Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SSX..... The return!
(NOTE: I'm actually giving this game 4.5 out of 5 stars, not just 4)

PLUS:
-RiderNet is a godsend, even if it has already been done before
-Great soundtrack as usual
-Spectacular tricks and combo based gameplay
-Control schemes are well implemented, even offering a "classic" control scheme

MINUS:
-The spirit of the characters...
Published on February 29, 2012 by Terrence A.

versus
35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close but lacking the flare SSX Tricky and SSX 3 possessed
This is a fun game as far as a pure snowboarding, single-player experience is concerned, but unfortunately there are a number of things that are lacking in this title that leave the game falling short of my expectations. If you have an affinity for the previous SSX releases you may be disapppointed as a lot of what made the previous releases great is absent here. Also,...
Published on March 9, 2012 by S. Schmidt


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close but lacking the flare SSX Tricky and SSX 3 possessed, March 9, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SSX - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is a fun game as far as a pure snowboarding, single-player experience is concerned, but unfortunately there are a number of things that are lacking in this title that leave the game falling short of my expectations. If you have an affinity for the previous SSX releases you may be disapppointed as a lot of what made the previous releases great is absent here. Also, if you are looking for a solid multiplayer experience you may want to look elsewhere.

EA has taken a more serious approach to this game. Originally the game was going to be called SSX Deadly Decents, and after negative consumer feedback with regards to the new serious direction taken in the revamped IP they decided to remove Deadly Decents from the title and just call it SSX. However, it doesn't appear that they made any attempt to alter the original game they programmed based on this consumer feedback. It is a shame because I feel like EA completely ignored the feedback from their fan base and said we are giving you the game we made whether you like it or not. So the game ends up feeling less like an SSX game and more like a survival snowboarding game. That aside, if you are new to the franchise you may not have the nostalgia associated with previous iterations of the game and find the snowboarding gameplay fun in its own right. They have tried to add a little bit of a story to the game through some comic book pages in between mountains, but it is superficial at best.

The basic premise of the game is that you are traveling around the globe to recruit members to your SSX team. Each member is specialized to handle one of the unique challenges each of the 9 mountain ranges presents. Each mountain range starts with you competing in a few race and tricky events and finishes with you taking on a deadly descent. You can think of each mountain range having one peak that is a boss battle - the deadly descent survival final stage. So for one mountain range the deadly descent may be darkness, another avalanches, etc., with specialized gear being required to handle each unique challenge presented. These mountain boss battles or survival runs include whiteouts (use special goggles for terrain mapping), darkness (headlamp), drop offs (requires a wingsuit to glide over crevices), ice (ice picks to improve turning ability), extreme cold (solar panel for heat), thin air (oxygen tank), rocks (armor), avalanches, and trees.

Some of the game highlights and drawbacks are outlined below:

PROS:
-The controls are tight making it easy to carve up the mountain and perform stunts.
-Athough pretty limited, the soundtrack is decent. I do wish there was a little more variety provided in the music included.
-The landscapes are large and beautiful with some pretty long runs down the mountain.
-There are a number of game modes (racing, trick events, survival events) and a larger number of locations/trails to decend than I expected.
-The ability to purchase a number of upgrades to each snowboarder is a plus.
-Several welcome nuances have been added to the gameplay on the various mountains that require specialized gear to survive descents like headlamps, wing suits, armor, ice picks, and solar panels. These subtle changes to gameplay help keep the game interesting.
-A GEOTAG system has been added that basically allows you and other players to hide markers on the various slopes. The player who dropped the GEOTAG collects money at a certain rate until the marker is discovered and other players that find the marker get money for locating the marker. It can be fun trying to find the perfect spot to hide a marker and trying to figure out how to reach those hard to reach GEOTAGS you see glimmering in the distance.
-I do think the survival aspects added to the game are a welcome addition, but I wish more emphasis was placed on the SSX brand and less on the deadly descent aspects.

