Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: SNL - Best of Dan Aykroyd
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars34
Price:$6.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 10, 2005
Few "Saturday Night Live" castmembers have carved a greater niche in the show's history than Dan Aykroyd. His four years on the show gave us some of the most hilarious moments ever to grace our television screens. From his zany charatcers to his dead on impresions, Aykroyd was a force to be reckoned with.

On September 6th, 2005, "The Best Of Dan Aykroyd" was one of four new "SNL" dvds from the show's first five years released on dvd. It features 22 sketches and has a decent run time of 93 minutes. How does it hold up. Read on for the positives and the negatives.

Positives:
-You get most of Aykroyd's popular recurring characters on here. Beldar Conehead, Leonard Pinth Garnell, Elwood Blues and others are all on this dvd.
-They included the Nerds sketch where he's the refrigerator repair man with his [...] hanging out. I've always wanted to see that sketch.
-You get his most popular impressions on here as well, such as his note perfect impersonations of Jimmy Carter, Richard Nixon and Tom Snyder.
-You get to see many forgotten sketches that will serve as a real treat for diehard fans.
-You get some great extras.

Negatives:
-The dvd's main flaw is this. A lot of the dvd's funniest sketches were on previous dvds as well. For example, the "Coneheads And The I.R.S." sketch and "The Festrunk Brothers" bit were both on "The Best Of Steve Martin". Similarly, the "Consumer Probe" sketch with Irwin Mainway was on the "Best Of Halloween".
-A lot of great characters were left off, such as Jason The Hippie, Mike Mendoza, one of half of the X - Police and many other great characters were left off.
-They don't include anything from the various cameos he made on the show between 1988 and 2003. He did a lot of funny stuff then, too. I was especially disappointed that his Bob Dole impression was not included.
-This next one is going to stir some disagreements. I did not find "Fred Garvin: Male Prostitute" very funny. I expected it to be much funnier, but I was disappointed.
-There were a few other sketches that didn't do anything for me. Howeer, this is almost always the case with most "SNL" dvds.

So, this is a far from perfect retrospective of Aykroyd's "SNL" career, but I'd definitely recommend you'd check it out.
22 comments|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2005
This DVD is an excellent collection of Aykroyd's work during the first four years of SNL. Thankfully it is slightly different from the original VHS Best of Aykroyd DVD.

Most of the old material is included, except that there is a different Blues Brothers song instead of "Rubber Biscuit". There is an additional Jimmy Carter sketch and a "Point/Counterpoint" debate with Jane Curtin that was sadly missing from the original set.

Also included is a brief interview/documentary with Aykroyd and other cast members and hosts. I wish that some of the sketches excerpted here had made their way onto the disc.

Finally there is Aykroyd's original audtion tape for SNL. He goes through his characters and routines seamlessly. It shows off his versatility, even if it isn't hilarious.

Definitely worth buying for fans of classic SNL.
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
What can I say? My husband loves it but does mention some skits aren't included in this release. It would be nice to have a collection of Dan Akroyd's best, meaning it would need to be issued in volumes. These are the usual go-to skits, but there are many, many more. He's had a memorable SNL run and truly missed as a cast member. It is a lot of stuff from first couple of seasons, so hopefully (now 2015) they will issue the next volume with more (as others have noted and not worth repeating here). Great asset in our home and great price for a starter "best of".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
Our family was headed off to a summer reunion vacation and I bought a bunch of these SNL classics for down time at the beach. Well they were a total hit because young nieces and nephews and older family members were howling at the SNL comedy. These were great vacation entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2006
With the recent releases of Dan Aykroyd, John Belushi and other original SNL members, let's hope the SNL people (reading this, Mr. Michaels?) will finally release complete seasons, starting with the FIRST one!

There IS a market for it, please go ahead, release season 1 now and you'll see!

Aykroyd is a genius of comedy.

I want to see ALL his skits in ALL the episodes.

Thanks
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2010
Dan Akroyd is a legend. His illustrious career of decades has eclipsed that of most of his contemporaries.

This DVD highlights the best of Dan Akroyd during the rip roaring incipient years of his television and movie fame. These episodes are exclusively culled from Saturday Night Live's initial rush, initial run of four years with the original Not Ready For Prime Time Players.

The Blues Brothers, the Festrunk brothers, the Cone-Heads, Fred Garvin male prostitute, Bass-o-matic, the deci-bet, and Mel's Char Palace, Nightline News, and Dr Mainway is amongst the collection of much loved skits on this DVD.

Dan Akroyd is now an elder statesman in Hollywood and is an authority on a lot of technical knowledge, he was in the movie about the Avro Arrow. Dan Akroyd is an authority on extra terrestrials, the paranormal, and possibly other dimensions all of these subjects he talks about at great length.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2011
I knew when I purchased this you would see some classic sketches with Dan. This one has 2 Conehead famous bits.

But, IF you own anymore of the Best of SNL DVD's IF you have the Steve Martin one then you already have the Conehead bit with Steve from the IRS and the same "Wild and Crazy Guys" bit.

The classic "Fred Garvin" bit is here. Always thought & still do Margot Kidder (flash in the pan from Superman) her timing was completely off in this bit. Julia Child is here.

The bit with the superheroes from the same episode with Bill as Superman is here. They could Have put this bit on the Best of Belshui DVD, his role is more funny than Dan as The Flash.

We only get 1 bit with Jane at the Weekend Update desk, could have used more of these & only 1 of The Blues Brothers.

Good, decent DVD. Should have been outstanding, but missing bits make it good NOT great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2010
Worth the price just to see him riff on Julia Child, one of the all-time great SNL skits. But after you are done ROFLMAO over that gem, check out the rest of the content. Good stuff. He is a SNL great.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2012
Dan Ackroyd has to be the funniest, most creative humorist in the world. His work on SNL was seminal and outstanding, hilarious and inspirational. There will never be another quite like him and I highly recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2013
we have purchased 4 of these best of SNL and love them all -
all brought back great memories of this show.

delivery was prompt, thank you for your service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.