Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Single Speed Light Soft Boxes
I own the Westcott 26" Octa Rapid Box (w/beauty dish attachment) as well as the Interfit Strobies Rapida 18" soft box. I purchased the SMDV Diffuser 60 because the Westcott ate over a full stop of light from my speed light and the Interfit has a hot spot in the center of the pattern due to a lack of an inner diffuser. Not only does the SMDV produce a softer and...
Published 6 months ago by Will

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Returned
Light dispersion not good and not even. Hot spots, !!
Published 22 hours ago by Amazon Shopper


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Single Speed Light Soft Boxes, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SMDV DIFF60 Speedbox Diffuser-60 - Professional 23-Inch Rigid Quick Folding Hexagonal Softbox for Speedlight Flash (Black) (Electronics)
I own the Westcott 26" Octa Rapid Box (w/beauty dish attachment) as well as the Interfit Strobies Rapida 18" soft box. I purchased the SMDV Diffuser 60 because the Westcott ate over a full stop of light from my speed light and the Interfit has a hot spot in the center of the pattern due to a lack of an inner diffuser. Not only does the SMDV produce a softer and more even quality of light, it is also more efficient than the other two modifiers. My test showed that the SMDV Diffuser 60 only decreased the output of my Nikon SB-700 by 1/3 stop, which is even better performance than the smaller Interfit Rapida. The SMDV has a deeper profile than the Westcott or the Interfit. My guess is it must be closer to a parabolic shape which helps with the increased light output.

It has been well documented in these reviews about the build quality. Yes, the mount is plastic, but the entire unit is very light in weight and sturdy enough if it is not abused. I think the trade-off in materials is offset by the design, which allows for really fast setup and tear down.

The SMDV Diffuser is more expensive than the other units that are based on this design, but it works better for my uses. I plan to purchase another unit soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to set up and produces a nice light, April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SMDV DIFF60 Speedbox Diffuser-60 - Professional 23-Inch Rigid Quick Folding Hexagonal Softbox for Speedlight Flash (Black) (Electronics)
I use this when shooting weddings as part of my "light stick" and it works great. More durable than other speedlight softboxes and it never falls off the stand... I keep it on the bracket attached to a lightweight stand. Just pop it closed when not using...just don't close it during the wedding ceremony...it's pretty loud in a church. Highly recommend it for wedding photographers or those that need a high quality portable softbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, June 26, 2013
By 
Gus Chavarria (Arlington, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SMDV DIFF60 Speedbox Diffuser-60 - Professional 23-Inch Rigid Quick Folding Hexagonal Softbox for Speedlight Flash (Black) (Electronics)
I have used about every product for on the go, on-site photography and this is the most durable, lightest and well made product thus far! Yes it cost a little more than most products but like the old saying, "you get what you pay for". I have frequently used this product for the last few months with no problems. This product is extremely light for carrying but at the same time it's structurally sturdy enough to withstand some nice wind gust, which was my problem. I have nothing bad to say about this product and in fact, just ordered a second!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent softbox, June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SMDV DIFF60 Speedbox Diffuser-60 - Professional 23-Inch Rigid Quick Folding Hexagonal Softbox for Speedlight Flash (Black) (Electronics)
This diffuser is slightly pricier than others in its size range, but this one is well worth the extra money. Its ease of use, collapsibility, and light diffusion are all wonderful. It's very sturdy, and breaks down to a very small footprint, making it easy to carry to a variety of different gigs. I'm very impressed, and I'm already thinking about getting another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome design, light weight, build quality is pretty good for plastic, September 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SMDV DIFF60 Speedbox Diffuser-60 - Professional 23-Inch Rigid Quick Folding Hexagonal Softbox for Speedlight Flash (Black) (Electronics)
looked at about 3 other top brands of these. All about the same cost but different materials, designs etc. After getting this in the mail, I literally had it put together in 30 seconds. The quality is great for plastic components. I was afraid the thinner material of vinyl im assuming would get damaged but it doesnt. Took it on a shoot last week, and a big gust of wind knocked it over into branches. nor the front or the sides got punctured, or scratched for that matter. Really happy so far, and will most likely get another when i add another flash to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive, but you get what you pay for, June 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SMDV DIFF60 Speedbox Diffuser-60 - Professional 23-Inch Rigid Quick Folding Hexagonal Softbox for Speedlight Flash (Black) (Electronics)
I've been on the lookout for a similar product for a while, but haven't bought because everything else I found was made very poorly. The build quality is nice on these. Like any other photo equipment, it's expensive for what it is. The construction is mostly plastic, but good quality plastic that seems like it will hold up. There is some metal too. The quick, locking-mechanism on the speedring works very well and provides a really fast setup. The release buttons also make take-down simple. The hex shape makes for a nice eye reflection.

