Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable insight
An intelligent, and compelling series of three one hour documentaries by Dr Helen Castor who demonstrates a passion, understanding and deep knowledge of her subject. She focuses on the reigns of 7 phenomenal women, Queens of England. In a time when power was seen as the prerogative of men, the exercise of power by a woman was seen as unnatural, unfeminine and even...
Published 19 months ago by Gary Selikow

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well-Known Material Badly Presented
I looked forward to this dvd, being a passionate lover of British history, and its Queens.

I have a degree in and keep up with new material/thinking in the subject of medieval/Tudor England, I knew this documentary would most likely not contain new or startling information. But I expected more than this quick, slick and surface treatment. Another reviewer...
Published 6 months ago by H. V. Stoughton-ter beek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valuable insight, January 8, 2013
By 
This review is from: SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS (DVD)
An intelligent, and compelling series of three one hour documentaries by Dr Helen Castor who demonstrates a passion, understanding and deep knowledge of her subject. She focuses on the reigns of 7 phenomenal women, Queens of England. In a time when power was seen as the prerogative of men, the exercise of power by a woman was seen as unnatural, unfeminine and even monstrous and the early queens such as Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine , Isabel of France and Margaret of Anjou were vilified as she-wolves, often demonstrating power and waging war, and certainly displaying ruthlessness but no differently from many kings of the same time.

All of these women were certainly multi-faceted, all , with the exception of the ill fated Lady Jane Grey, were capable of great ruthlessness. But perhaps Dr Castor if incorrect when she insinuates that Matilda was driven out of London because the people because the people did not want a woman ruler , when it was in fact because of the steep taxes she had imposed on the citizens of London, much as Margaret Thatcher finally lost power in 1990 after planning to impose a poll tax on the poorest in British society.

This collection focuses on relationships, and politics and war as well as religion and society. We get an understanding of what shaped a naive twelve year old child bride , Isabel of France into a ruthless power player dubbed the 'she-wolf' who seized England together with her lover Roger Mortimer, and possibly had her spouse, Edward II put to death. Of Isabel it was said "No man ever excited her resentment who did not perish under its effect; the king himself forming no exception to this fact."

Margaret of Anjou was one of the key and most aggressive players of the War of the Roses who would stop at nothing and cut down anything that stood in the way of the interests of her husband, the timid and half-mad Henry VI and her son Edouard, Prince of Wales.

Mary I (Bloody Mary) had hundreds of Protestants burned to try to reimpose Roman Catholicism back on England, while Elizabeth I, perhaps one of England's greatest monarchs engineered a religious settlement on England that was acceptable to most and led England against the invasion by Spain of the Spanish Armada. "I know I have the body of a weak and feeble woman, but I have the heart of a king and king of England too'
Magnificent footage of castles, palaces, churches and landscapes in France and England. Dr Castor is not only knowledgeable, but is an excellent narrator and presenter, making this valuable insight for anyone with an interest in the history of the period. At a time when English history is being downscaled in schools and universities in order not to offend certain groups, the English children and young people are being robbed of a central part of their heritage and identity. Series like these are welcome and refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She-Wolves rife with intrigue, murder and naked ambition, April 25, 2013
By 
Mary (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS (DVD)
Women throughout history who have expressed any inkling of ambition have traditionally been disparaged by the world's predominantly paternalistic societies as either harlots or traitors to their own sex. Britain's women who would rule were no different and branded as she-wolves by the men who sought to claim sovereignty even without the prerequisite royal blood line. It is the lives of these women of Britain that are explored in Acorn Media's series "She-Wolves: England's Early Queens" based on a book of the same name by medieval scholar Dr. Helen Castor. Castor produced the series for the BBC and serves as its host throughout the program.

In opening remarks, Castor points out that men rose to power by demonstrating their superiority in military leadership and prowess as warriors. But women in the royal line of succession were often ignored or married off to males deemed unfit because of fragile health or mental instability so other powerful men could assert their rights to the royal succession. To press their own claim or the claim of their offspring to the throne, queens were often forced to forge alliances with men who could just as easily thrust them aside once a battle was won.

