Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Always Something!
I've watched a few other SNL "Best of" compilations over the years and this is by far the best. It is presented on a single-sided double-layer disc and features many classic Gilda skits, as well as great extras, making it well worth the long wait. The quality is pretty good, considering the source material is between 25 and 30 years old. The TV interviews and the...
Published on September 8, 2005 by Stef

versus
43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak Sketch Selection Mars What Could Have Been The Best "SNL" DVD Ever
Out of all the stars from "Saturday Night Live", perhaps the one whose star shined brightest was Gilda Radner. Often regarded as the greatest cast member the show ever had, Gilda proved to be the standout of the cast from the first five years. Her wide range of zany charatcers and a pension for pyschical comedy not seen in any comedienne since Lucille Ball made her one of...
Published on September 9, 2005 by Anthony Nasti


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Always Something!, September 8, 2005
By 
This review is from: SNL - Best of Gilda Radner (DVD)
I've watched a few other SNL "Best of" compilations over the years and this is by far the best. It is presented on a single-sided double-layer disc and features many classic Gilda skits, as well as great extras, making it well worth the long wait. The quality is pretty good, considering the source material is between 25 and 30 years old. The TV interviews and the "Inside Look" featurette also show excerpts from other skits not presented on this DVD, making one hope there will eventually be a volume 2.

The total running time of the main feature is 1 hour 32 mins. and include the following:
-Disclaimer: Cousteau
-Audience Questions
-Nerd Prom
-Jewess Jeans
-Not For Ladies Only
-Emily Litella: Violins
-Dancing In The Dark
-Brownie
-Celebrity Weightlifting
-Roseanne: Health Clubs
-Extremely Stupid (my favorite)
-Candy Slice
-Autumn Fizz
-Lucy A-Bomb
-Olga Korbut
-Nerds & Milt
-Stretch Marks
-Emily Litella: Bitch
-Soup Commercial
-Rhonda Weis
-Roseanne: Bo Derek
-La Dolce Gilda
-Slumber Party
-Hey You
-Laundromat

The extras include:
-her original screen test for SNL (3:26)
-a photo gallery
-a Rolling Stone article by Roy Blount Jr. from November 2, 1978
-a TV interview with Tom Snyder on "The Tomorrow Show" (18:27)
-a TV interview with Jane Pauley from "The Today Show" (6:14)
-fellow SNL cast & crew remember Gilda on "An Inside Look" (19:07)

There you have it, a great DVD tribute to Gilda Radner at a very affordable price. Buy it today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gilda DVD Rules, October 7, 2005
By 
William Faure (San Francisco, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SNL - Best of Gilda Radner (DVD)
I've watched the 'Gilda Best Of VHS for nearly 15 years.

This DVD just begins to fill in many of the gaps that the VHS left out.

If you love Gilda --this DVD is a must--but SNL better have a Volume 2 ready to go soon!--There are many LOVED sketches and performances missing!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak Sketch Selection Mars What Could Have Been The Best "SNL" DVD Ever, September 9, 2005
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SNL - Best of Gilda Radner (DVD)
Out of all the stars from "Saturday Night Live", perhaps the one whose star shined brightest was Gilda Radner. Often regarded as the greatest cast member the show ever had, Gilda proved to be the standout of the cast from the first five years. Her wide range of zany charatcers and a pension for pyschical comedy not seen in any comedienne since Lucille Ball made her one of the most beloved female comics ever. Ever since Broadway Video started releasing best - of dvd's for "SNL" cast members for the show's 25th anniversary, many longtime fans begged for a "Best Of Gilda Rdaner" dvd to be relased. On Seotember 6th, 2005, those fans finally got their wish. How is it? Read on.

Well, to be honest, I was a little disappointed in this dvd. It's no secret that Gilda did some of the most hilarious sketches in "SNL" history, most of the time portraying her own original characters. However, I felt this dvd doesn't do her justice. It is apparent that the compilers aimed this dvd at younger "SNL" fans as a sampler of some of Gilda's best work, so a newer generation might embrace her legacy. Great idea, but I honestly think that they should have also kept the hardcore fans who've longed for her best stuff in mind as well when this dvd was made.