CONS:
-The over the top personalities of the characters developed in earlier iterations of this game are non-existent so you really don't develop an attachment to any of the characters. Also, even though you can change the color of of your character's snowsuit, there doesn't appear to be any unique alternative character models like in previous SSX games. The base character models have changed for some of the characters making them not really feel like the same character you use to know.
-The lack of real live head to head competition really hurts the game. Beating the ghost of a friend just isn't the same as racing or tricking right next to them. Although the GEOTAG system is a fun little add-on, multiplayer feels very underdeveloped and tacked on.
-Although there are unique aspects to the mountains in terms of terrain (ice versus rock versus forrest), the differences are subtle. There was a real distinction in various locations in the previous SSX games that is lacking here.

In the past few days a problem has risen in my ability to connect to Ridernet ( the online aspect of the game). This is an issue other gamers are also having. While it isn't affecting every user, it is affecting both 360 and PS3 versions of the game. I have contacted EA about the problem, but they have yet to get back to me. Given this latest turn of events I cannot recommend that anyone buy this game until the issue is resolved. Also, given the lackluster multiplayer I would also wait until the price drops before picking this title up. I was enjoying the game for what it was worth up to the point where my technical issue developed but I admit that I am left partially disappointed by the neutering of the personality associated with SSX tricky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MAJOR Disappointment!, March 21, 2012
By 
Astral "Astral" (Magnolia, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SSX - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
What a let down. A return to form? I think not... SSX 3 and SSX Tricky were two great snowboarding games for many reasons. The customization allowed you to give your character a little style. The music was fun and upbeat. The courses were optimized for gameplay and were lit up like an amusement park. There were all sorts of shortcuts to find and little surprises along the way that kept the game interesting. No two runs were the same. The game had a "flow" to it that felt great once you got into a cool trick string. Grab some friends, because there was co-op, and not just online play either... SSX has none of these things. NONE of them.

Gone is the co-op. If you want to "compete" against friends, they need their own copy of the game, game console, and internet connection. There's no racing each other, just the illusion of co-op, and definitely none of the shared couch kind which is what makes these competitive games so much fun. Customization? You can buy different boards, which are not all that different really. Forget about cutesy backpacks and other cool accessories. The suits are all the same patterns too, although you can buy color swap versions, and some that have a slight glow effect.... big deal.

The courses are patterned after various scans of real mountains around the world. This adds realism but takes away the fun. There's plenty of places where you can literally just fall to your dooming death, and sometimes are forced into it if you don't have prior knowledge of a run. There is a rewind option but it's useless as it only rewinds you (everyone else keeps going forward, making you hopelessly behind in a race) or else detracts from your score (which is harmful when you are tricking). Courses designed to be FUN (such as SSX Tricky or SSX 3) would have been welcome... they could have done a few of those and given both the ho-hum drab realism and the flashy joyful runs, but they didn't. The neon lights and extravagance of past games helped brighten up the monotony of snow, trees and rocks, which is all SSX has in abundance.

The game also never settles into that comfortable flow. The courses are too broken up and uneven to get that feeling, with jumps coming too close together or too far apart. Not to mention the giant chasms you can trick yourself right down into. There are a few secret little hideaways but nothing as we have seen in the past. The trick runs also seem to be way harder in comparision to races on the same mountain, making the difficulty curve spike and plummet insanely.

SSX is a decently built title... you can tell a lot of time went into it, and some thought was put in to figure out how to update this to modern consoles. However, the formula didn't really need updating, and that's the biggest mistake they made. Trading realism for fun, has made this a boring, monotonous disappointment. Which should not have been a surprise considering the past two installments - SSX On Tour and SSX Blur - neither which managed to get the franchise "feel" right. They were misteps, and this is yet another one. Definitely try before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointment . . . Its EA Sports I should have know better, March 11, 2012
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SSX - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I'm not going to give this the full blown soup to nuts review, but lets start with some shopping advice

1. Rent don't own

2. Its colorful and a few of the runs are quite fun (e.g. wing suit), but much of it is played 'in the dark' with no clue regarding the 'line'. Do you ski in the dark often? No. Why. Because its deadly. Maybe when I complete them all, I can play the different runs with a wing suit or a flash light and my review will improve