Episode 1 examines the struggles of Matilda, daughter of Henry I, and Eleanor of Aquitaine, first a queen of France then wife of Henry II of England. I was somewhat familiar with at least a basic outline of the events that transpired in the lives of these two women.

The war between Matilda and her usurping cousin Stephen of Blois has been the backdrop for a number of theatrical productions including the excellent miniseries "Pillars of the Earth" based on Ken Follett's book by the same name. In fact the death of Matilda's brother aboard the infamous White Ship is the ultimate secret harbored by the evil villain of the story, Bishop Waleran Bigod, played superbly by Ian McShane.

Likewise, Eleanor of Aquitaine has been the subject of countless books and theatrical productions including the award-winning "Lion In Winter" with Eleanor played by none other than the legendary Katherine Hepburn. Eleanor has been portrayed so heroically for centuries that I was surprised Castor approached her biography more matter-of-factly.

Based on the life sketched by Castor, I got the impression Eleanor may have been more personally ambitious than the ultimate romantic she is often portrayed to be. Perhaps describing her as passionately ambitious would be a good combination instead. When you examine her possible tryst with her warrior uncle in Antioch while on Crusade and married to King Louis VII of France, then her aggressive pursuit of Henry II after she successfully obtains a dissolution of marriage, she hardly comes across as an icon of courtly love.

Then you learn she essentially betrays Henry when her sons, tired of waiting for him to die so they can rule, revolt against their father. How could I characterize her but to recognize that she appears to be someone who desired power above love (she virtually ruled England while her son Richard The Lionheart was away on Crusade) and was supremely opportunistic - much more deserving of the term she-wolf than I initially thought.

I found Episode 2 about Isabella of France and Margaret of Anjou even more fascinating.

As Castor detailed the unfortunate marriage of Isabella of France and Edward II, I couldn't help but picture the beautiful image of Sophie Marceau who played the role of Isabella in Mel Gibson's production of "Braveheart". Of course this theatrical version of the Queen was rife with "creative license" since historians say Isabella and Edward II married three years after Braveheart was captured and executed. Isabella was also only 12 at the time of their marriage so she couldn't possibly have been a secret lover of William Wallace. But it was the face of Marceau that I continued to envision as I listened to the trials of her difficult marriage. Her husband, who preferred male companionship, gave his attentions, first, to Piers Gaveston then Hugh Despenser the Younger. In spite of this, Isabella somehow managed to produce four children (although there were rumors of queenly affairs). Isabella's eldest, Edward III, ultimately became King of England.

The barons of England were as appalled by Edward's behavior as Isabella and were in constant plots to end his rule. These efforts increased in earnest when Edward advanced his favorite Despenser the Younger.

Increasingly Edward had to rely on Isabella's French relatives to keep him in power. But Edward's lover Despenser the Younger used his influence to confiscate Isabella's lands in England and even her household staff. Then, when tensions rose between France and England and Isabella was sent to France to negotiate a settlement, she finally found love with Roger Mortimer, the first Earl of March who had been exiled to France. Together they raised and army, invaded England and deposed Edward II. But, in a cruel twist of fate, Isabella's son did not like Mortimer and resented his influence so the prince ordered Mortimer's execution. Edward III did not execute his mother but, like many noble women who displeased the men in power, Isabella ended her days in a nunnery.

I thought the biography of Isabella would be the most poignant but the story of Margaret of Anjou was even more heart rending. Margaret was married to the son of the famous warrior king Henry V when she was only 15. But unlike his warrior father, Henry VI was not only bookish and lacking a forceful personality, he suffered from severe and incapacitating mental illness - hardly the warrior king needed for the ensuing War of the Roses. So Margaret had to seek help from other powerful nobles to try to retain the throne for Henry so her son could ultimately inherit it.