To get diehards to buy it, the compilers put most of Gilda's most famous popular recurring characters on the dvd, such as Emily Litella, Roseanne Rosanndanna, Baba Wawa and Lisa Loopner. However, for the most part, I wouldn't say they picked the best editions of these sketches for the dvd. They are all indeed very funny, but I can't help but feeling that they're better appearances of these characters. Other sketches, such as "Slumber Party" and "Candy Slice", do indeed have many amusing moments, but sooner or later the viewer loses interest. Also, when I finished watching the dvd, I couldn't help but notice that quite a few of her recurring characters were missing, such as Bobbi Farber, Jenny Rocker, Colleen Fernman, Debbie Doody, Connie Carson and many others. There were even a few sketches on this dvd that didn't do anything for me at all. On the plus side, we finally get the "Dancing In The Dark" sketch on dvd. Thst skit was woefully missed from "The Best Of Steve Martin".

I haven't watched the extras yet, but I'm sure that they'll at least be decent. Udually, the "SNL" dvds have great extras. I do recommend this dvd to most Gilda fans but advise them to keep in mind that a lot of her best stuff is indeed missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars there will never be another, November 4, 2006
By 
James Lee Pyle (Wilmington, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SNL - Best of Gilda Radner (DVD)
Thee will never be another Gilda Radner & how fortunate we are to have some of her funniest moments captured on DVD. I'd be hard pressed to name my favorite sketch, but the one with her as Baba Wawa interviewing "Marweena Detrick," played hysterically by Madeline Kahn (yet another comic genius who left this life too early) brings tears of laughter to my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD vs VHS, October 7, 2005
By 
This review is from: SNL - Best of Gilda Radner (DVD)
This is by far the best of the "Best Of" compliations for SNL because Gilda is truly a comic genius and by far one of the most talented, if not THE most talented of any of the SNL players. I had the VHS version that was released in the late 80's/early 90's and it was spectacular. I had since lost the tape and have been waiting for the DVD to come out. I really enjoyed the DVD and the special features that came with it. There are some slight differences between the older VHS release and the new DVD release.

There are some skits involving "Emily Litella" and "Rosanne Rosannadanna" that are different. The performance of "Gimme Mick" by "Candie Slice" is much better on the older VHS release, however the DVD version shows more of her character and why she is the way she is and it's quite funny. Overall, I am very pleased with the DVD and am happy it is released. The only thing missing was the classic "Harley's Bristol Cream" commercial.

Now as soon as they come out with the Best of Cheri Oteri, I will be even happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More should have been available, July 3, 2006
This review is from: SNL - Best of Gilda Radner (DVD)
I loved Gilda Radner when she was alive and I love her now! My only complaint about this DVD is that I thought that more clips should have been included. To see this funny young lady going eye-ball to eye-ball with a beautifully cool Jane Curtin was enough to bring tears to my eyes - tears of laughter. Gilda was obviously enjoying herself in the skits that were selected and eveyone's favorites are represented but, for my money, there could never be too much Gilda!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This was never not going to be funny, February 28, 2006
By 
S. (Santa Cruz, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SNL - Best of Gilda Radner (DVD)
Gilda is funny. If you bought this, or are thinking about buying it, it is because you think that she is funny. Of course you might miss a few favorites b/c there is no way that they could get all the quality onto one DVD and that is generally the problem w/ these SNL DVDs. But if you are looking for classic SNL this is a good bet. Lots of good performances by other original cast members as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Gilda Radner, January 9, 2007
By 
J. Moore (Tombstone, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SNL - Best of Gilda Radner (DVD)
This movie not only shows Gilda's rise to stardom at SNL through her famous characters, but gives you glimpses of her as a person. Her sweet personality and unique "cooky manner " made her one of a kind. I will never stop missing her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wanted more, January 9, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SNL - Best of Gilda Radner (DVD)
This DVD was so funny. I watched it with my kids (age 8 and 11) and they thought it was funnier than SNL is now. I would recommend this DVD to anyone who enjoys humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough roseanne roseannadana!!!, January 27, 2009
By 
J. Fostner (Milwaukee, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SNL - Best of Gilda Radner (DVD)
This is a funny video, worth watching, but it is so interesting to see what someone else would choose as the best of Gilda Radner. She was a comic genius and these just aren't the SNL outtakes that I would have chosen. And to have just two Rosanne Rosannadanna skits was VERY disappointing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

SNL - Best of Gilda Radner
SNL - Best of Gilda Radner by Gilda Radner (DVD - 2005)
$9.98 $6.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.