Customer Reviews


343 Reviews
5 star:
 (229)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only 5 feet! NOT an "Extension" Cable!!!
This is a standard "hookup" cable with male at both ends. An "extension cable", by definition, has to have male and female connectors at opposite ends to "extend" the existing cable.

To be clear, this is a SVGA (DE-15 pin) and not a VGA (DE-9 pin). You also can't have both SVGA and VGA in a hookup or extension cable. That would be an "adapter". [Many get...
Published 22 months ago by R. Armstrong

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work with Plug and Play Monitors
When you need a VGA cable (you know, for hooking up a monitor), and you buy one off of Amazon Prime, you don't even really consider the possibility that it won't fit your needs. However, this cable....didn't fit my needs. Now, it does function as a VGA cable. So in that regard, it does 'work'. However, it does not transmit data bidirectionally (or at least not properly),...
Published 9 months ago by Benjamin S.


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only 5 feet! NOT an "Extension" Cable!!!, November 8, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6FT SVGA VGA Monitor MM Male To Male Extension Cable 80 (Electronics)
This is a standard "hookup" cable with male at both ends. An "extension cable", by definition, has to have male and female connectors at opposite ends to "extend" the existing cable.

To be clear, this is a SVGA (DE-15 pin) and not a VGA (DE-9 pin). You also can't have both SVGA and VGA in a hookup or extension cable. That would be an "adapter". [Many get tripped up by poor English.] There are only three things that plug into any computer port at any time. 1.) A "hookup" cable to run what the port was made for. 2.) An "extension" that lengthens the existing cable. 3.) An "adapter" that allows running something different than what the port was originally intended to run. Nothing more nothing less.

The hookup cable I got from Cable N Wireless was different from one I got from another seller. The ferrite magnets were smaller. The plastic screw caps were tapered (not cylindrical like in the picture). It seemed a bit flimsier than the one pictured, which is the one I got prior. However, it works good. Hard to beat for the total price. I have a Sony monitor that has a built in switch for 3 computers. I can switch between the 3. One is the Sony cable that came with the monitor. The other two are the cheapies I got from Amazon. They all work good. Hard or impossible to tell the difference at 1280x1024. It's great to have a cheap alternative to an expensive cable that wouldn't show any better.

The problem I have with Cables N Wireless, is that they know they are selling a 5 foot cable (actually 59 inches) as the seller used a marker to black out the "VGA5ft" on the package label (I guess the other supplier simply removed the sticker). Why not be honest and let people know it's 5 feet? If you really need a 6' cable, don't buy any of these blue connector cables.

In any event, only get the ones with ferrite magnets on BOTH ENDS. I had another cable with nasty ghosting that this one replaced that had no ferrite magnets. I will never make that mistake again.

I took a star off for not being 6 feet and for the confusion of saying it is an "extension" cable. Works fine otherwise. Nice enough cable. Both sellers shipped fast. Use it to "hook up" the computer to the monitor and NOT to "extend" anything. Make sure you need a SVGA 15 pin cable and not the old VGA 9 pin (like Carol needed). [If you are still confused at all, go to Wikipedia, "VGA connector".]

[Note: Though it works, analog cables are not designed for "hot plugging". If the ground protection doesn't work in your computer or monitor you can damage either if you don't turn them off when plugging or unplugging the VGA cable (happened a lot in the early years). It only takes one time for the ground wire to not make contact or disconnect before the other wires. OK to use a switch as the ground is already grounded on all sides of the switch.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work with Plug and Play Monitors, November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6FT SVGA VGA Monitor MM Male To Male Extension Cable 80 (Electronics)
When you need a VGA cable (you know, for hooking up a monitor), and you buy one off of Amazon Prime, you don't even really consider the possibility that it won't fit your needs. However, this cable....didn't fit my needs. Now, it does function as a VGA cable. So in that regard, it does 'work'. However, it does not transmit data bidirectionally (or at least not properly), which means when you hook up your monitor to your computer, your computer will not be able to recognize it. So, your OS will not be able to determine the appropriate resolution options to give you.

Now, you can hack your way around this by messing with your graphics card and OS settings, but let me be frank: This is 2013. Any monitor bought in the last 5 years is plug and play. Any cable you buy should work with plug and play monitors. Period.

I should also note that I bought two (2) of these cables, and both had the same issue. I know that it's the fault of the cables, since swapping in another cable I already had allowed for plug and play connectivity.

Moral of the story: If you don't live in 1985, get a different cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute MUST for higher resolution monitors, April 2, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6FT SVGA VGA Monitor MM Male To Male Extension Cable 80 (Electronics)
There are at least two other cheaper products on Amazon that advertise ferrite cores, however, this product is the only one that actually has them.

Why do you need ferrite cores? Well, cables without ferrite cores are just fine for older low resolution monitors...but if you have a high resolution monitor (anything over 1280 x 800) you will see annoying "ghost" images with inferior products. "Ghost" images will give you eyestrain and headaches.

You will most definitely NOT see "ghost" images with these high-quality cables. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked great for Laptop to TV, April 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6FT SVGA VGA Monitor MM Male To Male Extension Cable 80 (Electronics)
Worked easily from Laptop to TV
Laptop - IBM Lenovo Thinkpad T400
TV - 32" Vizio 3D Smart TV

I noticed my older laptop and new TV shared a common plug, the Male VGA.
TV input - RGB
Changed my tv to wide screen and works PERFECTLY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It didn't work, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6FT SVGA VGA Monitor MM Male To Male Extension Cable 80 (Electronics)
The cable only occasionally gave any signal at all and when it did the picture was 1024*768 and yellow. Basically the cable failed at being a cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6FT SVGA VGA Monitor MM Male To Male Extension Cable 80 (Electronics)
Complete junk. When connected, my laptop would BSOD and reboot. I tried this on my other desktop PC and the only resolution it would connect to was 1280x720. Went to microcenter, picked up another VGA cable and it worked fine on both computers. Don't waste your time or money on this garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cable, October 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6FT SVGA VGA Monitor MM Male To Male Extension Cable 80 (Electronics)
I bought this cable for my computer. The one I had would come loose so I bought this one. Works wonderful. Very fast shipping also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VGA, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6FT SVGA VGA Monitor MM Male To Male Extension Cable 80 (Electronics)
Cable was new and shipment was fast. I am currently using it and no issues with the cable. Great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just simple cables, December 9, 2012
By 
MJH (Orlando, Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6FT SVGA VGA Monitor MM Male To Male Extension Cable 80 (Electronics)
They are just perfect. Well made, simple cables for getting the job done. At the price, there is not much else to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Junk, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 6FT SVGA VGA Monitor MM Male To Male Extension Cable 80 (Electronics)
Bad cable, poor signal quality, no two way communicaitons. Stay away. This cable would not run a SVGA display, the computer would not recognize the monitor, other than a generic display.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.