Castor did not elaborate much about Henry VI's mental condition but I was intrigued so I researched it further. Here are some of the speculations about the cause that I found:

"In 1453, at the age of 32, Henry VI began to exhibit signs of serious mental illness. By means of a "sudden fright" he entered into a trance-like state reacting to and recognising no one. Catatonic schizophrenia or depressive stupor have been suggested as a likely diagnosis. This was probably an inheritance from his grandfather, Charles VI of France, who himself suffered from bouts of schizophrenia, which is reported to have come on suddenly in 1392 when he was then aged 24, into which he then suffered relapses for the next 30 years. Charles VI's mother, Joanna de Bourbon, also exhibited signs of mental illness, as did various ancestors of hers, including Louis I, Duke of Bourbon, Peter I, Duke of Bourbon, Louis II, Duke of Bourbon." - English Monarchs

A physician from Albert Einstein College of Medicine agrees with the diagnosis of schizophrenia:

" At 31 he [Henry VI] had a sudden, dramatic mental illness in which he was mute and unresponsive. Before, he had been paranoid, grandiose, and indecisive. After, he was apathetic with deterioration of ability, drive, interest and self-care, and hallucinations and religious delusions. This illness, which is consistent with a diagnosis of schizophrenia, robbed Henry of his personality, his crown, his wife, his only son, and his life. It led to three decades of brutal fighting for the crown (the 'Wars of the Roses') that resulted in a new dynasty with a dramatic impact on the country: the Tudors, Henry VIII, and Elizabeth I and their descendants. - N. Bark, Did schizophrenia change the course of English history? The mental illness of Henry VI, abstract;

During this period, though, Margaret gave birth to a son she named Edward.

"When the baby was shown to Henry, he remained immobile like a statue, looking upon the Prince only once, immediately casting down his eyes again; he took no notice and said no word. He didn't even recognise his wife. The Royal physicians tried a series of drugs, purgatives, baths and bleedings, but their patient remained impassive. He wouldn't wash or dress of his own account. Potions, syrups, laxatives, clysters and bloodletting followed. Henry's head was shaved and purged "to rid the brain of its black bile and so restore the balance of the humours". Still, Henry remained passive, and found difficulty in moving about without assistance." - J.N.W. Bos, Mad Monarchs: Henry VI of England)

When Henry began to fully recover in January 1454, he declared his son must have been conceived by the Holy Ghost, which did little to quell the rumors of his queen's unfaithfulness. Things went from bad to worse when the king's regent, Richard Plantagenet, 3rd Duke of York, began organizing allies that would support his own, rather than the king's, right to the throne. With the King essentially incompetent to defend himself, Margaret resorted to intrigue to put an end to this threat, conspiring to assassinate the duke on two different occassions. Castor did not get into this much detail however.

Failing to put an end to her husband's rival, Margaret found herself at the head of the Lancastrian faction in her husband's stead at the fateful battle of St. Alban's where the Yorkists succeeded in routing the King's forces and imprisoned Henry VI.

Margaret's forces retaliated at the battle of Wakefield and a second battle at St. Alban's where her husband was freed. But other Lancastrian defeats followed and Margaret fled to France where she sought help from her cousin Louis XI. Louis suggested an alliance with the Earl of Warwick and the Earl offered his daughter's hand in marriage to Margaret's son to seal the bargain. But, upon returning to England, Warwick, although initially successful, fell at the Battle of Barnet leaving Margaret alone to lead the Lancastrian army at the Battle of Tewkesbury. There, her forces were not only defeated but her beloved 17-year-old son was killed. Her husband, Henry VI, upon hearing of his son's death died soon after.

Although the official story was Henry died of grief many suspected foul play. To end all doubt, King George V had Henry's body exhumed in 1910. A patch of light brown hair matted with blood was found still attached to his skull, confirming a violent end to his life.

Broken and defeated, Margaret was imprisoned until ransomed by Louis XI four years later. She spent her remaining seven years as a poor relation to the King of France. When I researched her biography, I noticed that this courageous "she-wolf" suffered a final indignity during the French Revolution when rebels ransacked her tomb in Angers Cathedral and scattered her remains.