3. Does anyone at EA Sports actually talk to gamers ABOUT WHAT THEY'VE LIKED IN THE PAST, WANT TO SEE

4. Seriously, they could just remake 'Tricky' for the 360 and I'd buy it, probably like it more

5. I like the concept, six peaks, deadly challenges, and I like the mix of tricks and races, but the game has to many easy ways to die that the rider is simply 'forced' into

6. What made tricky great was (1) the ability to knock opposing riders down, (2) the ability to race someone else in the same room, (3) the happy music when you kicked into tricky mode, and (4) the interesting and often unexpected short-cuts, tunnels, suprizes.
This game has a few of these items but its not all that special.

Rent it for a weekend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SSX..... The return!, February 29, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SSX - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
(NOTE: I'm actually giving this game 4.5 out of 5 stars, not just 4)

PLUS:
-RiderNet is a godsend, even if it has already been done before
-Great soundtrack as usual
-Spectacular tricks and combo based gameplay
-Control schemes are well implemented, even offering a "classic" control scheme

MINUS:
-The spirit of the characters seems to have been lost from previous installments
-Campaign mode isn't really engaging
-Some mountains are a little TOO treacherous resulting in what feels like repeated cheap deaths

If you generally get a kick out of targeting your buddies best scores in any leaderboard based games or you lose sleep when someone has knocked you off of your high score perch and taking them down becomes the order of the day, then you will absolutely adore SSX.

The RiderNet setup is the absolute draw here, make no bones about it. I cannot praise this new feature enough. I've never played "Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit" but it's my understanding that the Autolog setup in that game works just like the RiderNet system does in SSX, by providing you with real time updates on who's doing what in the SSX world. In short, RiderNet makes this game feel alive. I guarantee that SSX will help create plenty of intense rivalries for those who immerse themselves deep enough in the game, thanks to RiderNet's absolutely awesome interface. I'm aware that I'm gushing maybe a little too rabidly about it but believe me, the recently released demo barely skims the surface of what RiderNet entails. There are a lot of races and trick runs to get to the top of here and RiderNet does a phenomenal job of keeping you up to speed in regards to not only how you're holding up but also how your friends are faring on those very same courses. I found it very easy to plot what it was that I wanted to involve myself in and which course records to shoot for next. Ghosts are automatically uploaded and downloaded and while there's no real time multiplayer involved, you're still getting the best of the experience by racing directly against the ghosts of other players doing their best runs. I'm loving what I'm seeing here in terms of early community interaction and judging from the scores and times already posted, it looks like I've got my work cut out for me on my way to the top of the boards. I really want to see more involved leaderboard systems like this in other games and genres, it's absolutely great and the best thing about the game, hands down.

I love the soundtrack and while it's a bit different from what I was expecting, there are a lot of great songs here that I'm sure anyone will enjoy. I found myself using Shazam a couple of times when I missed the artist and track title info, so that should count for something regarding the quality of the song selection. You can listen to your own music as well and the best part about that is that the game messes with the audio of the tracks just like it does with the in-game music, providing a seamless listening experience similar to what the game already gives you.

Using the right analog stick to perform tricks takes some getting used to and I'm not going to lie when I say that it's a lot to take in. The trick lies in getting used to the rhythm of the game. The game practically uses several different control schemes depending on whether you're on the ice or in the air and when you're careening down a mountain side and you're in the thick of a crazed trick busting, combo racking run, don't be surprised if you can't mentally process what your hands are doing of their own accord. I'm not knocking this because ever since the first game, this has been par for the course. It's all part of what makes SSX what it is. Like I mentioned above, you can play with a "classic" control scheme but I like the revamped style enough to stick with it.

