek and minimalistic without being a fingerprint magnet. On the front are 5 ports with the text “iPad, Samsung Tab, iPad, iPhone, and Android” over one of each of the ports. I really like the concept, but wish these ports also had the 1A, 1.3A, or 2.1A text as well, as I automatically assumed “Android” was a 2.1A port, but wasn’t. For the average person buying this product this won’t matter, but I would prefer the most current for my tablets, which are rated at 2.1A. On the left side is the SHARKK name and logo, and on the back is the power adapter port and specifications. I overall like the build of this product, as it doesn’t look a simple USB charger with a plastic enclosure, and with the price tag being less than $20.00 ($17.00) makes this one of the cheapest USB chargers and the perfect stocking stuffer.

▶ Setup
Setup doesn’t get simpler than with this device. Plug the two prong power adapter into the USB charger, and then into your wall outlet.

▶ Testing
I tested this device with my Nexus 7 (2013), running stock Android 4.4.2, with a 3950mAh battery, using no processes other than system apps. I first started to test the current and voltage that my Nexus was taking from the Android port at 1% and 80% and found the following results:

1%:
Current: 1.11A
Voltage: 4.86V
Peak Current: 1.14A
Minimum Required Voltage: 4.75V

80%
Current: 0.22A
Voltage: 4.93V
Peak Current: 0.24A
Minimum Required Voltage: 4.83V

These results are very appealing since the port can give more current than the port is rated at. I then tested the fast charge of my tablet.

Time: Nexus 7 Battery %
2:00PM: 1%
2:23PM: 12%
3:55PM: 49%
4:42PM: 51%
6:50PM: 73%
7:36PM: 83%
8:17PM: 92%
9:50PM: 100%

Total Time: 8 Hours
Total Charge: 3950mAh
Charge Per Hour = 3950mAh/8h = 493mAh per hour

These results are about average, but because they were being used with a 1A port, I can say these results definitely suffice, as a 1A port would generally take around 10-12 hours to charge my device. I am definitely satisfied with these results.

▶ Final Thoughts
Overall, the build quality is nice, the results tested well, and this is overall a well made product. I would recommend this product to anyone who needs a USB charger, and is why I give this product 5 out of 5 stars. You would think for the cheaper price that you would get a cheaper product, but SHARKK has made a well crafted product that undercuts its competitors.

Pros:
+ A five port USB charger, in the sub $20 range, using materials that don’t feel cheap; the perfect stocking stuffer.
+ Performed well using the 1A charger during tests.
+ Very common power adapter provided; very easy to replace if adapter is ever damaged.

Cons:
- Text over ports needs to also state the current for each port: 1A, 1.3A, or 2.1A

I was provided a sample in exchange for a thorough and honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buzzing/humming sound after a day or two, March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHARKK® 50W 6-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter with 5-Foot Power Cord for Apple iPad Air / iPad Mini / iPad mini Retina / iPhone 5 / 5S / 5C / All Apple Phones and Tablets / Android Smartphones & Tablets / Samsung Galaxy / Samsung Tab / Samsung Note / And other USB-Powered Devices (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Worked fine for a day or two, then started buzzing/humming constantly. Since I keep my devices on a nightstand near my bed, this noise was very distracting. Had to return the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars But if you buy one the SHARKK company will start sending you spam trying for good reviews of it, September 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHARKK® 50W 6-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter with 5-Foot Power Cord for Apple iPad Air / iPad Mini / iPad mini Retina / iPhone 5 / 5S / 5C / All Apple Phones and Tablets / Android Smartphones & Tablets / Samsung Galaxy / Samsung Tab / Samsung Note / And other USB-Powered Devices (Wireless Phone Accessory)
It works ok. But if you buy one the SHARKK company will start sending you spam trying for good reviews of it. I knocked off stars for their spam. And they can say it's not spam, but the unsubscribe link they give you is in itty bitty letters at the bottom that they are trying to hide. I call that spam.
- Joe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap made in China garbage, November 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHARKK® 50W 6-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter with 5-Foot Power Cord for Apple iPad Air / iPad Mini / iPad mini Retina / iPhone 5 / 5S / 5C / All Apple Phones and Tablets / Android Smartphones & Tablets / Samsung Galaxy / Samsung Tab / Samsung Note / And other USB-Powered Devices (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Product worked great for 4 months and then just failed. Of course I was on the road and could not charge anything. Had to run out and buy new charger. Like so many of these cheap made in China items you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful product, September 28, 2014
This review is from: SHARKK® 50W 6-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter with 5-Foot Power Cord for Apple iPad Air / iPad Mini / iPad mini Retina / iPhone 5 / 5S / 5C / All Apple Phones and Tablets / Android Smartphones & Tablets / Samsung Galaxy / Samsung Tab / Samsung Note / And other USB-Powered Devices (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Absolutely happy with this product. I can simultaneously charge my iPhone 6 Plus, iPad 3 and my kids iPad 1. No more clutter. I'm all smiles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The amperage is definitely there., September 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHARKK® 50W 6-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter with 5-Foot Power Cord for Apple iPad Air / iPad Mini / iPad mini Retina / iPhone 5 / 5S / 5C / All Apple Phones and Tablets / Android Smartphones & Tablets / Samsung Galaxy / Samsung Tab / Samsung Note / And other USB-Powered Devices (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Love it. It is very sturdy, not cheap plastic. The amperage is definitely there. It charges my phone faster than the OEM charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this charger!, May 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHARKK® 50W 6-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter with 5-Foot Power Cord for Apple iPad Air / iPad Mini / iPad mini Retina / iPhone 5 / 5S / 5C / All Apple Phones and Tablets / Android Smartphones & Tablets / Samsung Galaxy / Samsung Tab / Samsung Note / And other USB-Powered Devices (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Love this product. Now I can charge my IPad, Android phone and small tablet without rotating cords. It works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars does the job, good value, consider a smart version, read on, October 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHARKK® 50W 6-Port USB Wall Plug Family-Sized Desktop Charger Power Adapter with 5-Foot Power Cord for Apple iPad Air / iPad Mini / iPad mini Retina / iPhone 5 / 5S / 5C / All Apple Phones and Tablets / Android Smartphones & Tablets / Samsung Galaxy / Samsung Tab / Samsung Note / And other USB-Powered Devices (Wireless Phone Accessory)
i got this so that i only had to plug into one outlet for all devices while traveling in Africa. lots of hotels in Europe and Africa have few outlets and since you need socket adaptors this is a good way to go to consolidate to one plug. so it does the job but 3 stars because the one i received looks different. no big deal but that bugs my. 2nd comment is that having the product names listed on the ports instead of the amps is not helpful. amps are better. lastly the more expensive versions that are smart can adjust any port to any amp up to 2.1 and it's way easier to get the fastest charge with a smart version. this is a good value, cost is fair for what you get but smart one is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.