The last episode of "She-Wolves" focuses on the accesion of Jane Grey, Mary Tudor and Elizabeth I following the death of Henry VIII. I have watched quite a few films on the Tudors as well as studied the life of Henry VIII so I was familiar with most of the information Castor provided here. However, I was under the assumption that Henry VIII's only son, Edward VI, was a sickly child eventually sucumbing to a respiratory ailment at the tender age of 15 so had contributed little during his reign. Castor pointed out that Edward was quite directly responsible for numerous Protestant reforms and personally developed a "devise of succession" that skipped over his half-sisters, the very Catholic Mary as well as Elizabeth, and granted ruling authority to his cousin, a very reticent 16-year-old Lady Jane Grey. I had assumed all of this manipulation was the result of the influence of the King's regent, the Duke of Northumberland. But I guess that line of thinking was abandoned back in the 1970s.

"For centuries, the attempt to alter the succession was mostly seen as a one-man-plot by the Duke of Northumberland. Since the 1970s, however, many historians have attributed the inception of the "devise" and the insistence on its implementation to the king's initiative Diarmaid MacCulloch has made out Edward's "teenage dreams of founding an evangelical realm of Christ", while David Starkey has stated that "Edward had a couple of co-operators, but the driving will was his". Among other members of the Privy Chamber, Northumberland's intimate Sir John Gates has been suspected of suggesting to Edward to change his devise so that Lady Jane Grey herself--not just any sons of hers--could inherit the Crown. Whatever the degree of his contribution, Edward was convinced that his word was law and fully endorsed disinheriting his half-sisters: "barring Mary from the succession was a cause in which the young King believed." - Edward VI, Wikipedia with citations 161-167

"She-Wolves" brought much needed attention to the role women have played in the history of Britain, even before the much glamorized rule of "Gloriana" (Elizabeth I). Dr. Castor is to be applauded for the development of this series and its straightforward presentation that makes these women come alive for a 21st century audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 24, 2013
By 
chcjrbone (Syracuse, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS (DVD)
This DVD is excellent for three reasons.

First, Dr. Castor provides just the right amount of detail without getting bogged down. The viewer never feels lost or bored. On the other hand, this DVD is not merely a general overview. She names names and dates and places.

Second, there are many on-site scenes where the events actually took place, all beautifully filmed. The video includes numerous scenes where Dr. Castor is reading from the original documents in a library or museum.

Third, at those times when historians really don't know exactly what happened, due to lack of evidence, Dr. Castor admits that historians "guess" or "speculate." She does not state events as fact when there is no supporting documentation.

This is a very worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early English female monarchy strive to rule, December 23, 2012
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS (DVD)
Fascinating UK history presented skillfully. An educational, but entertaining look at Medieval-Tudor ladies of the ruling monarchy. Footage showing reenactments, art, current locations, historical sites, maps, photo stills, artifacts, interior architectural views, and musical background all contribute to the narration (SUBTITLED) telling this history.
Intellectual enchantment.
"HOW FAR WE'VE COME, & HOW LITTLE HAS CHANGED"
Narrator, host, and writer of the book, Dr. Helen Castor separates from hundreds of years of rule, the 7 earliest women to challenge the idea that women are too weak to rule. Her book
She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth,
UK Book of the Year in 2010 is the She-Wolves DVD basis. Her vocabulary is an intellectual challenge occasionally, but doable. She points out the surprising courage of Medieval and Tudor world ladies who would rule with a crown.

SUBTITLES for all 3 episodes, each about an hour.
1 Matilda (born 1102 - died 1167) and Eleanor (1124-1204)
Matilda was the first woman to claim the English crown, 1141, but chased by a London mob. The death of King Henry I started her 20 yr Civil War. Heir, William, died in a Normandy shipwreck. A king was needed to do battle to take the kingdom--and kept it. Could a queen survive? 3 sons birthed, including King Henry II.
Daughter-in-law Eleanor tries next. Queen of France at 13, wife of King Louis VII, a crusader at age 21, with her husband/king, she was accused of an affair in Antioch. Later, meeting Matilda's son, she weds, Henry then rejecting her in 1173. She ruled for son, Richard the Lionheart, while he away at battle.