It hardly weights anything, even with a speedlight and radio receiver. I've used it on a small boom with the light aimed sideways with no problem.

The only drawback is the small size. Even their largest 60 size (current as of this review) that is offered, it's not really big enough to get the softness I want in portraits without putting it right in the model's face. That being said, I knew that up front so I can't fault the product. If they offered something larger, maybe even twice the size, I would buy them.

Overall, it's a very good product. It's a little pricey, but as they say, you get what you pay for. I would definitely recommend these to anyone in the market for portable speedlight diffusers. Just know beforehand what you want to use them for and make the decision if their size will accomplish that for your style of shooting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're thinking about it, just do it, there's no regrets, November 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SMDV DIFF60 Speedbox Diffuser-60 - Professional 23-Inch Rigid Quick Folding Hexagonal Softbox for Speedlight Flash (Black) (Electronics)
If you want a highly portable, durable, dependable soft box that's also simple & fast up and set up, this is it, buy it, love it, buy another one for your on the go studio kit.

I can't elaborate enough how well made this is, and how perfect it is for portable shoots just about any where, so that's all I'm going to say.

I even mounted this on a flash bracket... yes it's big, but it's so light for it's size and with the right bracket it stays out of your way. Your flash unit weighs almost twice as much as this soft box does. Add a monopod and you've got a "studio on a stick" and the potential for hours of fun.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best out there, October 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SMDV DIFF60 Speedbox Diffuser-60 - Professional 23-Inch Rigid Quick Folding Hexagonal Softbox for Speedlight Flash (Black) (Electronics)
They all do the same thing, but the built and the ease of use with this one make the other options look like a piece of junk. Does someone wants to buy my lastolite ezybox?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First impressions, August 30, 2013
By 
Johnny Kenehan "Johnny Kenehan" (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SMDV DIFF60 Speedbox Diffuser-60 - Professional 23-Inch Rigid Quick Folding Hexagonal Softbox for Speedlight Flash (Black) (Electronics)
This is quite the good addition to one's mobile arsenal. After you first set it up, you can collapse it with one lever and toss it in the bag. Super easy to reset too. One caveat though, if you use Phottix Odin triggers, you can JUST BARELY get the flash head (SB-910 in my case) to fit into the softbox. If your trigger is thicker, it probably won't fit at all.

The manufacturer included two additional ribs, that's nice, but I suppose they break at some point, it's unlikely they get lost given how they are held in place with elastic straps (hard to get on - try a toothpick) to the speed ring.

I'll update should it prove less than reliable, but it sure seems like a great little idea. The case, btw, is perfect. You'll look as if you're carrying a large purse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SMDV 60, June 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SMDV DIFF60 Speedbox Diffuser-60 - Professional 23-Inch Rigid Quick Folding Hexagonal Softbox for Speedlight Flash (Black) (Electronics)
GREAT PRODUCT!!!!!! Highly Recommend it! Great for Location shoots! Portably gives it a 5 stars! Liked it SOOOOOOOO MUCH I ordered another one Next day!

My Review on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SADIK_a63H8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.