On the negative side, I really didn't care for the campaign or story mode, if you even want to call it that. It's an admittedly thin plot that uses varying styles to push the story forward. I loved how the characters were bigger than life in the previous games but here, they've basically been whittled down to selectable characters. Most of them are still here but I miss the outrageousness and trash talk from SSX 3 and SSX Tricky. They've lost their mojo but they still bust out some of the most insane snowboarding tricks you'll ever see, so it's not so painful of a loss. Another slight issue I had with the game was that on several of these mountains, I was dying simply way too much. This was never really an issue in the other games but here, it happens a little more frequently than I would've liked and it kind of stops the momentum of the game every time you go flying off of a mountain and have to start all over. I found the Deadly Descent runs great on some sides and uninteresting on others.

I think the wingsuit feature leaves a bit to be desired also but hey, you can't fault the developers for trying something new. Thankfully, you don't use it all that much. Same goes for the rewind feature, which is really only useful for placing `geotags' throughout the world. The geotags themselves are a great and really cool idea (think of them as easter eggs that you leave behind for anyone else to pick up and the longer it takes for anyone to find them, the more in-game currency you receive; it's another great form of trash talking that the game provides) but since the clock keeps running while you're rewinding, there's really no use for it if you're on a serious run.

Is this the game SSX fans have been waiting for, for so long? Well, I suspect a lot of fans are going to have gripes with a lot of what I've mentioned and more but you can color this fan impressed. It's not perfect and could use a little more tinkering but this will definitely be my go-to game for when I'm not in the mood to sink a whole day into Skyrim or something else equally as time consuming. Truth be told, the hours melted away on me yesterday when I was posting up as many trick runs as I could before I went to sleep. Regardless of what you may think of the campaign mode, RiderNet will keep you coming back for more and is in my opinion, worth the cost of admission to the mountains of SSX alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What happened to SSX??, October 2, 2012
By 
CindyMinz (New York City) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SSX - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I bought this game with lingering memories of SSX Tricky and SSX 3. Those games were built on fun and emphasis on the personalities of the characters. They were wild and crazy and levels were tricked out with an off the wall setup. It was just plain old fun! But this game is nothing of the sort.

The game plays like an survival game. Most levels are very difficult and extra equipment in needed in specific areas (wing suit, goggles, heat) to navigate safely. The terrain could be very snowy or foggy so these pieces of equipment can be life or death. The first 10 times I tried to complete a level I fell between the cracks of tons of mountaintops. How can I win a race when all I'm trying to do is stay alive?

The characters have all lost their edge. Now they have cut-scenes for each character, but nothing that would make you care or root for them. All the costumes look the same except the color. I miss all the cute costumes Kaori had. Like I've said in the past, a lot of games are now pushing for a mature and realistic feel so that's what I'm assuming went wrong with this game.

The online was really lacking. You can't even tricky alongside your friends or race with them. It's just a ghost traveling with your character, using their previous race and comparing it to yours. When I bought the game I was really hoping to see a more refined and fun online mode. This game just seems a bit complicated when it comes to it's online world. They have competitions and money that can you bet and try to win, but your not actually competing with anyone at the same time, just their replay. I think they've updated the online mode but from what I've played it just bore me to tears.

I'm sorry but I returned it. I think I'll be taking out my SSX Tricky and playing it out once more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SSX Going Downhill, March 30, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SSX - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The first snowboard videogame I ever played was 1080 for the N64 (GRANT!) and it was glorious. When my parents got me a PS2 one year for Christmas they also got me the two best videogames I have ever played to this date: Jak and Daxter and SSX Tricky. SSX Tricky was like nothing I'd ever played before and it blew me away. The levels, the character personalities, the awesome tricks; the game was fantastic in its lack of realism and visuals and was a ton of fun.

SSX3, I thought, was a worthy sequel to the series. I liked the new mechanic of an entirely connected mountain, giving you the ability to ride from the top all the way to the bottom and not compete in anything at all. It almost felt like an open sandbox kind of game. I also loved the customization. You could completely personalize your character with different outfits and different Tricky tricks that you bought with your earnings from the events. The inclusion of a loose story was also cool in that it gave the player more motivation.