2 Isabella (1295-1358) and Margaret (1430-1482)
Isabella married royalty at 12, Edward II, even as he loved a knight. Her own lover, Mortimer, joined her in 1326 to depose the king and take rule for 3 yrs, acting for her young son. There's more scandal to this period of Monarchy presented.
Margaret, named `She-Wolf of France' by Shakespeare, married Henry VI. Heir produced after Henry lost his mind. England at the brink of Civil War--War of the Roses. A bloody quest that largely failed.

3 Jane (1537-1554), Mary I (1516-1558), and Elizabeth I (1533-1603)
Edward VI dies in 1553 (son of Henry VIII who died in 1547) leaving only females in line for the title. Crisis!
Cousin, "Lady Jane Grey `and her' heirs male" was decreed queen by the king on his deathbed. A surprise to all.
Catholic Mary Tudor (oldest daughter of Henry) determined to fight for her right to the throne. With 10,000+ troops she wins. 1st queen crowned. On then to marriage, a Spanish oops. "Bloody Mary."
Protestant Elizabeth (1/2 sister to Edward, as was Mary), 1559 a 25 yr old, was crowned after Mary's death. Husband? Ruled 45 yrs, known as "The Virgin Queen", and death ends the Tudor Dynasty.

A British History library must. Also see Monarchy With David Starkey and Windsors From George to Kate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raises some very interesting questions to ponder. . ., November 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS (DVD)
This is rather engaging and made a nice compliment disc to watch after my wife and I finished Dr. Starkey's series, "Monarchy." The female queens and regents are delved into more deeply than in "Monarchy." Especially interesting is the coverage of Margaret of Anjou and the War of the Roses. Dr. Castor raises some rather interesting questions for you to speculate about throughout the production. My wife and I are still discussing this program!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Great Great, October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS (DVD)
Wowie!!!
I really hit the jack pot when I ordered this. I watch a lot A LOT of historical documentaries. This was a deeply satisfying experience. I had watched Monarchy with David Starkey and it was a treat to watch this on the back end of that. utterly fascinating, I have watched it again and again. I learned so much I did not know. The segment on Matlida the first episode was my favorite, I knew nothing about her until I watched this. The segment on Mary (bloody Mary) was insightful, before her phantom pregnancies and mass burnings-she wasn't so bad. Highly recommend this to anyone interested in English History or woman's History
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great history!, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS (DVD)
These DVDs are very well done and present a most interesting history. Lovers of English royal history will find these most enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Medieval Women with Spunk, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS (DVD)
A very interesting and historically accurate documentary. These women were really powerful during a time when women weren't looked at as viable citizens. I would recommend it 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well though out, January 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS (DVD)
A good overview of these women. Dr. Castor is obviously very knowledgeable, and I enjoyed that she takes the viewer along to the original sites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well-Known Material Badly Presented, February 10, 2014
This review is from: SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS (DVD)
I looked forward to this dvd, being a passionate lover of British history, and its Queens.

I have a degree in and keep up with new material/thinking in the subject of medieval/Tudor England, I knew this documentary would most likely not contain new or startling information. But I expected more than this quick, slick and surface treatment. Another reviewer stated the presenter is too intrusive, and I absolutely agree. Let the story play itself, don't give a lecture. Much over-blown, and over-hammered home, this 'women acting like men'. Too much forcing the information to fit the thesis. Every third sentence seemed to include 'She-Wolves'. This was dull.

Most of these Queens weren't really rebels daring to act 'like men'-- they were simply terrible rulers, as have been many Kings of Britain. That Mary I is on the cover is telling. If ever a sovereign failed in every significant way, was self-serving and wrong, as well as cruel, it was 'Bloody' Mary. And Margaret of Anjou was an absolute horror.

I learned nothing new. The movie was a People Magazine version of the subject. Hardly a snack.
Usually I re-view historical British documentaries several times. Not this one. It had no good qualities: badly presented, tedious to watch, too much thesis and not enough story, too much of the Professor...I certainly expected more from Dr. Castor and BBC. I'm glad I didn't buy this, and sorry my Library did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS
SHE-WOLVES: ENGLAND'S EARLY QUEENS by Dr. Helen Castor (DVD - 2013)
$34.99 $17.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.