Customer Reviews


1,741 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,173)
4 star:
 (334)
3 star:
 (83)
2 star:
 (50)
1 star:
 (101)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


286 of 333 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works, but use caution
I just received this item and it does work, but use caution when using it with external hard drives. It seems that any action, such as turning on or off a switch, as well as plugging in or unplugging a device from any of the other ports not currently in use causes a temporary power disruption and will throw your external hard drive off. In other words, you get the warning...
Published 14 months ago by SCP

versus
58 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Touch and Go
Very defective.

If the device moves or gets touched at all, the connection is interrupted. And if its tethered to a laptop (the most obvious use for a device that gives you more USB ports) its going to be moving a lot. This makes it unsuitable as hub to any external drives, you wouldn't want to transfer any data through that unstable connection.

Also...
Published 8 months ago by Iggie


‹ Previous | 1 2175 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

286 of 333 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works, but use caution, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs (HB-UMLS) (Personal Computers)
I just received this item and it does work, but use caution when using it with external hard drives. It seems that any action, such as turning on or off a switch, as well as plugging in or unplugging a device from any of the other ports not currently in use causes a temporary power disruption and will throw your external hard drive off. In other words, you get the warning message that the drive was not properly disconnected. And as this can be bad for hard drives, be sure to properly eject your expansion & flash drives before turning off or on any of the ports and before adding or removing any connections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 117 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sabrent 4 Port USB, June 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs (HB-UMLS) (Personal Computers)
I'm looking for a USB port with an individual switch so I bought this
one, for the price its a best buy.

so this is my review of this product.
Pros and Cons.
+Individual switch and matching individual blue light is a plus
+Push ON/OFF button for easy operation
+Not bulky design, plastic enclosure seems ok
-USB wire is short for this model but some have long cable

Im an electronic enthusiast and I know what are some flaws
to this device.
1. This is a push button switch and made of cheap switches
so expect the more you used the switch someday it will fail
2. These have individual LEd lights so if you connect this to a laptop
and you connect several devices to these USB ports on some
cases your device may not work and consumes energy from your
laptop.
3. This device dont have a separate power and it only gets power
from your laptop/desktop, you may encounter devices attached to
this USB port that will fail or not detected, that is due to no enough
power to the device.
(Try to disconnect this USB port and plug in your device directly)

overall recommends this USB port with some things to consider
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Touch and Go, November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs (HB-UMLS) (Personal Computers)
Very defective.

If the device moves or gets touched at all, the connection is interrupted. And if its tethered to a laptop (the most obvious use for a device that gives you more USB ports) its going to be moving a lot. This makes it unsuitable as hub to any external drives, you wouldn't want to transfer any data through that unstable connection.

Also the design is awkward, the cable is so short that the the slightest of shifts causes a disconnection.

And because its so touchy, you really wouldn't want to be messing with those buttons at all. I'm looking for something to replace it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works !!!, April 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs (HB-UMLS) (Personal Computers)
This Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and
LEDs, works just as advertized and i love the blue lights for each USB port, there is also a power switch for each USB port, so you won`t have to unplug Laptop LED Lamps that has no on/off switch or most any thing plugged into this USB hub. It works with Windows XP (I tested) Windows 7 (I tested) Vista (Not tested) I was not able to test with Windows 8, Vista or Mac, it states that it does work with them. I loved it so much i have ordered another one and plan to get one more so my 2 Desktops and my Laptop will have all the USB Ports i should ever need. Also you can daisy-chain these USB ports to a total of 127 if needed. This USB hub is 2.0, it worked fast and can work with 1.1, it worked fine for me. It arrived very quickly, i ordered this on the 26th of April and arrived the 29 of April. I am very pleased with this product and will buy from the seller Store4PC; again. Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 92 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars USB Switch, May 16, 2013
By 
TheITMan (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs (HB-UMLS) (Personal Computers)
This item is pretty cool, but I can't see what good the switches are in the long run. They are a good idea, but at the same time the switches are right next to the port. People say the switches are so cool because they no longer have to bend down and unplug the USB cable... But you still have the bend down and turn off the switch right, and with a 2" cord, you're not going to bed very far...

The item is a lot smaller than I would have thought. It's only about 3"-4" long. It's smaller than my cell phone.

The one real downside I see to this hub is that the cord is so short. It's barely 2" long... So there is no hope of putting it any place out of the way. If I plug it into my computer, the port can't be sat down any place, it just dangles from the computer port. The tiny little cord makes it impractical for any type of use on a desktop PC.

It could be used on a laptop that is sitting on a desk or something, but if it's sitting in your lap, this hub is still going to dangle next to your leg.

About the only thing this product is good for, is giving you a couple extra ports on your laptop, which is fine if that's what you're intending to do. But the switches are pretty much useless. If you bend down to turn off the switches you might as well just unplug it. It's not like USB cables are hard to unplug.

I would have given this product a lot higher rating, if it wasn't for the 2" long cord, which makes it pretty much useless for anything that I need.

It also comes in a clamshell box, which is VERY hard to open. Hopefully, the manufacture comes up with some different packaging. Seriously, it doesn't protect this product in any way, and it's such a low dollar item, there is no reason for that type of "security".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs (HB-UMLS), August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs (HB-UMLS) (Personal Computers)
I bought one for a friend. I tested it. I liked it, so a few days later I bought another for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy so far with this product., August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs (HB-UMLS) (Personal Computers)
Very nice sleek design and haven't had a problem yet. Works great, but only time will tell.

The panel allows you to select if it is on or off, which is a nice feature to have. Looks cool too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic little Device, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs (HB-UMLS) (Personal Computers)
Running a laptop on a small solar power systme, it's important to minimize power usage. This hub allows me to turn off my external hard drive and bluetooth dongle without having to physically unplug them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Product, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sabrent 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs (HB-UMLS) (Personal Computers)
I needed an extra USB port because my laptop has only two. It is easy to use and you just plug and use. I does exactly what it is suppose to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great!, December 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The transfer rate is good, the buttons turn off unwanted items. I wish the cord was longer, I had to add an extension. But the fun is finding something cheap that works well :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2175 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.