This newest release, SSX, is great in some respects but for me it lacks in a lot of the features that SSX3 had, and that's why I still prefer SSX3. The level design is gorgeous and realistic yes, but at the same time repetitive and too broken up. The lines can be fun, if you can find them, which admittedly I have a lot of trouble trying to do. The levels just don't have the same unique and fantastic feel that they had in Tricky and SSX 3. I do like that they keep the idea of a story and take it to a new level in this game. The world tour competition of the "Deadly Descents" is a great idea, and the fact that they give the player just one antagonist to focus on made the story more riveting. Their choice of Griff to be the main antagonist was a good one, as I have never liked him and always saw him as a little snot-nose punk. But this is where my praise ends.

My main gripe with this new game is the complete detachment I feel with any of the players of Team SSX. There is a total lack of customization of your character, and I did not like that you are forced to use every team member of SSX. I understand that this fits in with the story line, but I don't see a reason for it other than that. All of the characters feel the same during play, so it isn't a matter of trying to get the player to try them all out before they settle on one for the rest of the game. What made SSX3 so great for me was that I played from Peak 1 to Peak 3 with my favorite character (has been, is, and always will be Kaori Nishidake) and she was completely unique to me beginning to end from the stats I chose, the tricks I bought, and the outfit I customized. I felt a personal connection! The same goes for the second playthrough with Psymon, and the third with Zoe! I cannot say I felt the same enthusiasm or connection to any character in the new SSX. The lack of customization is very disappointing, and even a little lazy on EA's part.

Even though I never cared for the new characters SSX tried to implement, I at least remember Allegra, Viggo and Nate from SSX 3. I just now had to look up Tane, Alex and Ty to remember their names. Maybe it's just me, but I found them to be extremely forgettable and inconsequential. Tane and Ty might as well be the same person, and Alex is just an Elise wannabe. The fact that I had to play as them made me dislike them even more, and I found myself aching to be done with those Deadly Descents.

Speaking of which, the only Deadly Descent I can say I truly enjoyed was the "Gravity" one. The implementation of the wingsuit is very, very cool. I only wish that every deadly descent involved the wingsuit. The "Darkness" Deadly Descent with the headlamp is very challenging, but in a fun way. And I'm very happy that they include the wingsuit with it at Mt. Kilimanjaro. However, while the rest of the Deadly Descents were all unique and provided some variation in gameplay, I cannot say I particularly enjoyed any of them.

My final gripe is that despite the fact that SSX is and always has been a snowboard game, for some reason the snowboards are never the focus. Admittedly, I have not played the original SSX, SSX On Tour, or SSX Blur. But judging from Tricky, 3, and the newest installment, there is very little attention payed to the object the entire franchise is based on. Nothing is done to make the snowboards stand out. The graphics are always boring and never unique, nor can the player ever see a closeup of the snowboard. In the newest SSX, they raise the generic bar by randomizing the stats and naming everything "Rocket Board," "Trick Board," "Speed Board," or "All-Around Board" and throw a "rare" or "unique" in front of it to designate better than average stats. SSX Tricky is an exception in that each character had their own unique boards with names and graphics that matched the personalities of the character. SSX 3 at least kept the unique names, but the trend seems to be taking the spotlight off of the snowboard. I understand that in a game with no room for realism, it might not be as important to develop the snowboard as it is other features like character and level design, but at heart it is a snowboarding game, so some attention should be payed to the snowboard.

I apologize for the wordy review, I even had to cut it short. I had fun playing this game, but I've always been an avid fan of the SSX franchise and I was sincerely disappointed in this new one, so I felt I needed to voice my opinion. I'll most likely return to SSX 3, which I believe to be the best in the series. As far as I'm concerned however, there is no game in the industry quite like SSX, and it still goes down in my book as the best snowboard game out there, and one of the best franchises I've ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SSX...Over The Top Arcade Style Snowboarding Goodness!, February 28, 2012
By 
DMK (Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SSX - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The latest edition of SSX comes at a great time. The XBox 360 really hasn't had a good snowboarding title since it's inception.

The maps are fantastic, and are actually created based off of real runs. EA used NASA satellite images and digitally recreated them for this game. To the actual mountainscapes, EA added tons of unique jumps, drops, rails, and a myriad of other objects as you try to rack up the combo points or race to the bottom. The tricks are over the top ridiculous, which to me, is what makes this game so incredibly fun. Make no mistake, if you're looking for a realistic snowboarding experience, you're not going to find it here. Heck, if you screw up landing a jump, you can rewind the game in real time to perform the jump and/or landing the way you intended.

The multiplayer is unique from most games, in that you can buy into events that you can win by playing and finishing the event within a set amount of time. This means you're not going to compete with them in real time. You can also have soft competitions with your XBox Live friends whom also have SSX. If you put down 11,000,000 points on a run, your friend will have the opportunity to best that score. This can go on back and forth. For long term appeal, this will be a great incentive to keep playing for some gamers.

The story line is pretty thin and the character development so far has been rather weak. I didn't buy this game for a story line, so for me it takes nothing away from the experience, even in the main campaign. Speaking of which, you'll need to finish the World Tour before you can move on to the Global Events, which offer up 153 courses on release day.

Upgrades for your snowboarder are abundant and varied. You can continue to make your character even better and construct their load out to your unique style of play, be it speed or tricks, for example.

Another cool feature is Geo Tagging. You can drop Geo Tags for other players across the SSX world to try and obtain. The longer they go unclaimed, the better for you in terms of points earned.

In closing, SSX is an awesome arcade style snowboarding game. I can't really find anything to complain about after the time I've had with it. This is a game that's definitely worthy of your collection if what's been described above is appealing to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite SSX, February 29, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SSX - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I have made around 3 million credits, maxed out a boarder at level 10 and experienced most of the drop courses (although I did not trick them all yet). I have played every single SSX to date, and some of them over 2000 hours. I probably have 4000+ hours on SSX 3 alone. I have very strong expectations when an IP like SSX is given to a design team with a more than adequate budget, that we get an SSX game. That said, here is my wall of text and impressions.

This new experiment calling itself SSX, I score as a 4 based on it's own merit. 5 minus 1 for mediocre music, frustrating "dead zones" on every single course where you get turned around or pinned, and have little ability to salvage a run after it occurs (they have removed the hit "select" to reset on the course feature). Instead you are required to rewind time while others continue to progress. Also most courses seem to funnel the player in a linear direction with very little choice of paths. Sometimes the game will ram the player into cluttered, over designed areas (some courses beg for self editing). Gone are the wonderful but sneaky short cuts that made the first 3 SSX games so enjoyable. Overall this feels more like Shaun White trying to be SSX, and that isn't a good thing. I feel the same way about this title that I did when Burnout Paradise ravaged the Burnout I.P. with a decent game that just wasn't Burnout. The latest SSX is the exact same story it seems , one of new developers trying to reinvent the wheel, instead of following the I.P. blueprint on points that made the original SSX games so beloved.

Gone:
Shortcuts
3-4 ways down the same course (most the time)
Bopping opponents during races (you can run over a person on very select occasions)
Trick multiplier collectables
Select button resets
Racing side to side with real opponents the whole game (instead ghosts distract us with trails showing cheats down a slope)
Split Screen
Strong event voices and character interjections
D.J. Atomica was reduced to a small quip at the front end loading screen
Clean design (we get cluttered, death trap filled courses that clearly need editing)
True classic controls (we get an altered classic like version)
Platinum Medals
Approachability from start to finish

New non traditional SSX additions:

Death
Armor and Health
Death Traps
Rewind
Pitch Dark courses
Survival courses
Snow blind white screen courses
Squirrel Suits
Free Fall
Economy and loot system
Online matching system
More venues
Player placed collectables
Gimmicks and proof of concept experiments

Another burning rub is the control schemes and oversensitivity. You are given 2 choices to control SSX. The first is standard, which assigns all tricking to the right analogue stick and is really the only efficient way to get the proper trick scores with the drastic changes to how trick points are tabulated. The second is Classic which really isn't 100% the real old way of controlling SSX, but a hybrid, and it makes trick chaining overly difficult. Add to this the oversensitivity on cuts and turns, and you get a really hard to control, fish-tailing experience on harder areas. Expect to do ALOT of rewinding on many of the latter courses.

I was completely put off by snowboarding in the dark, with nothing but a head lamp that spins and whirls with your tricks, while falling in to hidden volcanic death traps. The Squirrel suit courses are poorly implemented. Instead of letting players get used to a broader course and have fun (read: be approachable) they make you S-curve down razor blade thin courses on the tips of mountain peaks throwing you over the side repeatedly. The snow blind areas requiring a "radar" type display really didn't offer much either. Coming off more as a gimmick that adds nothing positive to the experience. The ice picks are simply an automated device that corrects course changes on extreme ice. The Squirrel suit could have been an absolute grand slam with the right implementation and courses, but in this version it is not to be... To sum up the problems, if these gimmick filled areas were offered up as DLC, and not part of a robust SSX experience, they would probably not sell well, and be scored very poorly. I feel that is exactly where this IP altering experimental stuff should have been released, while providing more approachable main courses as the meat of the game.

With everything taken into account, this really isn't SSX. And for that it drops 1 more point to a 3. I could be a lot more forgiving if this game were called something else had it began on a completely honest footing with the gaming public. While a few of the new features are excusable additions, the exclusion of SSX staple design features will leave die hard SSX players jaded and disappointed. A real shame after the fiasco of SSX Blur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not Tricky, March 1, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SSX - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I was a huge fan of Tricky back in the day. It had a great soundtrack, interesting characters, and fun unlocks. So far after playing this for a day or so i find the controls to be a bit annoying and way to sensitive. They billed it ahead of time like there was almost limitless ways to head down the mountain, but i find many runs almost claustrophobic.

Not sure why they felt the needed to mess with the winning formula of SSX 3 and especially Tricky so much, but i think they may have just put the nail in the coffin for guys like me for future SSX. It definitly isn't the franchise title it used to be. How it got a 9.0 preview rating from one of the bigger game sites i looked at before pre-ordering i'll never know.

It isn't horrible, but definitely not a cornerstone title. Rent it or borrow it from a friend before every buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A very disappointing title, March 29, 2012
By 
RestlessBloom (Denver, Colorado) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SSX - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Ssx is absolutely the WORST game I ever played. I've never seen a franchise go so far downhill after one release.

As many may have heard, there is no split screen two/multiplayer avaliable for the game.. What? That's what sssx is.. Sure there were some one player moments in ssx, but why was it one of the ps2s greatest games? You invite real people over and have a good time in the same physician location. All this online crap is a very dissociative experience.

The actual game lacks the strong feel of ssx that it once had. It kind of lost it for me at ssx 3, but it was at least still fun. This isn't even the same game.. And aside from graphics, it's not a new gen game either. It just sucks.

The main problem with this game is it lacks the simplicity it once had. I Wanta snowboard. Let's pop in some ssx and mess around down the mountain. Well that's not possible. In fact it's not even open world.. Ssx 3 was more open world!! This is a new gen game! Every single course you do, you have to buy this stupid equipment that distracts from the actual game, like headlights, oxygen tanks, wing suits. So unless you're interested in holding rb until you inevitably die down the mountain, this game is not for you. I don't really know who the target audience is with this game. Because it doesnt appeal to old ssx fans. It's not good for kids, or teens. It's just not appealing.

I can't tell you how excited I was when this game came out. I couldn't believe ssx was coming back! Then I heard about he fact there was no two player. That stopped me from wanting it really bad. But I was still curious so I rented it. It wasnt worth the two dollars for that.. I wouldn't even dare touch this game again unless it was free. And then maybe, on a very slight chance, I might try it again. But frankly it's very sad to even think think this was the same franchise that use to be one of the best games ever made turned into this.

I really hope they can somehow redeem themselves. But I think ssx is over. So bye ssx you were fun while you lasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

SSX - Xbox 360
SSX - Xbox 360 by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: $9.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.